2012 Plans and Anticipated Reads

Hello 2012! πŸ™‚ I feel like 2011 wasn’t such a great year for me, in terms of blogging. 2010 was my first year as a blogger and I was all “YAY, I HAZ BLOG! Look at me interact with all these wonderful bookish people.” While 2011 was the year of slumps, both reading and blogging. It’s funny because my most commented on post in 2011 was “Do you ever get tired of blogging?” But I believe I’ve found a pace that I’m comfortable with and I’m determined not to get pressured by blogging. So in 2012, I want to have fun again. Here are some of my plans:

  • more read-alongs because they’re fun. I’m going to read Nine Coaches Waiting by Mary Stewart with Holly this week
  • a week-long blogging event/feature scheduled for the week of January 22 (I’ll talk more about it once I’ve finalized the details)
  • reduce my “books I own but have not read shelf” in Goodreads to less than 100 by reading more books from my TBR pile or giving away some of the books that I’m not planning to read. This shelf has 167 books right now
  • more Retro Friday posts, which is a meme for older titles hosted by Angie
  • keep putting up Shoot That Book and Want Books posts
  • more discussion posts
  • more guest posts – Feel free to invite me to do a guest post on your blog if you feel like I can contribute something! I also want to have bloggers do guest posts on my own blog but I have to come up with specific topics first
  • read and review more books by Filipino authors

*keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll be able to accomplish all of these* I haven’t decided if I’ll join any challenges in 2012 but if I do, I’ll probably only sign up for one or two. Moving on to some of the titles that I’m really looking forward to reading this year:

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – January 10
Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale – January 31
Nine Uses For An Ex-Boyfriend by Sarra Manning – February 2
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein – February 6
About That Night by Julie James – April 3
Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – May 1
Something Like Normal by Trish Doller – June 19
Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan – September 5
Sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – September
Speechless by Hannah Harrington – September

I’m sure I’ll be adding more to this list within the year. What about the rest of you, what are some of your plans for your blogs in 2012? What are the titles that you’re excited about?

16 thoughts on “2012 Plans and Anticipated Reads

  1. Aw, 2011 wasn’t a great year for blogging? I think you are tough on yourself!

    If later on, you are looking for more readalong partners, I’m up for it again. It IS a lot of fun. And I am anticipating many of the books you are in 2012. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, you’re probably right, maybe I’m being too hard on myself. I guess I just thought I could keep up the daily posts but felt bad when that didn’t happen.

      I would love to do another readalong with you, Janice! πŸ™‚ We can set it up on Twitter like we did before. I still haven’t reviewed Froi and I’m not sure if I should just skip it.

  2. I love the idea of readalongs to share the book experience and for the reading motivation. I’m going to look for some opportunities to do that too.

    Can’t wait to read The Fault in Our Stars and Bitterblue!

    Hope 2012 is a fun year of reading and blogging for you.

    • I love sharing the reading experience with other book friends. And it’s nice when you can discuss the details of the book instead of just general impressions.

      The Fault in Our Stars is going to come out real soon! I’m going to look out for it in local bookstores. I’m really looking forward to seeing glimpses of Katsa and Po in Bitterblue.

  3. I just realized I haven’t done a read-along with you yet. Although maybe that’s because most of the books on my TBR are ones you’ve already read.:)

    My goal for the year – start blogging for real. Lol!:) As for the anticipated reads, I’ll just ditto everything on your list. Oh wait, isn’t Gunmetal Magic coming out this year?

    • We should do a readalong this year! I’m sure we can find a book that we both haven’t read. I’m sure we can find a book common in both our gigantic TBR piles.

      I fully support your idea to start blogging! Are you planning to sign up with WordPress or continue blogging using your Tumblr? Let’s talk about it when we meet up. πŸ˜›

      I know, I remembered Gunmental Magic after I published this post. Although I think it’s pretty much given that I’ll read anything written by Ilona and Gordon.

      • Yay, I’d love that.:) Yeah, I’m sure there will be a book that we can do a readalong for.

        Yup, I do plan to sign up for WordPress but still haven’t decided on the name – the one I wanted was already taken. I’ll ask you a few questions when we meet.:)

      • Just let me know if you see a book in my TBR pile that you’d like to do a readalong for. Maybe Wonderstruck? I know we both have copies of that.

        Yay WordPress! Let’s talk about it later. I’m so excited for you to start your own blog.

    • It IS my first Mary Stewart. Angie recommended the book when I asked for titles similar to Eva Ibbotson’s work. Hmm sorry to hear you didn’t love it. What’s your favorite Mary Stewart? πŸ™‚

  4. Ditto for not doing a read-along yet. My fail attempts last year were…well, attempts. Haha. I read too fast for some people I read-along with. πŸ˜› I’m going to try to do the reading buddies thing in the Filipinos group in Goodreads, especially for the thick books I’m planning to read.

    And yes to reducing our TBR piles to less than 100. We can do this! I need to get the guts to give away some books that I haven’t read yet, but the 30+ extra books I have there seem manageable. But I will do some housekeeping this year. Must learn to let some books go and all that. πŸ˜€

    I hope 2012 is a better blogging year for you (but honestly, I thought you did well in 2011. I’ve always looked forward to reading your posts). πŸ˜€ And I will take you up on the guest post offer — I just need to get my features up and running. πŸ™‚

    • I think it’s okay to read faster that your readalong partners. You can still comment on their Goodreads status updates and have discussions over there or on Twitter. The readalongs that I’ve done are very laid-back. Holly and I didn’t even set required number of pages per day or anything like that. πŸ˜›

      You have 130+ in your pile? That’s easier than my 167! But I really need to do some cleaning up. Some of the books in my pile are used copies that I bought just because they were cheap and they looked interesting. I’m sure I can find better homes for some of those books. Maybe do a local giveaway? Because international shipping is expensive.

      Aww thanks for that, Tina! Maybe I’m being too hard on myself like Janice said. I think I was just disappointed that I wasn’t as enthusiastic about blogging as I was back in 2010.

  5. I love readalongs and retro friday posts! I’m sorry 2011 wasn’t magical and wonderful and amazing for you. I hope 2012 brings you lots of AWESOME and good books and great conversation. πŸ™‚

    • Yay, fellow Retro Friday fan! I’m glad I’m not the only one who loves doing Retro Friday posts. Thanks April, I have a feeling 2012 will be a lot better than 2011. It’s certainly off to a great start. πŸ˜€

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

