Christmas Reads

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! We’re well into December, folks. Do you know that here in the Philippines, people start counting down to Christmas the moment September rolls around? πŸ˜› So of course, we’re excited that December is finally here. And if you drop by my blog, you’ll see that I activated WordPress’ snow feature. My blog has snow even though I’ve never seen it in real life and we’ve never had it in the Philippines.

I’ve been thinking about books that are perfect reads for the holidays. I only have a couple of them that I’ve featured on the blog (click on the images to check out my reviews):

These books are set during winter or the holidays so they’re perfect for the season. Anna and the French Kiss only has a couple of Christmas scenes but I decided to include it since it’s such a fun read. I’m planning to reread At First Sight because it’s an easy read and I think I’ve already memorized some sections of it because of multiple rereads. This year, I only have this one on my pile:

I got Ex-Mas from My Girl Friday’s giveaway last year and I still haven’t read it. I want more Christmas goodness so please recommend a book that you think would be a great read for the holidays. Maybe it would be a good idea to squeeze in some cozy mysteries like Strong Poison or Silent in the Grave? I don’t usually read mysteries but these two come highly recommended. Let me know what you guys think.

Maagang Maligayang Pasko! Advanced Merry Christmas! πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “Christmas Reads

  1. Hm, maybe I should finally read Shiver this December now that you mentioned it. πŸ™‚

    The only Christmas book I can recommend now is The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe! πŸ™‚ I read that during Christmas last year and it certainly put me in that mood. There’s also one book I loved when I was a kid, “The Nickel Plated Beauty” by Patricia Beatty. The kids in the novel were saving up to buy their mom a new stove for Christmas and I remember it putting me in a Christmas mood. Oh, and I haven’t read “Wintertown” yet, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to be nice for Christmas too. πŸ™‚

    • Shiver is a great read for December! I was tempted to throw in The Scorpio Races in there because that’s my favorite Maggie Stiefvater but it’s more of an October/November read.

      Oh yeah, the second Narnia book would make a really good Christmas read. Maybe it’s time to reread it. Thanks for the heads up about Wintertown! I wonder if it’s already available in local bookstores? Did you pre-order your copy?

      • Yes, I pre-ordered. I hope it arrives this week so I can make that my Christmas read! πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen it in Fully Booked yet, but I hope they order that.

        I was looking through my TBR earlier and I remembered reading a sample from The Sugar Queen — I think that book is set in winter too? I think How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr is too, but I’m just judging it by its cover πŸ™‚

      • Hope you get your copy soon! Will inquire about the book in Fully Booked but you already know what I picked out for my December/Christmas read. πŸ˜› I can line up other books though because I’m planning to claim the rest of my leaves before the year ends.

        Oh yeah, how could I forget Sarah Addison Allen? The Sugar Queen has a winter setting but I think the rest of her books are perfect as cozy Christmas reads too.

  2. Ahem. Well, you already know what I think. Read SILENT IN THE GRAVE! It is a perfect holiday read. As is the sequel SILENT IN THE SANCTUARY, which is actually set at Christmas in an old English abbey. So good!

    Great idea, btw. ANNA definitely has the holiday feel to me, too. I’m going to go see about a holiday read or two now.

    • I can’t believe I still haven’t read any of Deanna Raybourn’s novels when they come highly recommended by both you and Holly. Must remedy that before the year ends! I should really bump her books up the TBR pile because would love to read the second book this season (Christmas setting, yay!)

      Anna would make a great Christmas present too! I’ve been hunting down copies in local bookstores because I want to give it as a gift to friends. I have friend who’s going to Paris in January and I want to include a note with something like “Make me proud. Be like Anna and come home with your own Etienne. :P”

  3. I’d recommend LET IT SNOW. It’s a collection of three short stories written by Maureen Johnson, John Green and Lauren Myracle. I read it two years ago at Christmas and it was a fun, breezy read infused with holiday spirit. πŸ˜€

  4. I second the motion on “Shiver”! Since Maggie is really good at setting the atmosphere of a story, I guarantee you’re going to feel the temperature going down when you read it. πŸ˜‰

  5. I loved Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares! I hadn’t seen that cover before, actually… pretty cool! And Anna and the French Kiss is perfect for ANY time of the year πŸ˜€

    • It’s the cover for the Aussie edition, isn’t it pretty? I used it because I liked the design more than the US edition. πŸ™‚ And yes to Anna, perfect reread for any time of the year!

  6. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Hello December! « Chachic's Book Nook

  7. i love the christmas reads idea, but i never seem to organise myself for them. also, its summer here, so i think i go for more summery reads. i love verse novels around christmas for some reason. so relaxing…

    • Oh yeah, it’s summer over there! I think I only found out about that last year? I wonder how it feels like to have Christmas during the summer. You get to combine both summery and Christmas reads at the same time? πŸ˜› I don’t know why I like winter-related books when it doesn’t really get that cold over here.

  8. Pingback: The Sugar Queen | One More Page

  9. Pingback: 2015 Christmas Reads | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

