Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Hello December!

18 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Somewhat related to my Christmas reads post the other day, I decided to take a picture of what will keep me busy (in terms of reading) in the next couple of days.

Included in the picture are my glasses and my 2012 Starbucks planner (I got the Oak). Yes, I’m ready for next year, I already have a planner! First list I’ve written on it? Bloggy things to do for December. It has more blank pages than my current planner so I’m already using it. I have a feeling this is how it would look like late next year:

Photo from Tumblr

As for the bundle of books on my Kindle, I’m finally reading the Lady Julia series by Deanna Raybourn. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to start on it because I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. Shout out to Holly and Angie, trusted book pushers, who both love the series. Can’t wait to dive in! Really looking forward to the second book because it’s set during Christmas.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

18 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Hello December!

  1. I have a specific color for blog posts I need to do in my planner! 🙂 Haha. I’ve also started listing books that I read in December, and soon I’ll have a list of books that I bought for 2012 just so I can keep track of them.

    Oh and my planner always looks like the one in the Tumblr picture you posted. I need to update my 2011 planner, though — I had all the Europe memorabilia inserted between the pages but I haven’t had the time to stick them there and be all scrap-book-y 😀

    • I’ve only used black pen in my planner so far! But I’ve written a note to self: buy more colored pens. I was supposed to get the retractable one that has different colors called Coleto but it was out of stock in Natio last Friday.

      Oh I have a list of books that I’ve read in 2011, I list them at the start of every month and I plan to do that with my 2012 planner as well. My list of books bought are at the back of the planner – I’m at 40 so far in 2011. What’s your 2011 planner? Mine’s the Daycraft Professor Pig one. I probably would have gotten another Daycraft planner if I didn’t collect enough Starbucks stickers.

      • My 2011 planner was also from Starbucks, the wood version. 🙂 I had an Excel sheet with the books I bought for 2011 (with the price and where I bought it and all) but I didn’t really keep track after I got back from Europe. But I’m pretty sure I bought a lot, although not as much as I did in 2010.

        I have some Coletto pens but I need refills! I still have this old collection of Muji pens from my HK trip in 2009, but some of them need refills already. Oh, and I splurged on a G-Tec pen for planner and I hope I don’t lose it because I still feel guilty about the price for a single pen.

      • This is the first time I’m going to use a Starbucks planner. 😛 I collected stickers back in 2008 for a friend based in Singapore. I used to have an Excel database for my books too but I didn’t keep it updated. I mostly update on Goodreads nowadays. Yep, bought A LOT more books in 2010 than 2011.

        Oh it’s spelled Coletto? I want to get the colored refills like purple, pink and light blue! I hope they have stocks in other branches, will try to look for it later. If I get to drop by Muji, I’ll give their pens a try too. 🙂 Yeah, you really have to take care of pricey pens. Sayang if they get lost!

  2. I find the picture above funny. I myself just got my 2012 SB Planner, and I chose Oak as well. Also, my eyeglasses have red frame, too. LOL.

    I don’t know why I took the planner though. I’m not really the kind of person who loves to write my to-do list because I find it too OC, and I’m afraid to be one. I actually have two other cards full of SB stickers, and I can claim two other planners. 🙂 I might just sell those two na lang. Hahaha.

    • I didn’t know Oak was going to be a bestseller, seems like everyone got it. 😛 I should have gotten Spruce instead.

      I like noting down things in my planner and it’s like a diary of sorts because all of my lunch/dinner plans and get togethers are included there.

  3. Lady Julia is one of my favorites, hope you love the series!

  4. I just ordered the first book in the Lady Julia series yesterday, so I’m super excited to hear what you think about it.

  5. I’ve also heard great things about the Lady Julia series. Enjoy!

  6. Frightfully impressive! I’m am in no way that organized 😉 I just keep an excel spreadsheet going of all the books I’ve read with the date and a rating and a little box saying if I’ve reviewed it or not.

    But yes, so happy to see you picking up the Julia Grey books. Love them! They just keep getting better and better in my opinion!

    • How is that Excel spreadsheet any less impressive? 😛 I feel bad that I stopped updating my Excel book database. I figured that I have Goodreads for that and I keep my shelves there up to date.

      I really should have picked them up sooner, so many people have recommended them. I guess I hesitated in starting a series with so many of the books already out? I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll love them as much as the rest of you do. 🙂

  7. When I look at your sleek graphite Kindle and the way the book looks on the screen, I feel like a clunky eighties version of a person with my second generation white Kindle.

    Also, I thought I was going insane because it took me a minute to figure out that there is snow falling on your blog.

    Love the pic, as usual:)

    • Flannery, your comment is hilarious, as always. 😛 Don’t worry, I have a feeling my Kindle will feel outdated and chunky when it’s side by side the latest Kindle Touch or the Kindle Fire.

      Don’t you like the snow? LOL sometimes I Pause and just watch it fall on the screen.

      • I do like the snow…but only since I figured out it was on the page and not something wrong with my eyesight:)

        I haven’t seen a Kindle Touch or Fire yet. I think I might go check them out at a store soon. I want to play around with them.

      • LOL I find it funny that you thought there was something wrong with your eyesight because of the snowflakes.

        Yeah, you should try and play around with it in a store so you can decide if you want to get one. I don’t think I’ll buy another e-reader as long as mine is still working. I have a feeling it will only last about two years or so?

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

