Want Books: The Girl of Fire and Thorns

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson is blurbed by the amazing Megan Whalen Turner: “Rae Carson’s heroine is a perfect blend of the ordinary and the extraordinary. I loved her.” — Megan Whalen Turner, author of Newbery Honor book, THE THIEF. So of course, I’m interested. It has also gotten positive reviews around the blogosphere and another favorite author of mine, Sherwood Smith, thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I’m always up for fantasy reads with strong female protagonists and this one looks like something that I’d be really into. It was available on NetGalley before it was released but unfortunately, I wasn’t able to grab a copy.

Here’s the summary from Rae Carson’s website:

Once every century, one person is chosen for greatness. But the prophecy is vague, and Elisa, always overshadowed by her accomplished older sister, has no idea why she was chosen or how she will fulfill the expectations. Her future is unknown and her potential is tremendous — even if she doesn’t realize it. A king asks her to save his troubled country. A savage enemy hunts her for its own — dead or alive. A revolutionary asks for her heart. And in the midst of ferocious battles and harsh quests, Elisa will find herself. She will find the strength she’s always possessed. She’ll find deep and abiding love. She’ll awaken the power that only she can control. And she’ll face those who want to rip all of it away.

What about the rest of you, what book is in your wishlist?

20 thoughts on “Want Books: The Girl of Fire and Thorns

  1. This book is really, really good! I was lucky enough to meet Rae Carson on Sunday at Books of Wonder alongside Tamora Pierce, who blurbed her book (which is what ultimately had me pick it up to read the day I did over two other titles). I hope you get to read it soon!!

    • Wow, you met Rae Carson AND Tamora Pierce in person? Lucky! Thanks for the feedback about the book, really want to read it but haven’t seen copies in local bookstores.

    • It looks promising, right? But I heard that some people didn’t like this so I really have no clue what I’ll think of it.

      I’ll include your Want Books post in this week’s roundup. 🙂

  2. I read this book way before it came out!!!! like in 2010! Becuz my teacher went to this confrence and met all kinds of authors, and they gave her free books! So i borrowed this one and stated reading! IT was sooo goood! I couldn’t put it down! And i really wished that place was real. I mean, I’m not a freak or anything but it sounds so… magical! Lolz Hope you all get to read it! It’s great. Can’t wait for the second and third one! God i wish it was 2012 now!!!!

    • Oooh maybe your teacher went to Book Expo America or a similar conference? It’s a good thing you got to read it early because it looks like you’re really enthusiastic about it. 😛 I still haven’t read it but I’m really curious!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

