Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Mina V. Esguerra Fangirl

6 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Remember my friend Chuchay from a previous Shoot That Book post? Well, I decided to feature her again here on the blog because of an interesting story. Here she is, holding up what I gave her for Christmas this year:

I gave my high school barkada a humor book each and mixed things up by adding a different Filipino chick lit novel for each girlfriend. Here’s a snapshot of one of the pages of the humor book:

I didn’t wrap the gifts anymore because I wanted them to see the titles right away (yeah, yeah, I was lazy too). It’s always fun when gift recipients like want you give them, right? My friends were all, “Hey, I’ve read this!” and “Can we swap after you finish reading yours?” So Chuchay got My Imaginary Ex by my favorite Filipino chick lit author, Mina V. Esguerra. I told her that my favorite Mina book is Fairy Tale Fail and I got out my Kindle to show her. I guess she wanted to sample the writing so she started reading it. Pretty soon, she was so engrossed that she just sat on the other end of the table in Starbucks while the rest of us chatted. She ended up finishing the whole thing in one sitting! This made me happy because it reminded me of my own experience with Fairy Tale Fail: I remember buying it then loading it on my Kindle, decided to read a bit before sleeping but then I didn’t stop until I reached the end. My friend Chuchay has now finished My Imaginary Ex and is looking forward to reading Mina’s other books. Maybe she can read Love Your Frenemies on my Kindle the next time we meet up. 😛 Mina, looks like you have another fan.

What about the rest of you, what books have you given as Christmas gifts that turned out to be winners?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Mina V. Esguerra Fangirl

  1. I just clicked through a few of your reviews and Esguerra’s work sounds so charming! I’ve had really good luck with getting gifts for friends and family that they love, but nothing really pops into mind specifically. Maybe one time when Kyle and I made DVDs of old home recording for my in-laws. They really loved that.

    • Capillya, my dear, I can’t believe I haven’t encouraged you to read Mina’s work! I would really love to see what you think of them because they’re all set here in Manila.

      Aww that DVD sounds like you put a lot of thought into it. I would love a gift like that too.

  2. AH, I just love this time of the year. I like buying presents for friends and family even if I normally hate Christmas crowds. 🙂

    Speaking of gifts, I have something for you! Will you be at the Goodreads Christmas party tomorrow? If not, I’ll just bring it next time we meet. 🙂

    • I hate Christmas crowds and how crazy traffic gets during December here in Manila. But I do love shopping for gifts for friends and family – I can’t even decide which I like more: giving or receiving presents. 😛

      Aww thanks in advance, Tina! I won’t be able to make it to the Goodreads Christmas party tomorrow because I have other plans. I hope you guys have a great time though. 🙂

  3. I remember reading the Fairy Tale Fail that I’ve won from you on my laptop before sleeping as well and even though I was drowsy with sleep, I just had to finish the story. 🙂

    I’ve bought 4 books to be gifted to 4 persons this Christmas. I think I have become the Bookish Santa. 😀

    • Oooh another Mina fan that I influenced! 😛 I’m glad you enjoyed reading Fairy Tale Fail just as much as I did. It’s a lot more fun to read stories when you can relate to the characters, right?

      LOL four is not that bad. I’m not that with my Christmas shopping but I think I’ve given (and still planning to give) nine bookish gifts so far?

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

