Best of 2011

Happy 2012! Hope you guys had fun celebrating, wherever you may be. I’m basically mirroring what I did with my best of 2010 list last year because I also posted it on January 1. Looks like 2010 was better in terms of favorites because I had 20 in my 2010 list and I only have 15 for 2011. Here they are, in no particular order (click on the images to see my reviews):

Also, just a quick recap of the challenges that I joined this year and the books that I read and reviewed for them:


Aussie YA Reading Challenge
Good Oil by Laura Buzo
Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
Pink by Lili Wilkinson
The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta
Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar
Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood
Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley


Once Upon a Time V Challenge
Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliassotti
Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews
Chime by Franny Billingsley
The City in the Lake by Rachel Neumeier
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier

That wraps up 2011 for me. Looking forward to more bookish goodness in 2012! πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “Best of 2011

  1. And a Happy New Year to you, too, lovely. I see some very special books here and some I need to read as soon as possible.
    I hope you’re having fun.

  2. Happy New Year!

    There is something so unassuming about Clockwork Heart. When you finish you realise how wonderfully written it is.

    Unsticky is one of my favourite books ever. Sarra Manning is a wonderful writer, showing the bad in people and then somehow redeeming them. Not fully, but enough.

    There’s a few here that will be going on my TBR. I love these lists from bloggers! Thanks.

    • Happy 2012, mo! πŸ™‚

      Yep, I agree with what you said about Clockwork Heart. The story stays with you even after you read it. I’m really surprised it’s already out of print.

      Love Sarra Manning’s adult books and I’m so excited for Nine Uses for an Ex-Boyfriend. I love how she writes about flawed characters. I feel like her books are more realistic because of that.

  3. Oh, I really liked The Piper’s Son and Saving June, too! And I have Flat-Out Love, Graffiti Moon, and a few of your other faves on my TBR list as well. Nice picks Chachic…and happy new year!

    • Yay, glad you liked both Piper and Saving June, Wendy! Both are excellent contemporary novels. I’ll be waiting to see what you think of Flat-Out Love and Graffiti Moon. Happy New Year. πŸ™‚

    • Happy New Year, Kristen! Yep, Laini Taylor is one of my favorite discoveries in 2011. Even though it didn’t make it to my favorites, I really liked Silksinger.

  4. Lots here I haven’t read…now my Cybils mg sff reading is over, I’m looking YA ward! Scorpio Races is on hold for me at the library even as I type.

    I hope 2012 does well for you book wise!

    • I saw the Cybils lists! I can’t imagine how you all manage to finish the books for the first round. Yay for more YA reads for you. πŸ™‚ Hope you get to The Scorpio Races soon.

  5. Ok — I’m really such a major slacker cause I’ve been meaning to comment on this post for AGES! But I so do love all the books you posted here. I still need to read FLAT OUT LOVE – it looks like a good, fun read. Also HECK YES!! to THE PIPER’S SON. That story really stuck with me.

    • Michelle, thank you for dropping by to leave a comment! I’m not surprised that you’re familiar with the books that I posted. πŸ˜› I hope you get to read Flat-Out Love soon. Wasn’t The Piper’s Son amazing? I loved it just as much as Jellicoe Road. I hope Melina Marchetta writes another contemporary novel after her fantasy trilogy.

  6. Pingback: Shoot That Book: 2012 Favorites So Far | Chachic's Book Nook

  7. Pingback: Best of 2012 | Chachic's Book Nook

  8. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Best of 2016 | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

