Chachic's Book Nook

Faves of TwentyEleven: the Covers

6 Comments

How’s the 24th of December treating you guys? I’ve been busy doing two of my favorite activities: eating and sleeping, and will catch up on reading as soon as I’m done with this post. I hope the rest of you are experiencing something similar. This is another Faves of TwentyEleven post, hosted by Nomes, featuring some of my favorite covers from the books that I read this year.


Unsticky by Sarra Manning – I love that the cover looks like a classy fashion magazine cover because the main character, Grace, works in a fashion magazine


What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty – I thought this edition has a pretty cover with the dress and all the swirly lines


Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion – this is perfect for a book with a zombie for its main character. I like the swirl of red (is that blood?) coming out of his head and how the bright color stands out


Flat-out Love by Jessica Park – I mentioned in my review that I liked the painted effect of the cover and how bright and happy the design is.


And Both Were Young by Madeleine L’Engle – even if the cover looks modern and doesn’t fit the contents of the book, I still like the wintery feel of the picture as well as the muted pink (coral? salmon?) of the title


Knife by R.J. Anderson – Love the UK editions of R.J. Anderson’s faery novels (have copies of the first three books) and they look even better in person. Knife looks fierce in this cover and I like how the metallic blue goes well with the black background


Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley – Such a simple cover: bright yellow paint can on a black cover but so perfect for Ed (male protagonist) and his artistic tendencies


The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen – Pretty flowers scattered all throughout the cover and I like the colors as well – very soothing


The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta – Sadly, I have the US hardcover instead of this lovely Aussie edition but I’m thinking of getting it because I loved the book and I love this cover. I’m waiting for the US paperback though because I heard that it’s going to get a different cover and Melina Marchetta mentioned that it has a similar feel to the Aussie cover.


The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – this UK edition looks better than the US edition, in my opinion. The bright red cover is a better fit for the killer horses than the quieter maroon of the US cover. Maybe I should order a copy of this?

There you have it, folks. My favorite covers from my 2011 reads. I cheated a bit with my last two choices because those are foreign editions that I don’t have but I read the books this year so I think they’re still counted. What are some of the covers that stood out for you? Happy Christmas Eve! 😀

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Faves of TwentyEleven: the Covers

  1. I love The Peach Keeper cover! So pretty. It makes me want to read the book right away.
    As for The Scorpio Races, I actually bought the paperback, which I would normally never do, because I liked this cover so much and kind of hated the other one.

    Great choices!

    • It really is pretty, isn’t it? I think Sarah Addison Allen has been lucky in her covers so far. Have you tried reading any of them?

      Oooh you did? I’ll think about ordering it then. I like the UK edition more than the US hardcover so I wouldn’t mind ordering it (LOL but I don’t hate it like you do). I’ve been trying to limit my book purchases so I haven’t ordered from the Book Depository in a while.

      Thanks for dropping by on Christmas day, Maja! 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  2. Oh I am loving the cover for Warm Bodies, I’ve never read the book but hearing it’s about zombies makes that cover even better! and the aussie The Piper’s Son is the copy I have and LOOOVE ❤ ANd that's a great Scorpio Races cover, I had the US version in my post! 🙂 Graffiti Moon is AWESOME as well!!! Fab choices, and merry christmas!

    • I read Warm Bodies even though I’m usually not a fan of zombie novels because I’ve heard good things about it. Hope you get to read it soon! Aww I’m jealous that you have an Aussie Piper. I’m anxiously waiting for the US paperback cover to be released, I hope it looks just as good as the Aussie cover. I thought the colors used for the US cover of The Scorpio Races were too dark and serious? But I love what’s inside though. 😛

      Merry Christmas, Audrey! 😀

  3. I WANT that UK edition of THE SCORPIO RACES. So much prettier than the US one (which is blah).

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

