Want Books: Faeries of Dreamdark

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I recently read and loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (yes, I know, I need to post a review of it soon) and since I also loved Lips Touch, Laini Taylor has become an auto-buy author for me. She has two Faeries of Dreamdark books that are out right now – Blackbringer and Silksinger – and I’ve seen them in local bookstores. I haven’t bought them yet because I’ve heard that they’re written for younger audiences but my friend Kristen of Fantasy Cafe has convinced me that it would be a good idea to get copies soon. Apparently, the publisher has decided not to continue with the series and I’m worried these two books would become out of print soon.

Here’s the summary for Blackbringer from Goodreads:

When the ancient evil of the Blackbringer rises to unmake the world, only one determined faerie stands in its way. However, Magpie Windwitch, granddaughter of the West Wind, is not like other faeries. While her kind live in seclusion deep in the forests of Dreamdark, she’s devoted her life to tracking down and recapturing devils escaped from their ancient bottles, just as her hero, the legendary Bellatrix, did 25,000 years ago. With her faithful gang of crows, she travels the world fighting where others would choose to flee. But when a devil escapes from a bottle sealed by the ancient Djinn King himself, the creator of the world, she may be in over her head. How can a single faerie, even with the help of her friends, hope to defeat the impenetrable darkness of the Blackbringer?

What about the rest of you, what book is in your wishlist?

11 thoughts on “Want Books: Faeries of Dreamdark

    • They’re locally available but I kept putting off getting them because I have so many other books in the TBR pile! I’ll buy copies the next time I see them though. I’m hoping that Laini Taylor will get another publisher interested in the series once Daughter of Smoke and Bone takes off.

  1. I am so sad they aren’t publishing these anymore and am also hoping maybe someone will pick them up with all the buzz about Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Like Charlotte, I especially loved Silksinger. That’s the book that made Laini Taylor an auto buy author for me!

    • Me too, I really don’t know why the publisher decided to stop the production of these books. I heard that originally it was supposed to be a five-book story arc. Sigh, I really hope Laini Taylor manages to find another publisher to continue the series. I have a feeling a lot of readers will fall in love with Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

  2. These have been in the TBR list for ages but I’ve bumped them up since reading DoSaB. Like you I’m not sure when I’ll get to them though. Now, thanks to Charlotte and Kristen, I’m really curious about Silksinger. πŸ™‚ My library has copies of both books so I’ll probably just check them out sometime.

    • I’m going to bump them up the book-buying-priority-list (which is why I made a Want Books post about them) now that I’ve read DoSaB. I need more Laini Taylor in my life. And yes, it doesn’t hurt that both Charlotte and Kristen loved the second book. Yay, it’s good that your library has copies. You can just borrow them once the TBR pile lets you have free time to read the books.

  3. Pingback: In My Mailbox: Laini Taylor Edition « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

