Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: Laini Taylor Hardcovers

14 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Since I reviewed Silksinger this week, I thought it would be a good idea to feature my Laini Taylor hardcovers in today’s post. Laini Taylor is one of my favorite discoveries this year and it makes me happy that I have all of her books in hardcover format:

Aren’t they pretty? And they all have illustrations inside (well, only that feather for Daughter of Smoke and Bone):

I used to have a thing about having matching editions when it comes to my books, especially if they’re part of a series, but now I don’t really mind. Although I do feel like getting hardcovers whenever I fall in love with a book because that makes me feel like the copy would last longer. Sigh, I would love to have hardcovers of all the books by Megan Whalen Turner, Robin McKinley, Ilona Andrews and Melina Marchetta but they’re not readily available (in Ilona Andrews’ case, her books are published only in paperback editions). What about you guys, are you particular when it comes to matching editions? Do you have hardcovers of all the books of certain authors?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

14 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: Laini Taylor Hardcovers

  1. You should totally talk to Maja about this. She’s OCD about it.
    I try to buy nice editions and I get hardbacks of the ones I really really liked but for some – see: Ilona Andrews – there’s just nothing to do. Sigh.

    • LOL okay, I’ll talk to Maja about it. I used to be more OC but I realized I don’t want to get stressed about it so I just grabbed whatever I could find. When a book becomes a favorite though, I’m willing to invest and get extra copies, maybe a nicer edition like a hardcover. And yay, glad to know you’re an Ilona Andrews fan as well. Fate’s Edge is coming out next week!

  2. I prefer that my series are either all hardback or paperback or ebooks. And I really want my ebooks to be the same format. It doesn’t always happen though and sometimes I end up with series in all three formats.

    • Ideally, I’d prefer to have series books in the same format but I don’t get too worried when that happens. I think I care more about getting my hands on the books so I can read them right away than thinking about the formats. 😛

      • The reason I want my books to be at least all print or all the same ebook format is so I can store them together. I hate having to figure out where the next book in a series is located. I am a big re-reader.

      • Oh it really is hard to keep track of books. I’m still not done organizing my bookshelf! I usually just use Goodreads to “browse” through what I have because my profile there is updated.

  3. I used to obsess with matching editions too, but like you, it would probably depend on how much I love the book. I’m still hoping to make all my Jasper Fforde books match (same sizes and all UK versions because they’re more colorful) but they’re either not available here or more expensive. I used to only want to get paperback versions but now I get hardbound when the price difference isn’t much. And sometimes I’m too impatient to wait for the paperbacks. ^^

    • Maybe you can get copies of Jasper Fforde’s UK editions in Book Depository? I don’t mind spending extra if it’s a favorite book or series, I like my favorites to be pretty. 🙂 I used to get a lot of hardcovers but now I prefer paperbacks because they’re cheaper (unless the author is a favorite). I’ve been burned by hardcovers that I didn’t end up loving.

  4. Very pretty. I love these photos so keep them coming.

  5. Really, Lisa? Really? Must you go around sharing all my secrets? 😀

    Seriously, I’m horrible about these things! They all have to match, and if I buy one book in a series, I have to buy the other ones as well or I can’t stand seeing it on my shelf.
    And I feel the same way about hardcovers.

    Also, thanks for posting the illustration from Lips Touch. I was wondering about those.

    • I used to be like that! I can’t start a series unless I have all copies of the books in matching editions. But then I encountered several series that I didn’t end up liking so I realized that it would be better if I just get the first book and then decide if I want to continue reading the rest after I finish reading that.

      • What I hate is when a series starts out as paperback and then switches to hardback. I can’t wait for the PB release, so I end up with different formats.

        Of course, a hardback release is more profitable for the author (I hope), so I am happy for them.

      • Elaine, that hasn’t happened to any of the series that I follow but yes, I understand why that would be frustrating. If they’re going to release the latter books in hardcover, they should release hardcover editions of the earlier ones too.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

