Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: Filipino ReaderCon Edition

26 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

Hey, look at that, my last IMM post was in July! That makes me happy because that means I’m kind of successful in limiting my book purchases. I got a couple of books from the Filipino ReaderCon last Wednesday so I decided to make an IMM post this weekend. I was able to receive, buy and borrow books from several people and I listed them all below. Thank you to everyone mentioned here!

Books Received a.k.a. free books YAY:
Huntress by Malinda Lo thanks to the Filipino ReaderCon
Deep Secret by Diana Wynne Jones thanks to Chris of Ficsation
Of Bees and Mist by Erick Setiawan thanks to Celina of The Bookkeeper

Books Bought from Celina’s Books and Magazines:
The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarty
Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty
Wicked Game by Jeri Smith-Ready
Bad to the Bone by Jeri-Smith Ready

Books Borrowed:
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart borrowed from Tina of One More Page
Reader and Raelynx and Fortune and Fate by Sharon Shinn both borrowed from Celina of The Bookkeeper

What about the rest of you, what books did you get in your mailbox this week? Have you read any of the books in my pile? Let me know in the comments section!

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

26 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: Filipino ReaderCon Edition

  1. Ohhh, Deep Secret is all kinds of fun! and I loved Huntress. I hope you enjoy them too, and all your other books!

    • Charlotte, I was thrilled when Chris handed me copy of Deep Secret because that was my Want Books pick a few weeks ago and I knew that it was out of print.

      I don’t have to read Ash before I read Huntress, right?

  2. I hope you like The Disreputable History 🙂 And all those Liane Moriarty books! They look (and sound) really interesting. 🙂

    • I hope I’ll like it too! Aaron kept bugging me to read it, you know how he gets about books that he likes. I’ve been wanting to read Liane Moriarty’s other books ever since I finished What Alice Forgot. That’s one of my favorite reads this year.

  3. Hi, Chachic! It was so nice to see you at the ReaderCon! Congratulations to you and Honey for the wonderful event! I had so much fun!

  4. You got some great books Chachic! My mother in law has Of Bees and Mist and it has always intrigued me, so I will definitely look forward to your review!

    • Stephanie, I’ve been meaning to read more magic realism since I enjoyed reading Sarah Addison Allen’s books. I’ve heard good things about Of Bees and Mist and that made me more curious. Will let you know what I think when I get around to reading it!

  5. I’ve been curious about Huntress for a while now, so I’m definitely looking forward to seeing your review of that. Actually, I haven’t read any of those books, so for sure I will be waiting for your reviews of all of them.:)

    Did you have a hard time bringing home all your books?

    • LOL I have no idea when I’ll get around to reading these books but you’ll know what I think of them because I’ll be posting reviews. I’m excited to read all of the books in this pile, wish I read faster so I could get to them sooner.

      My eco bag was heavy but it was okay since I didn’t have to commute or walk around. 😛

  6. What a huge loot! Sounds like the Filipino ReaderCon was a reader’s dream. WOW 🙂

    • I know, I rarely get this many books in one day. Like I said, I’m trying NOT to buy books because I still have a lot on my TBR pile but sometimes, I just can’t help myself.

      The ReaderCon was a lot of fun! 🙂

  7. DEEP SECRET! *loves with a smooshy love*

  8. Enjoy your books! Is till have to finish HUNTRESS, too!

    And Diana Wynne Jones, RIP!!!!!

    • Hi Bonnie, have you read Ash? Still trying to determine if I need to read that before I start on Huntress.

      I keep meaning to read the rest of DWJ books but I haven’t found the time for them. I have the rest of the Chrestomanci books and now Deep Secret.

  9. Great books this week! Disreputable History is fantastic! Feel free to check out my IMM:

    http://reutreads.wordpress.com/2011/09/18/in-my-mailbox-17/

    Happy reading!

  10. Yay Frankie! I enjoyed that one, hope you do too. I’ve heard good things about JS-R, as well. I’ve got Shade in my arsenal. =)

    • I borrowed Frankie from Tina! Oooh let me know what you think of Shade when you get to read it. I’ve been wanting to read more adult urban fantasy ever since I fell in love with the Kate Daniels series.

  11. Some great books! The Last Anniversary looks amazing. Happy reading 🙂

  12. Hope you enjoy Deep Secret! Plus points for getting it at a convention! 😛

    • Thanks again for the copy, Chris! It’s funny that I didn’t get to buy any books from the MIBF but still managed to get a pretty good haul because of the ReaderCon. 😛

  13. congrats on all your books ~ plus on limiting your purchases 🙂

    i have hardly been buying any books either (it has been over 2 months since i bought a book!)

    x Nomes

    • Wow, you haven’t bought any books in over two months?! That’s amazing! Hmm maybe I could have pulled that off if we also had nice public libraries here. As it is, I’m just glad I’m not as crazy with the book hoarding as last year. Will try to work on it some more! 😀

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

