Want Books: Froi of the Exiles

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I love love love Melina Marchetta. I think she’s the queen of Aussie YA and both Jellicoe Road and The Piper’s Son are included in my list of favorite books. So even though I haven’t read Finnikin of the Rock, I really want to get a copy of its sequel Froi of the Exiles. I want the Aussie edition because I like the cover design a lot more than its US counterpart. And I have a friend who came home from Australia and he was able to get a copy of Finnikin’s Aussie edition for me. Unfortunately, Froi was out of stock. I’ll probably order it from Fishpondworld as soon as I get a shiny, new credit card (I had my old one cancelled).

Here’s the summary from Melina Marchetta’s website:

Three years after the curse on Lumatere was lifted, Froi has found his home … or so he believes. Fiercely loyal to the Queen and Finnikin, Froi has been taken roughly and lovingly in hand by the Guard sworn to protect the royal family, and has learned to control his quick temper with a warrior’s discipline. But when he is sent on a secretive mission to the kingdom of Charyn, nothing could have prepared him for what he finds in its surreal royal court. Soon he must unravel both the dark bonds of kinship and the mysteries of a half-mad princess in this barren and mysterious place.

It is in Charyn that he will discover there is a song sleeping in his blood … and though Froi would rather not, the time has come to listen.

Have you any of you read Finnikin or Froi? What did you guys think of Melina Marchetta’s fantasy novels? And what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Becs of Wicked InkSweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs

17 thoughts on “Want Books: Froi of the Exiles

  1. The Australian cover is so much better, it makes me want to cry. I’m still not willing to fork over the extra money for it though. So I will wait until the less attractive and less expensive for me version comes out here in March.

    I really liked Finnikin. It has a lot of characters, there’s a lot of traveling, lots of violence like a typical epic fantasy, but it also has all of Marchetta’s trademarks as well. Including a hero who is flawed but so easy to love. I’m interested in reading Froi because he is not all that likable of a guy in the first book. He is improving toward the end…but still. Long way too go to redeem him completely. I trust that Marchetta can do it though. (And I’ve heard from people who have read it that she does and does it well.)

    • That’s how I felt about The Piper’s Son – I liked the Aussie edition a lot more than the US hardcover but I wasn’t willing to shell out the extra money for it (and why did it take so long to get published in the US?) but now it looks like I might end up ordering it from Fishpondworld because I still want it. LOL so might as well get Froi’s Aussie edition.

      Thanks for the feedback about Finnikin! Good to know that you enjoyed reading it. I haven’t read it because I know it’s different from Marchetta’s other novels although she’s pretty much an auto-buy author for me so I know I’ll get around to it eventually.

  2. I didn’t know Marchetta wrote fantasy. (I just got Saving Francesca!). Ever since I finished Jaclyn Moriarty’s Secret Assignments, the Aussies have been in my radar. But most of what I’ve been seeing from them are contemporary YAs, hardly any fantasy. Save for Garth Nix. He’s Australian right? I did enjoy Sabriel very much. Aussie + Fantasy seems like the perfect combination for me. I’ll have to put these Marchetta fantasy books on my list. πŸ˜›

    • Tin, Froi is the second book in a planned trilogy and I believe she’s working on the third novel right now. I haven’t read Marchetta’s fantasy novels but I’ve heard good things so I’m looking forward to them! Yep, Garth Nix is Australian and yes, loved Sabriel too. Juliet Marillier is also based in Australia although she writes adult historical fantasy.

      The Year of Secret Assignments is the Jaclyn Moriarty novel that I liked the most but even though I enjoyed reading it, I didn’t love it like so many other bloggers did. I kind of like her sister Liane Moriarty’s books more (which are women’s fiction instead of YA). But there are a excellent Aussie YA novels out there! I actually wrote a guest post for that, will post a link here as soon as it’s up. πŸ™‚

      • Oh, her sister is an author too? Very cool. I’ll put Liane on my list as well. And Juliet Marillier. Thanks for the recommendations! I just put up a post on Crown Duel, a book that I enjoyed and heard about from you. So I know I’ll most likely enjoy books you recommend. πŸ˜›
        I will be sure to check out your guest post link. πŸ˜›

      • You can check out my review of Liane Moriarty’s What Alice Forgot here. And my reviews of Juliet Marillier’s novels here. Both of them are favorite authors of mine. πŸ™‚

        Really, you read Crown Duel? Excellent! Another favorite. I linked to the guest post in my latest post.

  3. Pingback: Aussie Guest Post and IMM « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. I read Finnikin a couple of months ago and really liked it – but didn’t love it like the other three Marchetta books I’ve already read. But still, a worthwhile read – I hope you get to read it soon!

    I like the Aussie cover of Froi too, but will most likely get the US one to match my copy of Finnikin (besides, it’s cheaper…lol).:)

    • Oh it slipped my mind that you’ve read Finnikin. Aww really, you didn’t love it? I was hoping I’d love it just as much as Piper or Jellicoe but then again, Melina Marchetta is already an auto-buy author for me so I’m going to read it no matter what.

      That’s why I want the Aussie edition, I want it to match with the first book! The US edition won’t come out until March next year, right? Sigh, I don’t know if I should wait for it or just order the Aussie edition from Fishpondworld.

      • Maybe it’s just me? But I hope you will love it, a lot of the reviewers I follow on Goodreads gave it 5 stars.

        Maybe you can try reading parts of Finnikin first to see if you will like it before ordering? But yeah, definitely get the Aussie edition if/when you decide to buy.:)

      • No, it’s not just you. I’ve seen mixed reviews for Finnikin so I really don’t know how I’ll feel about it, especially since I read a lot of YA fantasy.

        Hey, you have a point there. I should probably wait and see how I’ll feel about Finnikin before I decide to get the sequel because it’s not that cheap. I’m going to read it soon in a readalong with Holly and Janice. πŸ™‚

  5. When I discovered this meme I was so happy. There are so many books I want to read that are out and it’s great beaing able to share. It’s also good being able to discover books that are already published and available.
    Becs @ Wicked Ink

    • Becs, I didn’t know you’ve made several Want Books posts! I added your latest one to the roundup in this post. Yeah, I wanted to make a meme similar to Waiting on Wednesday but features books that are already out instead of those that are yet to be released.

  6. Oh, I also forgot, I REALLY want to read Melina’s new book! I loved, absolutely loved Finnikin of the Rock. So I’m with you on this one! definitely on my wish list. I’ve read several of her other novels too, I do enjoy her writing style and narratives.
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Good to know that you loved Finnikin! That makes me more excited to read it. I’m planning to read it soon in a readalong with some blogger friends. πŸ™‚ I’ve read all of Marchetta’s contemporary novels but I haven’t read her fantasy ones.

  7. oh, i hope you get a chance to read it soon. it took me 6 days to read it (i did 100 pages a day ~ and you have to concentrate in parts) ~ you can read Finnikin now, which you wait. Even though it is a series, a bit of space between the two wouldnt matter, it was very easy to fall back into the world and remember the previous world-building, etc.

    • Thanks for the feedback, Nomes! Janice, Holly and I are doing a readalong of Finnikin next week or the week after that. Really looking forward to reading it. Hope I can get a credit card soon so I can try ordering from Fishpondworld. I want to get this one and an Aussie edition of Piper. Or maybe I should wait and see what I’ll feel about Finnikin first.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

