Chachic's Book Nook

Shoot That Book: New Necklace

12 Comments

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

I posted about bookish necklaces a couple of months ago and I bought a new one from Forever21 that I think can be included in the pile even though it’s not directly connected with books. Check it out, the man in the illustration is holding the pendant in his hands:

I love what’s written on the pendant – “Create. Imagine. Inspire.” – because I think those words are applicable to reading although I would have loved it more if the word “read” was included. It’s not obvious but the words are written in purple so it’s cuter in person. Here’s a closer look (and yes, I placed the pendant right beside the word “book” for this shot):

I love accessories – necklaces, earrings and bracelets – and I think I’d be tempted to buy literary-related items whenever I come across them. It’s another retail weakness aside from books.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

12 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: New Necklace

  1. I love this necklace too! Agreed, it can definitely be related to books (both writing and reading), but is great for my work, too!

  2. AAAHHHH! THE PERILOUS GARD! IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME EVER!!

    • I kind of didn’t read the rest of the entry because I was too busy geeking out. Ooops.

    • I was waiting for someone to comment about the book that I used as background for this picture and look, that was the only thing you noticed. 😛 I’m only in the first few chapters but I’m glad I’m finally reading this since I bought my copy in 2007.

  3. Pretty! I’ve been looking for a book pendant for a while now but it’s kind of elusive. Or maybe I’m just too cheap and I refuse to look in more expensive shops. Hm, now to add that kind of necklace on my Christmas wish list. 😀

    • Yeah, bookish accessories are elusive. Some of the ones that I have were customized by Multiply sellers. But this one wasn’t that expensive at just P245, which is a lot cheaper than necklaces from Accessorize. Although F21 runs out of stocks fairly quickly so I don’t think they’d still have this by December. 😛

  4. Oh, purple letters! That would be striking. Speaking of bookish necklaces, I saw this link to a DIY tutorial for a knockoff of this stacked book necklace from Anthropologie on Tumblr the other day (@f***yeahbookarts). Isn’t it so chic? I’m inspired. I’m totally going to make it. Maybe as a gift, but maybe just for me. 😀

    • That Anthropologie necklace is pretty! I’m sure you can follow the DIY tutorial and come up with your own version, I remember how you made the book clutch. That would be awesome. You should keep it for yourself though and maybe just make another one as a gift. 😀

  5. Hey, it’s Richard Cufari’s illustrations for the Perilous Gard! That’s Randall, isn’t it? Glad to see that you’re finally reading the book. I still have a soft spot for Christopher Heron even after all these years. 🙂

    I think my sister might have that pendant. It looks really familiar.

    • Why am I not surprised that you know the artist for this book? Yep, it’s Randal. Just went past the point in the book with this illustration. I haven’t had much time to read this weekend because I wasn’t feeling well so I mostly slept.

      LOL ask her if she got it from Forever21.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

