Filipino ReaderCon Audio and Video Coverage

The first ever Filipino ReaderCon was held last September 14 during the Manila International Book Fair. If you were able to attend, please drop by the ReaderCon website to give feedback. For those who weren’t able to go, there are audio and video files that you can check out to find out what happened during the event. Again, feel free to drop by the Filipino ReaderCon website for the video links.

Audio files were uploaded by Charles Tan in his blog:

Please listen to the audio files or watch the videos if you want to learn more about book clubs and book blogging here in the Philippines. I’m embedding the first video for the book blogger panel here:

I initially didn’t want to post this, I don’t know why but watching myself on video makes me cringe (ever wonder why I’ve never posted vlogs here?). However, promoting the ReaderCon and Filipino readers in general is always a good thing. πŸ™‚ So enjoy and please leave a comment to let me know what you guys think.

8 thoughts on “Filipino ReaderCon Audio and Video Coverage

  1. I love what you said about the blogging community and about finding people who understand your love for books in general and for certain authors.
    Your panel seemed to be a lot of fun, love that there was so much laughter and that people really enjoyed their time.

    • Oh yay, Sabrina, you watched it! I wasn’t sure if it would be as interesting to international blog friends. Some of us used Filipino while speaking, I hope it wasn’t too confusing? Glad you enjoyed hearing what I had to say, I really feel like blogging is all about community. For me, it’s about reaching out to fellow readers and chatting about the books that you read.

  2. A few days back, I’ve seen a clip of Jzhun at Facebook. I tracked the videos at YouTube watched them. It’s great that somebody “camcorded” the event for the benefit of those who were not there or those who were utterly late. πŸ˜€

  3. I whined about not being able to make it, on my last filipino friday meme post. πŸ™‚ It looks like I griped for nothing. Although being there in person would be a different experience, still I’ll take what I’m given. I’m so glad you guys made videos of the event and posted it! In a way, watching the videos made me feel like I was there.

    I agree when you said about having friends who read but not really the same genres that you like. Some of my friends read but they don’t go into the details like you said or go all crazy about books like I do. So, thank heavens for the book blogging community and readercon! πŸ˜›

    • Tin, too bad you weren’t able to attend the ReaderCon! But yes, watching the videos is like listening to Carljoe and the panelists in the comfort of your own home. We just missed Charles’ blog story because the battery ran out and that was recorded in another device but I’m sure it will be uploaded soon. πŸ™‚

      I have a lot of friends who read but we rarely read the same books. When we do and someone brings it up, we mostly get to say passing comments like “it was really good” and “I liked it” and that’s it. We don’t get to rant or rave about the books like we do in the blogosphere.

  4. I found myself watching the video again. It was such a very informative and enjoyable day from start to finish (and even in the cab ride home). I’m pretty sure I answered the feedback form already but seeing it now makes me doubt myself. (Ulyanin na.) Is there a way for me to check if I had?

    • LOL I tried watching it again but I keep cringing when I see myself on video. Maybe I can do it later on? I’m so happy we finally got to meet in person, Chris! You know I love your blog and we’ve been chatting about books ever since I discovered Ficsation.

      As for the feedback form, I think you can ask Honey about it? She came up with it so she probably knows who answered.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

