Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: This Is Shyness

6 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I have been hearing such good things about This Is Shyness by Leanne Hall, another book that has been getting a lot of attention from the land down under. The latest rave review that I’ve seen was from Ana of The Book Smugglers. Leanne Hall also has a fabulous guest post over at The Crooked Shelf for Carla’s Aussie YA Month feature. Go check it out if you haven’t seen it yet! She dresses up in costume to represent her favorite Aussie books. If This Is Shyness wasn’t already on my wishlist, these posts would have convinced me to add it. It’s not internationally available but I’m planning to include it in my order when I get the chance to buy books from Fishpondworld.

Here’s the summary from Leanne Hall’s website:

A guy who howls. A girl on a mission to forget.

In the suburb of Shyness, where the sun doesn’t rise and the border crackles with a strange energy, Wolfboy meets a stranger at the Diabetic Hotel. She tells him her name is Wildgirl, and she dares him to be her guide through the endless night.

But then they are mugged by the sugar-crazed Kidds. And what plays out is moving, reckless…dangerous. There are things that can only be said in the dark. And one long night is time enough to change your life.

Doesn’t it look crazy fun? What about the rest of you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Meann of The Girl Who Read and Other StoriesThe Strange Case of Origami Yoda and Darth Paper Strikes Back by Tom Angleberger
Becs of Wicked InkHex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Tin or RabbitinAnya’s Ghost by Vera Brogsol

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

6 thoughts on “Want Books: This Is Shyness

  1. After seeing the positive reviews (well, RAVE reviews really), I’m dying to read it too! It sounds really great.

  2. I’ve been eyeing this book for some time now… I think I’ll finally order it after my semester’s over so that way I can enjoy it without having to worry about tests or homework. I just need to get an account at fishpond.

    Also–I went to the author’s website & saw the cover for the next book. I got so excited!!! 😀

    • I don’t have a Fishpondworld account either. I’m still waiting for my credit card to arrive before I sign up and order something there. I still have to decide what books to get. And yay for you once the semester’s done, more reading time. 🙂

      I saw the cover too but didn’t want to read the summary for the next book in case it has spoilers for the first one.

  3. I’ve never heard of this book before so thanks for the heads up. I need to check it out.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

