Faves of TwentyEleven: The Characters

My friend Nomes of Inkcrush is hosting a book awards event called Faves of TwentyEleven and today, it’s all about the characters. I’m a reader who enjoys characters – the books that I end up loving are those than can make me feel for the fictional people in them. I love being able to relate to characters even if I’ve never experienced the kind of things that they go through. So I’m excited to highlight some of my favorite characters for this year.

Favourite female main character
Karou from Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – loved this blue-haired, artistic girl because she’s such a vibrant character.

Favourite male main character
Sean Kendrick from The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – such a quiet, intense boy but when he speaks, you have to take note of what he says because he has the best lines in the book.

Best couple
Grace and Vaughn from Unsticky by Sarra Manning with all of their flaws and how their relationship shouldn’t make sense but it does and they’re perfect for each other. Also Kate and Curran from the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews because I love how their relationship continues to evolve (loved them since Magic Strikes) – I still enjoy the banter between the two of them.

Who I fell completely in love with (new literary crush)
Jake Tolan from Saving June by Hannah Harrington! Such a swoon-worthy male lead, I want to meet someone like him who can educate me in old school rock music.

Best character twist (who you loved then hated or vice versa)
The murderer in Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn (not mentioning the name to avoid spoilers) because even though I guessed who the murderer was correctly, I did not see all of plot twists coming!

Best kick-arse female
Kate Daniels from the fifth installment in the series, Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews. Kate is my favorite urban fantasy heroine and I love reading about her.

Best kick-arse male
Kaldar Mar from the third Edge book, Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews – a scoundrel, a conman, and a spy (my kind of character). Aside from his thieving skills, he kicks some major butt with how well he wields a sword.

Broke your heart the most
Tom Mackee from The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta – Ahh this boy and his relationships with his family and friends! He’ll break your heart with his actions but will put the pieces back together with all the love and compassion he eventually lets loose.

Favourite pet/animal character award
Hands down, Manchee in The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – quote from my review: “My favorite character in the entire book is Manchee, Todd’s dog. I feel like if dogs could communicate with their masters, they’d act exactly like Manchee.”

Best YA parents award
Andy and Nathan from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins because gay dads are awesome!

Favourite sibling relationship
I really liked Puck’s relationship with her brother Finn in The Scorpio Races. It felt like they knew and understood each other so well. Throw in their older brother Gabe and you have a more complicated family set-up.

Favourite best friends/friendship award
Harper and Laney from Saving June because they’re very supportive of each other in spite of the differences in their personalities. Julie and Matt from Flat-out Love because I liked how their friendship developed throughout the novel.

Best/worst character names
I really liked the names of the main characters in Daughter of Smoke and Bone: Karou and Akiva

__________

Like in my previous Faves of TwentyEleven post, I wasn’t able to fill in all of the categories that Nomes enumerated so I decided to add more of my own:

Most unusual lead character
R from Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion – I think a zombie male lead is as interesting as it gets. I was surprised by how introspective a character R is considering that he mostly communicates through grunts.

Character I wanted to hug/comfort
I don’t know what it says about my reading choices this year but there are several characters that fall under this category: Tom Mackee from The Piper’s Son, Connor from A Monster Calls, Carly from Raw Blue, Celeste from Flat-out Love and Harper from Saving June.

Most artistic character
Ed from Graffiti Moon with all of his graffiti art, I really wish we could have seen samples of his work!

Favorite narrator
Probably Alice from What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty because she lost ten years’ worth of memories and it was like she time traveled and jumped to the future. It was interesting to see her thoughts about the changes in her life.

Most Gen-like character
One of my favorite characters of all time is Eugenides (nicknamed Gen) from the Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner and I’m always on the lookout for more characters like him. This year, two characters from the same book fall under this category: Audrey and Kaldar from Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews.

__________

Those are some of my favorite characters from the books that I read this year even if they weren’t necessarily published in 2011. Who are some of your favorite characters? Feel free to leave a link in the comments if you participated in Nomes’ event. Will drop by and check out your post if you do. If you don’t have time to come up with a post (I have a feeling we’re all swamped now that Christmas is only a few days away), just leave a comment mentioning your favorite characters.

12 thoughts on “Faves of TwentyEleven: The Characters

  1. Oh, I love “favorites” list! I am hoping I can post one before the year ends. I love that you have a “Most Gen-Like” category. You really are obsessed with The Thief series! πŸ˜€ And I love Manchee too! πŸ˜€

    • Tin, maybe you can participate in Nomes’ event? It’s very laidback and I think you can put up your post anytime. I already have two posts for the event but I’m not sure if I can do all of them.

      Hmm not sure if I can call it an obsession? πŸ˜› It’s really true that Gen is one of my favorite characters and I like reading about other characters that are like him. Manchee really is the best choice for that particular category. πŸ™‚

      • I already joined in on Nomes’ event Chachic! But I’m pretty much way behind, since I just started with the “The Books”. I hope I can get the rest of The Thief series na. I have a feeling my like for Gen will double once I get to the 2nd and 3rd installments. I also hope I can score more Aussie books next year. πŸ˜€

      • There’s no set schedule for the posts so I think you can catch up in the next few days. I didn’t have time to do the one about scenes but I’ll try to do the remaining two topics. πŸ˜› Definitely going to do the one for covers since that’s easy.

        Yay, I hope you get to read The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia soon! Both are available in Fully Booked. πŸ™‚ You’ll understand the Gen fascination when you get to those.

  2. Oh, man, Puck and Finn had the best sister/brother relationship! Why didn’t I think of that?! I see a lot of love for The Scorpio Races all over the place. That makes me so happy.
    And I love it when Kate says to Curran: “I’m going to kick you in the head. Hard.” πŸ˜€
    If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.
    I can’t wait to read about your fave scenes.

    • Maja, I can’t believe you forgot about Puck and Finn! Did you at least include a character from The Scorpio Races your list even in other categories? πŸ˜›

      I love Kate and Curran and I love how their relationship spans the entire series – from the moment they meet to when they finally got together and now that they’re working through the kinks.

      Not sure if I’ll do the fave scenes post? I feel like I keep mentioning the same titles in my posts LOL.

  3. Manchee! He makes me wish my dogs would get that germ so I know what they’d say. Manchee reminds me of the dogs from Up. πŸ™‚

    And yes to Tom too. Sigh, I just wanted to give him a big hug in The Piper’s Son.

    • I know, would love to know what my dogs mean when they bark as well! Manchee was the perfect choice for that category. Yep, I mentioned the dogs in Up in my review too. πŸ˜›

      Sigh, Melina Marchetta just makes you want to hug all of her characters. I felt the same way about Francesca, Taylor and Jonah.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

