Faves of TwentyEleven: The Books

The lovely Nomes of Inkcrush is hosting an end of year book awards event with a series of posts for the whole week. Today’s topic focuses on favorite books for this year. While I usually post a list of my favorite reads before the year ends, I thought I’d participate in this event to highlight some of the books that I really enjoyed reading but might not my make it to my best of 2011 list.

Favourite book read in 2011
Ahhh so hard to answer this one! I don’t think I can pick just ONE book so I’m going to mention several because I loved all of these: The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta, Saving June by Hannah Harrington and The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Most powerful book
Definitely A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – it’s a heart-wrenching, emotional read and it makes me sad that so many of us could relate to Connor and his pain

Best ache-y, heart-breaking, tear-jerker read
It’s a tie between A Monster Calls and The Piper’s Son – both books make you ache for the characters inside them, they made me want to go inside the books to give them a hug

Delicious rainy day comfort read
Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell – the first novel in verse that I ever read and I loved it. I love that it’s a historical fiction novel and has a fairy tale feel to it.

Adrenalin-fuelled, unputdownable award
Silksinger by Laini Taylor – the action begins right from the start and you won’t be able to stop reading the book until you reach the end. It made me sad when I found out that it’s already out of print because it’s a beautiful book.

The beautiful prose award
Definitely Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor for the lovely, lyrical writing. And also Lips Touch by the same author.

Most atmospheric and vivid setting
I would have to go with The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater for this one – the island of Thisby is a big part of the story and both Sean and Puck love their homeland.

I-so-want-to-go-there award
The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta, Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley, Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood, Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar, Good Oil by Laura Buzo – all of these Aussie YA novels have made me want to go to Australia! I don’t even know what are the tourist attractions over there, I’m just curious because of the well-written novels that I’ve read. And probably because I’d end up buying more books if I ever get to go there.

Best under-appreciated, hidden gem book
Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliassotti, a steampunk-ish novel that I enjoyed reading and I don’t understand why it’s out of print because it’s a really good book.

I-had-no-idea-I-would-love this-so award
Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park – I was really surprised by how much I ended up liking this one because I normally don’t read self-published novels. Flat-Out Love was a lot of fun to read and I could relate to the nerdy, quirky characters.

Series that I’m loving
The Lady Julia Grey series by Deanna Raybourn – I just finished reading the first book in the series and I really liked it, I hope I can find the time to put up a review soon. I’m diving right into the second novel because it has a Christmas setting, yay. Also, I want more of Lady Julia and Nicholas Brisbane.

Always recommending this book award
Saving June by Hannah Harrington because I loved it and a lot of readers are looking for YA recommendations.

Would make the best movie
I would love to see both The Scorpio Races and Daughter of Smoke and Bone on the screen and I have a feeling I’m not the only one who feels that way. I think the film rights have been sold for both?

Want to re-read already
The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta but my copy is with a friend right now and I don’t think the TBR pile will let me reread anything lately. Would love to reread Jellicoe Road as well then Saving Francesca followed by The Piper’s Son.

__________

I wasn’t able to fill in all of the categories that Nomes enumerated but she did say in the rules that she was fine with whatever we wanted with our posts so I thought I’d add some categories of my own to include other favorite reads for this year. πŸ˜›

Want more of this type of book
Unsticky by Sarra Manning, What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty, Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer, Who’s Afraid of Mr. Wolfe by Hazel Osmond – this is the year I discovered chick lit that has more depth than usual and I fell in love with these titles. I’ve been on the lookout for similar titles ever since.

Read it in one sitting and still want more
Silver Shark by Ilona Andrews – Gobbled up Silent Blade when I first discovered it and was delighted that Ilona and Gordon decided to go back to the same world. I read Silver Shark in one sitting and was hungry for more. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they’ll write more romantic sci-fi novellas (or even full-length novels).

Will read anything written by this author
I keep saying this but I’d read anything written by Ilona and Gordon. I read three of their novels this year – Silver Shark, Magic Slays and Fate’s Edge – and thoroughly enjoyed all of them. I love that each of these books are from a different series and I’m looking forward to more of the same in 2012.

Favorite book by a Filipino author
Love Your Frenemies by Mina V. Esguerra – love Mina’s work and I’d read anything that she writes (she has a couple of titles lined up for next year). Note to self: need more local titles next year.

Best illustrated novel that I’ve read
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick – I feel like I get something extra whenever I find illustrations inside novels and with Hugo Cabret, the artwork go hand in hand with the narrative in telling the story.

Light and fun and could get you out of a reading slump
A Lot Like Love by Julie James, another author who’s on my auto-buy list because she writes romantic comedies that are like book crack.

__________

Aaaaand that concludes my long list of favorites. I didn’t include links to my reviews of these titles but you can search for them using the blog’s search bar if you’re interested. Hope you guys enjoyed going through everything that I posted. What are some of your own favorites this year? Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments.

21 thoughts on “Faves of TwentyEleven: The Books

  1. Oh, how I’d love to see the capaill uisce on the big screen. *coughs* AND Sean *coughs* I just love that you loved The Scorpio Races so much, There’s just someting magical about Maggie’s prose that makes me feel all warm inside.
    Flat-Out Love was a huge surprise for me too. I remember when Flann first told me about it, I didn’t want to read it at all, but then I saw the average rating and changed my mind. Boy, am I glad I did.

