Shoot That Book: No Electricity = More Reading Time

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

What do you do when power is out because of a typhoon? Read with the help of a book light, of course! On my Kindle is Until There Was You by Kristan Higgins and the book behind it is Reader and Raelynx by Sharon Shinn. How crazy does it get when there’s a strong typhoon over here? Trees, branches, rooftops and debris start flying around. Major roads are flooded. Power is out so trains won’t work too. They let us go home early on Tuesday because of all of these so when I got home and there was no electricity, there wasn’t anything else I could do except for my top three favorite activities: read, eat and sleep.

11 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: No Electricity = More Reading Time

  1. We’re lucky that we got electricity back at 5pm, so I was able to work from home that night. I remember going home at 3am and waking up at 5 because of the winds and then couldn’t fall asleep after. I ended up sleeping almost all day through the brownout.

    But brownouts are very fun times to read, don’t you think? Because there’s really nothing else to do. I used to read under a flashlight when I had no book lights yet, and I didn’t care if my eyesight gets worse.

    BTW, what is that book light? Is it good? The one I’m using is that big white one on display in Fully Booked. Kind of awkward when I was using with my Kindle case. When I have spare money I’m splurging on a Lightwedge. Haha.

    • 5pm? Lucky! Ours came back on late at night, past 10pm or so? So I wasn’t able to continue working when I got home. I didn’t mind that we didn’t have electricity though because it was a cold afternoon/night so I didn’t need the electric fan.

      Yep, brownouts are perfect for reading as long as you have enough light to read. LOL I would have used flashlights or candles if I didn’t have a book light as well.

      Not sure what’s the brand of this book light but it’s the one that Kuya Doni gave during the first Goodreads meet up. I lost the box and the light itself doesn’t have a brand so I’m not sure what it’s called. I have the white one from Fully Booked too! I got it as a gift from a friend but it died. 😦 It won’t charge anymore when I plug the USB on the computer. What’s a Lightwedge?

      When my mom saw me reading using the book light, she gave me the emergency light and said that I could use it to read.

      • Blooey blogged about the Lightwedge here:
        http://sumthinblue.com/harry-potter-lumos-book-light/

        There’s a non-Harry Potter version but it costs around 1000+. But I think it’s better for reading. πŸ™‚

        My white book light is still alive (doubles as a flashlight sometimes, haha), but one of the 6 LED lights won’t turn on. It flickers sometimes when I shake it but usually it’s just 5. LOL. That’s why I stick to my iPod when reading in the dark. The backlight strains my eyes, but then I think I always fall asleep first before I feel the strain.

      • Hehe. Would you believe I didn’t get to experience a brownout at home last Tuesday? Because our office didn’t let us go home early, and by the time I got home the electricity was back already?

        Nice booklight. Though I prefer the ones with flexible goosenecks myself. Mine is a Mighty Bright Xtraflex 2 (pink!) that I got from Booksale, same as the one blooey uses. Wanted to get another as a backup but they were all out and they never restocked afterwards. I have a lightwedge that I got off ebay as well, but I haven’t really used it that much and I find that if the acrylic gets scratched (like mine has), the scratches really, really stand out against the LED light.

        BTW, (for Tina), Handyman in Trinoma (the one that has a saizen in it) was selling the big and small Lightwedges at 50% off last time I was there. The big one is just 1000 pesos, down from 1499. You might want to check it out.

      • Tina, the Lightwedge looks awesome! I want one too. Might be tempted to get that if I see it on sale. I really don’t understand why my book light isn’t working anymore 😦 It just stopped charging and since it’s a gift, I don’t have the receipt to have it replaced or something.

        Kim, lucky you! I found out the next day that leaving early on Tuesday means a half-day leave for us. If I had known, I would have stayed and just finished my shift. Thanks for the heads up about the Lightwedge sale! But you don’t recommend it? I have a feeling mine would get scratches, I try to be careful with my stuff but I’m not that OC. And hey, how are you liking Daughter of Smoke and Bone so far?

      • True Value pala, not Handyman. About the lightwedge, the scratches don’t really detract from your reading, but you do see them if you look really close. Also, I thinlk the best position for it would be sitting up in bed so you can support the book. You can use it with the book laid flat, but It just feels a bit more awkward to me that way.

      • Thanks for the feedback! Hmm the lightwedge looks really cool but I don’t think that can be used while reading in bed? I’ll try to check it out when I get the chance to drop by True Value.

  2. Yikes, what time did you guys get electricity back?

    And same question as Tina, what is your book light? Is that the one you received as a gift? I still don’t have one, so I’m going to start looking around.:)

    • LOL I answered your questions in my reply to Tina’s comment. πŸ˜› Did you lose electricity in your area? Yep, it’s a good idea to invest in a book light for situations like this.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

