Where has the enthusiasm gone?

2010 was my first year in the book blogosphere and everything was New and Exciting back then. I was enthusiastic about meeting readers who like the same kinds of books that I do, discovering new-to-me books and authors based on recommendations and participating in book blogging activities. Looking back, I have no idea where I got all that energy. I feel like such an old lady nowadays because I feel like I couldn’t keep up with my younger blogging self. I used to put up a post every single day and now I’d be happy with two or three per week. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not planning to stop blogging or anything drastic like that, it’s just that I want to get back all that enthusiasm that I had when I first started. It feels like it’s getting harder and harder for me to write reviews lately. I never used to have a backlog – I’d read a book, let it stew for a bit and then write a review before I dive into another world. It took me a month to put up my latest review. But on the other hand, I feel like my reviewing has gotten better and I put more effort (and time) into them than I used to. I also used to review ALL of the books that I read. Now, I don’t bother if I can’t find the words, I just give it a star rating in Goodreads and leave it at that. Another thing that I want to mention is that I haven’t been that excited to buy books lately but this is probably a good thing because I WANT to read the books in my TBR pile, I feel like they’ve been neglected far too long. I only bought one book in October and two in November.

Sorry to be so negative but I just wanted to get this out there. I still love chatting to fellow readers, bloggers and of course, get excited whenever an author replies to comments or tweets. I still leave comments in a lot of the posts that come up in my Google Reader and I still reply to all the comments in my blog because I like discussions. It’s just that I’m not as ecstatic about everything like before. But maybe that’s part of growing older as a book blogger? I guess it’s normal to feel like this, we’ve all experienced reading slumps so it’s only natural to have blogging slumps as well. It’s just that I’ve been doing my best to keep the slump away but I don’t want to pressure myself and I don’t want to feel like blogging is too much work. I wonder if the rest of you have noticed these changes around the blog? And I’d also like to hear what the rest of you do when you feel like a blogging slump is about to happen? What makes you look forward to blogging again? Oh and if you come across my enthusiasm, please tell it to go back to me, I need it ASAP.

20 thoughts on “Where has the enthusiasm gone?

  1. Well, my backlog is getting bigger and bigger by the weeks that pass, but it’s partly because I’m so busy with Nano and real life and all, so sometimes I can’t be bothered to blog. Not that I do not like to blog, but you know, it’s just that life gets in the way. It gets harder to review though, because sometimes I can’t remember what made me like the book so much (or not like it) when I read it. But alas, that’s life. If I get paid for blogging, then maybe it would be a different story. πŸ™‚

    Right now I’m thinking of some New Blogging Things To Do in 2012 just to keep things fresh. You know, like new features, guest posts (about time I have them) and all that and that kind of makes me look forward to blogging even if it’s for next year. I don’t know if that helps, but maybe thinking of other things to generate content or other things like that will help you. Or it may even be as simple as looking for a new layout. πŸ™‚ Just as long as you don’t feel pressured to do it — it is YOUR blog anyway. And whatever happens, I do not think you’ll lose any readers anyway. πŸ™‚

    • LOL at least you have an excuse, you’re busy with NaNoWriMo. With me, it’s just that I haven’t been excited to write reviews. Thank goodness I’m not experiencing a reading slump (just a blogging slump) because I have a huge TBR pile to go through. I think it gets harder for me to review a book when I keep putting it off because I tend to forget the details. Which is why I like to write the review as soon as I finish the book.

      Yeah, maybe I need to come up with new features to keep things fresh. I haven’t been asking for We Love YA guest posts because I’ve been reading more non-YA books lately and I’m not sure if I want to focus on YA. I did start my Shoot That Book feature and I enjoy doing that even though my posts don’t get a lot of comment. And yes, I’ve been itching to change my layout but I haven’t decided if I want to change the banner.

  2. I hear you.
    In the last weeks I also missed my old enthusiasm. But I finally learned that it’s ok to not post every day and to only post when I have something to say. I think it’s just a phase, sometimes it’s good to slow down and to think about how things are doing.

