Wonderstruck Friday

Several blogging buddies already posted about the cover for Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore but I just wanted to share the news here on the blog. I loved both Graceling and Fire so Kristin Cashore is definitely an auto-buy author for me. I have the US hardcovers for both so I’ll be getting the edition with the cover pictured above to match those two. I love the colors used for the design and I’m really curious what the keys are for. Bitterblue will be released on May 1, 2012. Learn more about it here and here.

Next, I want to talk about a book that I recently got. Sigh, I know I keep saying that I’m trying to limit my book purchases but remember how lovely The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick was? Well, on my way home from work today, I dropped by Fully Booked and saw a copy of the author’s latest book, Wonderstruck. I stood there for several minutes, trying to decide if I should buy the book or not (take note that it was the only copy in that branch). Finally decided to go ahead and get it because it’s a steal for just P699 (Hugo is still P999, I think). So let me share pictures of this beautiful book… here’s the cover:

Pretty, right? And here are sample illustrations inside:

Look, Hugo’s happy to have a companion:

I think it’s a pretty good buy because of all the illustrations included in the book. Like Hugo, I believe the illustrations go hand in hand with the text in terms of telling the story – to quote one of the blurbs at the back of the book “like a silent film on paper”. What’s your most recent impulse buy? Share so I won’t feel so bad about not having much control when it comes to buying books!

23 thoughts on “Wonderstruck Friday

  1. Both Bitterblue and Wonderstruck look so pretty. And this post just reminded me that I should read Graceling, Fire and The Invention of Hugo Cabret really soon.:)

    Haven’t bought anything lately since I couldn’t go out of the house much.:( But don’t feel bad about getting Wonderstruck, it’s currently priced at $17.99 on Amazon, so it was a really good buy for you.:)

    • You haven’t read Kristin Cashore?! I didn’t know that! Oh I really hope you’ll get to her soon. And I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll love her books just as much as I did.

      Were you able to buy anything today? πŸ˜› Yay, thanks for making me feel better about by impulse buy. I now believe that it’s a really good buy. Maybe the price will increase in their next batch of orders since it’s more expensive in other stores?

      • Yes, I haven’t read Kristin Cashore! I’ll make it a point to make Graceling my next Fantasy read.:)

        I only bought Trese 4 during the launch yesterday. I was hoping to get Wonderstruck too because of this post, but it wasn’t meant to be.:( I’m planning to go to Fort this week to check out the Fully Booked sale (it’s still ongoing right?) and hopefully grab a copy of Wonderstruck.:)

      • Yes, please do! Would love to know what you think of that. πŸ™‚

        Were you able to get your copies signed? LOL I have no idea if there’s still a sale in Fully Booked. You can ask on Twitter to make sure. They said that they have lots of copies of Wonderstruck there.

  2. The Bitterblue cover is really pretty! I can’t wait for it to come out – every time Kristin Cashore posted on her blog, I hoped it was news on the release date for the book.

    • Me too! I kept waiting for announcements and I’m glad she finally got the go signal to post about it. It’s definitely one of my most anticipated titles in 2012!

    • LOL I’m really sorry I haven’t been helping you with your book buying ban! I’m actually jealous that you can control your book purchases. How can you resist the temptation? Tell me your secret!

  3. Yay Bitterblue cover! So excited for this one!

    And wow, those illustrations. Want. Lately I’ve been wanting illustrated books and I always feel like books like that should cost more. Now I’m wanting that, too.

    LOL, you know my most recent impulse buy – Daughter of Smoke and Bone! Just started it last night and I like Karou already. THAT, and I want to go to Prague. Can’t wait to read more of this. πŸ™‚

    • Definitely going to pre-order that! Or maybe get it from Fully Booked since that would be faster.

      I love books with illustrations, they’re so pretty. You should read Hugo and Wonderstruck since you’re into illustrated novels lately, I have a feeling you’ll like them. πŸ™‚ You can always check out an open copy when you drop by the bookstore so you can decide if you like the books enough to buy your own copies.

      Yay, I’m glad you’re liking Karou! I’m going to wait and see what you think of the whole book. Yep, that book made me want to go to Prague. I have a friend who’s there right now and I requested a postcard. πŸ˜›

  4. I haven’t had any recent impulse buys but after seeing Wonderstruck, I might just lose that control. Haha. πŸ™‚ Bitterblue looks amazing. And I haven’t even gotten around reading Fire yet. One of the keys remind me of the pendant my sister has. I’ll make her look for the other two, so that I can have a book related object.:) Oh, you had a post on necklaces right? I wanted to ask where you got the Beauty and the Beast necklace, the one with Belle and the transformed Beast.

    • Tin, have you read Hugo? It uses the same format as Wondestruck – lots of illustrations mixed with the text.

      Ooh you’re in for a treat if you haven’t read Fire yet. Some people say that it’s better than Graceling but I love them both. LOL looking for a necklace with keys as pendants should be easy, I’ve been seeing a lot of them lately. I had that Beauty and the Beast necklace made, sent the design to a Multiply seller who was willing to print out personalized designs. Can’t remember the name of the store though. 😦

      • Yes, I’ve read Hugo which got me hooked on Selznick and will possibly put a hole in my pocket. But his illustrations are really amazing, a work of art, which would make up for the selling price.

        I got my hardcover Graceling from Booksale, I keep waiting for them to have a hardcover Fire because I want my Cashore books to match :P. I couldn’t shell out anymore cash for a hardcover at regular bookstore prices. Now that you mentioned that some say it’s better than Graceling..I just might….no…lalala…humming myself out of buying! πŸ™‚

        That’s okay, I’ll just browse through the multiply marketplace for customized necklaces. πŸ˜›

      • You’ve read Hugo so Wondestruck is probably a a must buy for you. πŸ™‚ I was surprised that the latter is a lot cheaper than the former in Fully Booked. I wonder if they made a mistake in pricing? Because it’s more expensive in other bookstores (like NBS according to Celina).

        I have the US hardcovers of Kristin Cashore’s books too. I asked a friend who went to the States to get me Graceling since it wasn’t initially available here. I got Fire from Fully Booked. πŸ™‚ The UK cover for Fire is really pretty though and I was tempted to get but I wanted to have matching editions.

        Sorry, I haven’t logged into my Multiply account in ages. I don’t even know if I can still remember my password.

    • So excited for you to get your own copy! You really can’t help but take pictures of Brian Selznick’s novels. You do know it’s partly your fault why I decided to buy this, right? πŸ˜› We kept talking about it on Twitter and that encouraged me to grab this.

  5. I LOVE the companion shot – how ingenius of you. πŸ™‚ Now I want to own both books just for that. I’ve seen Wonderstruck around and I’m always tempted but it’s so expensive.Plus I haven’t even read HUGO so I should probably do that first.

    Yay for Bitterblue too! I’m intrigued by the keys now, especially because Kristin Cashore had to be so tight-lipped about them.

    • I just had to take that picture when I saw those two faces peeking out of the back cover. πŸ˜› I knew the illustrations would lure you in. And you did say you were planning to read Hugo before the movie came out. Maybe you can borrow both from the library if you’re not sure if you want to buy your own copies?

      The designs of Kristin Cashore’s covers have been relevant to the stories so far so I’m curious what those keys mean. I guess we’ll find out when May 2012 comes.

  6. Pingback: One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four… And Five « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