    Also, Song of the Sparrow sounds like something I’d really like. I’m putting it on my tbr, thanks! I hope you’ll do this tomorrow as well. πŸ˜‰

    • Me too! Would love to see Sean Kendrick on the screen πŸ˜› The capaill uisce too would work well on the screen. I enjoyed reading Maggie’s other books but The Scorpio Races is a cut above the rest – I hope her next book is just as beautiful.

      Hey, I read Flat-out Love because of Flannery as well! I’m so glad I did even though I don’t usually read self-published novels. Good to know that you really liked it too.

      Have you read novels in verse before? If you like them and you’re into Arthurian tales then I have a feeling you’d like Song of the Sparrow. I keep meaning to read more novels in verse but I want to reserve them for when I feel like a slump is about to happen because they’re so easy to read.

  2. The Scorpio Races!! Oh my god how I loved that book. And of course, THe PIper’s Son was my favourite read of last year, it is just brilliant ❀ Love the post!! I seriously need to read Saving June soon, i just bought it and i'm seeing it EVERYWHERE πŸ˜€

    • Lucky you, you got to read Piper last year! Yay, hello to a fellow fan of The Scorpio Races. πŸ™‚ It’s such a lovely book and I’m not surprised that you loved it too. Based on those two books, it looks like we share the same taste in books so I hope you get to read Saving June soon!

  3. I’ve had A Monster Calls on my wishlist for way too long. I need to break down and buy it because I’ve been hearing amazing things about it!

    I really like the categories you made! There are only a handful of authors that I’d consider in the category of I’ll read anything they write!!! That alone says about about what awesome authors they are.

    • Missie Bee, oh I hope you get to read A Monster Calls soon! All of the reviews that I’ve seen of that book have been positive because we can all sympathize with Connor.

      I know what you mean, only favorite authors are auto-buy for me. Another author who became an auto-buy for me was Laini Taylor but I mentioned Ilona Andrews because I loved how they wrote books from different genres.

  4. I thought about participating in this but there’s no way. My living room currently looks like the North Pole’s wrapping department exploded and I’m getting ready to house 4 extra people (for a total of 8 sleeping under my roof) by Friday. No time. It looks like so much fun though.

    I love your picks. I still need to read The Scorpio Races. I have it checked out from the library right now but…

    • Brandy, you should take a picture of that and upload it on your blog! Looks like you’re going to have a fun Christmas. πŸ™‚ The past few weeks have been really busy for me as well but I wanted to participate so I sacrificed some things (like sleep LOL) to join. I have a post about characters too but I don’t think I’ll be able to come up with something for the next topic, need to catch up on rest because I still don’t feel that well.

      Yay, you have The Scorpio Races with you! I really hope you love it *keeps fingers crossed*

  5. Pingback: Faves of TwentyEleven: The Books | One More Page

  6. Okay, I should probably read Saving June ASAP. I also really, really want to read Flat-Out Love, too, but I haven’t had the time to get myself a copy. Haha. And now I’m so curious about The Scorpio Races! But I should probably read my Maggie Stiefvater books on my TBR first. Hm.

    I’m also very excited because I know Mina is planning to release her two YA books next year. πŸ™‚

    • You should! I’ve been recommending Saving June ever since I finished reading it. πŸ˜› I got a pitch for Flat-out Love so I read a review copy of the author – Jessica Park is nice and friendly as is always willing to send review copies to bloggers. I love that The Scorpio Races has been popping up in a lot of favorites list lately, it really is Maggie Stiefvater’s best novel for me. You have Shiver and Linger on your pile, right?

      *Mina V. Esguerra fangirl high five* Can’t wait to read Mina’s YA books.

      • Okay I got Flat-Out Love today too! I need to figure out my 2012 reading schedule so I can bump them all up. Excitement. πŸ™‚

        I’ll probably try to read Shiver before the year ends, since you did say it passes as a winter read. πŸ™‚

      • Oh you already have a copy of Flat-out Love! I hope you get to read it soon. πŸ™‚ LOL at keeping a reading schedule for 2012, I don’t think that’s something that I can do. Maybe for the challenges that I plan to join but not for all of the books that I want to read.

        Yes to Shiver although I remember I read that book during summer. πŸ˜›

  7. oh, Chachic. I LOVE your picks. you seriously have SUCH great taste in books and i love how eclectic your choices are (all genres in YA and lots of adult love)

    I am SO glad you loved Saving June (I feel like rereading it now, just thinking back on it…)

    I REALLY love your added questions ~ it’s true, some of my faves didn’t get covered in my answers either.

    I really want to read the Hazel Osmond book. I havent bought myself a book in MONTHS (not since July) so I am thinking I am due for a splurge soon πŸ˜‰

    • Nomes, thank you so much for hosting this event! It’s a lot of fun to categorize this year’s favorite reads this way, much more specific than just listing them all down.

      Would love to reread Saving June as well and maybe even listen to the playlists while reading it. πŸ˜›

      I’m glad you made the rules laidback and that I could add my own categories because it was a lot of fun coming up with new categories to highlight other favorites.

      Oh wow, really? And here I thought I was being thrifty because I haven’t bought a new book for myself in December (and only got two in November and one in October). You really should splurge now that it’s Christmas season!

  8. YAY! Lists like these make me SO HAPPY. And it’s so funny because I’ve read SO MANY of your reviews throughout the year, I’m just nodding along thinking, “Yeah, I remember when she read that.” And I just have a big smile on my face. =)

    • Awww! *huggles Capillya* Thank you for always going through my posts and leaving tons of comments while you’re at it! You know I love chatting about books (and everything else) with you on Twitter. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