    I love your way to write reviews and who says that you have to review all the books you read. Just take it easy and enjoy blogging, in the end it’s only a hobby and should never feel like a chore.

    • Sabrina, glad to know I’m not the only one who feels this way! Maybe it also has something to do with the books that I’ve been reading? I mean they’ve mostly been good but only a handful of them have stood out. I think I get more excited to write a review when I want to recommend the book to other people.

      Thanks for the vote of confidence! πŸ™‚ It really is just a hobby and it’s supposed to be fun so it shouldn’t feel like work.

  3. It happens, Chachic, and it seems to happen to a lot of us, even the best of us. Kind of like a reading slump or a writing slump. But then I think you just have to ride out the slump, and then you get your enthusiasm back. Or even if you don’t get the same enthusiasm back, what’s important, I think, is to get perspective.:)

    Good luck! You’re still doing great as a book blogger.:)

    • Yeah, there’s really not much that you can do except ride out the slump. I’m hoping that this wouldn’t last long and I’m back to being enthusiastic about my blog soon. It does help to take a step back and re-evaluate things.

      Aww thanks Honey, I appreciate that you think I’m still doing great. πŸ™‚

  4. I know what you mean, the same way that you’re with your blogging enthusiasm, that’s how I am with my reading enthusiasm. I can’t seem to get out of my reading slump and it’s killing me. Ugh. I hope your enthusiasm comes back, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

    • Rowena, it sucks to be in a reading slump! I’ve experienced those before and I try to get over them by reading light and fun books. I hope you get to read some amazing books soon and that they’ll get you out of that slump.

  5. I absolutely know what you mean and am in the same boat at the moment. Sometimes it’s that I’m in a reading slump, but at the moment I’m in a reviewing slump. Life is busy and I want to talk about books, but it just seems to be the one thing I don’t get to. Also, I do feel that pressure to make my reviews good, and it keeps me from just blurting out whatever I’m thinking, which is definitely what I used to do.

    • Yeah, if it’s not a reading slump then it’s a blogging slump. It’s funny because it’s not even a case of life being busy right now, it’s just that I have a hard time writing reviews lately. I feel like I just want to read instead of talk about books, you know? And I have no idea why I feel this way. Maybe I just need an amazing book to pull me out of it.

  6. My blog is my outlet, the thing I do for myself rather than my family so I don’t often get into reviewing “slumps”. I do sometimes feel like I’m too busy. And right now I am in annoyed with reading in general. It has bee a long time since I was well and truly wowed by a book and I could really use that right now. Fairyland came close and that was a nice break, but I feel like I have been reading book after book that is less than impressive so my reviews have been consistently negative. The book I’m reading right now is annoying me to all get out. I got Froi via netgalley and I’m almost afraid to start it because I don’nt want anymore disappointments. Sigh.

    • Hmm you have a point there, Brandy. My blog is my outlet as well – I do it for myself and not for my friends or family. But I do experience slumps LOL. I get why you’re frustrated with reading because I feel the same way. My reviews haven’t even been negative lately, I’ve liked some of the books that I’ve been reading but I want to be blown away and it makes me sad that it’s not happening.

      Hey, Janice and I just started reading Froi. Feel free to join us if you’re interested. πŸ™‚

    • It might have decided to look around and see if it could find a better master. πŸ˜› I think it’s just a phase and it also depends on the kind of books that I’m reading. I’m just happy I was able to put up two reviews this week, yay!

  7. I noticed less reviews but you still post SOMETHING every day, and I think your discussion posts get people talking. If YOU are unenthused… well, I’m in trouble then.

    • It’s funny because there were times when I wasn’t able to post a review in a whole week. But I like discussion posts, which reminds me that I need to come up with one soon.

      If YOU are unenthused… well, I’m in trouble then. -> This made me laugh! πŸ˜›

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

