In My Mailbox: Laini Taylor Edition

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

So I know I said I’m trying to limit my book purchases but I couldn’t stop myself from buying Laini Taylor’s Dreamdark books, which were my Want Books pick last week. I loved Lips Touch and Daughter of Smoke and Bone and they’re both included in my best of 2011 pile. Since Laini Taylor has become an auto-buy author for me, I decided to grab copies of both Blackbringer and Silksinger. I’ve heard good things about these two books from fellow book bloggers and that has made me really excited to read this. And look, they have illustrations from Laini’s husband, Jim di Bartolo too:

Pretty, right? Thank you, Fully Booked, for having stocks of Laini Taylor’s books. Yay, I now have copies of all four of her books, just need to wait for my finished copy of Daughter of Smoke and Bone and I’ll have them all in hardcover format. Yes, I’m a fangirl. πŸ˜›

What about the rest of you, what books did you get this week?

20 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: Laini Taylor Edition

    • I’ve heard that copies are already available in bookstores. I got a notification from Book Depository that my pre-order is on its way so it got released early. Hope you get to read it soon!

  1. Brilliant book purchases this week! I have only read Laini Taylor’s Daughter Of Smoke & Bone and Lips Touch, so I’m really curious about these books as well. Love the illustrations and that’s awesome that you will have all her books in hardcover. It will be hard to wait for the sequel to Daughter Of but at least you have her previous books to distract you πŸ™‚
    Happy reading!

    • I think it’s a sign that an author has become a favorite when I have hardcovers of her books. πŸ˜€ Maybe I should take a picture and feature them in a Shoot That Book post. It really is a long wait until the next book in the series but I’m thankful that it didn’t end on a cliffhanger and that I’ll be able to read these Dreamdark books while waiting.

  2. Oooh, you bought them already! I’m going to order Lips Touch and Daughter of Smoke and Bone since so many people seem to be raving about those books.:)

    I got a couple of books this week but I’ve been too lazy to take pictures.:) Will post my IMM soon.:)

    • I actually had these transferred to the Trinoma branch from the Fort branch of Fully Booked. I couldn’t wait to get copies when I found out that the publisher stopped printing these books. I probably should have mentioned that in my post. I’m just glad that Fully Booked still has copies.

      Yay, you’re going to read Laini Taylor! Let me know when you get around to reading them. You should make an IMM post! I’d like to see what you got. πŸ™‚

    • They are beautiful! I don’t think my picture above does them justice. I’ll try to take a better picture next time. I had no idea they had illustrations inside. I wanted to get hardcovers so my editions will match. And can I just say that you influenced me to buy these? πŸ˜›

      • I do envy your complete hardcover collection! πŸ˜‰ I kind of like the colors on the paperback of Blackbringer better, but such pretty books should be in hardcover!

        I really hope you like them if I influenced you then. I suspect you will. They’re not quite the same as her other books, but they are still very good. Silksinger blew me away when I read it – that’s the book that made me realize Laini Taylor was truly something special as an author.

      • I agree, I like the Blackbringer paperback cover more! I think the greens in the background look better than the orange in the hardcover. I was tempted to get that because of that (and of course because it’s cheaper) but like I said, I wanted matching editions. πŸ™‚

        I have a feeling I’ll enjoy them too! No need to worry. I’m particularly excited to read Silksinger because both you and Charlotte think it’s great. I’ve added both of these in my “bump up the TBR pile” so I hope I can get to them soon.

  3. I have been so obsessed with getting Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I didn’t even realize she had any other books. Dang…now I’m going to have to get them! My TBR pile is growing a hundred times faster than I’m able to read the books on it! Great IMM this week!

    My IMM

    • Yep, she’s written other books but Daughter of Smoke and Bone has been getting a lot of publicity (yay for her publisher) so that’s what most people are aware of. I have a feeling more will be interested in her other books after they finish reading Daughter.

  4. Awesome! That was fast. πŸ™‚ Ooh, I didn’t think about the pretty illustrations inside as well as the writing. I really must get to these soon. Can’t wait to hear what you think!

    • I knew it was locally available so I called the local bookstore and had copies transferred to a branch that’s more accessible. I was worried I’d have a hard time looking for copies later on because they’re now out of print. 😦 But ahhh, so many books in the TBR pile now! I should stop buying new ones until I finish reading what I have (or at least what I’ve recently acquired).

  5. You know what’s really funny? I bought my first two Laini Taylor books at Fully Booked (the one at Fort Bonifacio)! And they were Blackbringer and Silksinger… *cue twilight zone music*

    • Thea, that’s hilarious! Fully Booked Fort is my favorite branch. These books are from there and I just had them transferred because Fort isn’t near my house. When are you coming back here? We should meet up! πŸ˜€

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

