Aussie Guest Post and IMM

My friend Carla of The Crooked Shelf is celebrating Aussie YA Month for the whole month of November and she has some great posts lined up. It’s only been a week or so but I’m really enjoying her posts – my favorites so far include her interview with one of my favorite authors, Melina Marchetta, and her post about where to buy Aussie books. I’m over there today for a guest post about how awesome Aussie YA is and how I wish we had something similar here in the Philippines. Head on over there to check it out!

In keeping with the Australian theme, I met up with a friend of mine who just came home from Australia and what did I ask him to get for me? Books, of course! Here’s what’s In My Mailbox:

Australian editions of Finnikin of the Rock and On the Jellicoe Road – these make me want to collect all of Melina Marchetta’s books in their original editions even if they’re more expensive. And because I talked about it a bit on Twitter, I decided to include the rain booties that I got from Ready for Rain. Aren’t they cute? Also, notice the sticker on Finnikin’s cover? Let me zoom in and show you:

Makes me even more excited to read it! But maybe not until I get to order its sequel? What about the rest of you, any guest posts or newly acquired books this weekend? Let me know with a comment!

21 thoughts on “Aussie Guest Post and IMM

  1. Hi Chachic! Just read you guest post. My wish list is pretty long right now after the addition of all those Aussie YA novels. I’m guessing my TBR will soon be a huge huge pile. πŸ˜›

    Thanks to authors like Esguerra, Miniano, Sering etc. local chicklit were introduced. There’s Trese and Filipino Heroes League which have been getting a lot of buzz and have been bringing local graphic novels in the scene so maybe Filipino YA is not too far around the corner. I hope.

    You’ve got me curious as to what other titles are included in the 50 books you can’t put down. And love your bow tie boots! πŸ˜›

    I also seriously want to go to Australia. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tin, thanks for dropping by to check the guest post! I hope you get to read those Aussie YA novels soon. And yes, you should get used to having a giant TBR pile.

      I agree but local chick lit has been around for a few years now. I remember reading those thin Summit Books novels in college. And I think spec fic, comics and graphic novels have always had strong followings here, which is probably why we have local Comin Cons. So I don’t understand why YA hasn’t started growing here in the past few years. Not sure if it will change in the near future, probably not.

      Oh that sticker was included in the cover already. I did choose the 50 unputdownable books. πŸ˜›

    • I know, I keep thinking I wish I had relatives in Australia so I can ask them to buy books for me (and maybe not have to pay for them? LOL). Or we can always just order from Fishpondworld.

  2. Yay! I read your guest post over at Carla’s blog and commented there, too.

    I haven’t yet read Finnick of the Rock! I really need to get on that. And yes, the boots are cute!

    • Capillya, thanks for commenting both here and there! I’ll drop by there later and check out the comments.

      Do you want to do a readalong of Finnikin? πŸ˜› I invited Janice to do that since she also got a copy of the book recently.

    • I know, I’ve seen mixed reviews too! Some people just think it’s okay while others loved it. Do you have a copy of Finnikin already? If you do, let’s do a readalong with Janice. πŸ™‚

  3. oh, i have both those editions πŸ™‚ we have a new jellicoe cover, too, so it is cool your friend managed to find an original edition πŸ™‚ sounds like you have good freinds πŸ˜‰

    also, LOVED your post on Carla’s blog (just popped over there, finally finding time to visit some blogs)

    x Nomes

    oh, AND yes, i got a book yesterday. my preorder os ‘Warm Bodies’ arrived! I am most excited for it ~ but not sure if I will save it up for December or not? (I have a few netgalleys to get to first…)

    • Oooh thanks for that info, Nomes! I love that my friend found the original Jellicoe edition. I wonder why the size is different from all the other Aussie YA novels that I have? It’s bigger, more like a trade paperback.

      Thanks for checking out my guest post over at Carla’s blog, I had a lot of fun talking about the novels that I enjoyed reading from your country. πŸ™‚ If we weren’t talking about YA, I could mentioned Liane Moriarty too.

      Hope you enjoy reading Warm Bodies! It’s not that long so I think you can get through that fast. I haven’t read a NetGalley book in a while, maybe I should work on that.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

