Shoot That Book: French Macarons

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Got a notification from Book Depository today that my pre-order for Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins will be dispatched soon. So I thought it would be a good idea to feature its companion novel, Anna and the French Kiss, in this week’s Shoot That Book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Anna last year and was tickled that French macarons were mentioned in the book because I’m a big fan of those. Here’s Anna with some macarons:

The macarons in the picture above are from Petite Patisserie but I like the ones from Empire more:

My favorite flavors are hazelnut, salted caramel and triple chocolate. I’m thrilled that French macarons are becoming more common here in Manila even though they’re still expensive. At least I can have some from time to time. Have you ever tried a French macaron before? What did you think of it?

19 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: French Macarons

  1. One day.. I will read ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS. One day.

    I don’t think there is such a thing as a cheap macaroon. They’re expensive here too (well in the city I think they’re something crazy like $4 each. For a little itty bitty one! Highway robbery!)

    • You haven’t read it? *jaw drops in astonishment* LOL I have a feeling you didn’t want to read it because of all the hype. While it was in my best of 2010 list (I had 20 books in that pile), it didn’t make my absolute favorites list. I really enjoyed reading it but I had some problems with the latter half of the book.

      $4?! That’s half of a paperback already. The Empire box cost P390 so that’s around $8.50? Okay, I should be happy with that pricing. Those macarons weren’t that small, I’ll include my face next time for scale. πŸ˜›

  2. That was one of my failures when I was in Paris — I didn’t get the chance to eat macarons! RAR. I wanted to, but we had no time to go, and after we got down from Sacre-Coeur, the shops were closed. 😦 Sigh. My friends who stayed longer got to taste it though, and they promised a macaron date with me while we pretend that the ones we’ll eat are actually from Paris. LOL.

    But yes they are expensive. I remember seeing some in McDonald’s in Madrid and they were about 0.75 euros each. :/ And they’re very, very small.

    I may try ordering the Empire one you mentioned. The price seems reasonable enough — I just have to find someone who’ll split it with me. πŸ˜€

    • Tina, FAIL! 😦 My friend’s brother brought a whole box of macarons from Paris when he went there and he said that when you convert the price, it was like P5,000 for the box. So expensive! You’re better off trying the ones that are locally available because even if they’re not cheap, they’re more affordable than the ones available abroad.

      Macarons in McDonalds? LOL it’s really fun to check out McDo whenever you visit other countries because they’re menu varies. We’re the only country that has McDo fried chicken.

      Yes, try Empire! Or Bizu if that’s easier for you to get. Just get a whole box from Empire and share that with your family. πŸ˜› I bought a box and shared it with my friends.

      • So I was talking to a friend earlier who also came from Paris recently and he told me that macarons are expensive there, like 10 euros each. O_O Now I’m actually kind of happy that I didn’t get to buy any. Crazy expensive price. o_O

      • 10 euros?! That’s the price of a hardcover already! LOL so funny how I keep measuring the value of items using books. Like I said, you can just give them a try here.

  3. I always love your “Shoot that Book” posts. My only question is how you managed to restrain yourself from eating one or more of those macaroons before taking the shot! πŸ™‚ You can get macaroons all over the place here–I don’t think they are very expensive either.

    • I’m glad you enjoy checking out my Shoot That Book posts! I haven’t missed a week yet. πŸ™‚ LOL I’m used to taking pictures of my food before I eat them, I don’t know why. I guess for documentation purposes? Most Filipinos do that. When you see our Facebook albums, they’re full of food pictures. Jealous that macarons are so common over there! They’re not that easy to find over here but still, I’m just glad they’re available.

  4. Darn it, now I’m craving for French macarons! I like the ones from Empire better than Bizu – especially the ones with chocolate.

    I can’t wait for Lola! I wonder whose Post Office will be the most efficient and deliver the book first.:)

    • Bizu has mint chocolate and I love that flavor. They used to have a raspberry chocolate flavor but it’s no longer available. Plus, I think they were the ones who first popularized macarons here?

      Hey, you have a point! Let’s wait and see who gets Lola first. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Laura Florand’s Chocolate Series | Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

