Finnikin of the Rock Read-Along

Just wanted to make a quick post saying that I’m reading Finnikin of the Rock by the queen of Aussie YA, Melina Marchetta, along with two of my favorite bloggers: Janice of Janicu’s Book Blog and Holly of Book Harbinger. I have the Aussie edition of the book and I opened up my copy to discover that the inside is just as pretty as the cover. So I decided to take some pictures.

Colored illustration in the inside cover:

Maps:

Section headings:

Chapter headings:

Here’s the summary from Melina Marchetta’s website for those who are curious:

At the age of nine, Finnikin is warned by the gods that he must sacrifice a pound of flesh in order to save the royal house of his homeland, Lumatere. And so he stands on the rock of three wonders with his childhood friend Prince Balthazar and the prince’s cousin, Lucian, and together they mix their blood. And Lumatere is safe.

Until the ‘five days of the unspeakable’, when the King and Queen and their children are slaughtered in the palace. And an imposter king takes the throne. And a curse is put on Lumatere, which traps those caught inside and forces thousands of others to roam the land as exiles, dying of fever and persecution in foreign camps.

But ten years later Finnikin is led to another rock to meet the young novice, Evanjalin. A girl plagued by dark dreams, who holds the key to their return to the Land of light…

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll love this just as much as I loved the author’s contemporary novels. Watch out for our reviews in the coming weeks!

7 thoughts on “Finnikin of the Rock Read-Along

    • I’m glad it’s pretty because it’s a lot more expensive than the US hardcover! If I end up loving this, I might order the Aussie edition of the sequel from Fishpondworld.

      Thanks for wanting to do the readalong! I’m already having fun responding to Goodreads status updates. πŸ™‚

  1. Ah pretty edition. I got the US paperback version, which is okay. Which probably means I should get Froi of the Exiles in US edition too. Oh well. πŸ™‚ Have fun on your read along! πŸ™‚

    • That’s what Celina said about Froi too! She’s getting the US edition to match the first book. LOL so does that mean I have to order the Aussie edition of the sequel from Fishpondworld?

  2. Pingback: Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

