Chachic's Book Nook

Recommended Filipino Books

11 Comments

Like I said in my previous post, I don’t get to read as many novels by Filipino authors as I’d like. But there are several Filipino books that I’ve enjoyed reading in the past year or so that I highly recommend to anyone who’s curious. All of these except for My Imaginary Ex are internationally available so you can read them even if you’re not based in the Philippines.

For middle grade or younger YA, I recommend Tall Story by Candy Gourlay (click on the image for my review):

For chick lit, I recommend Mina V. Esguerra’s books (again, click on the images for reviews):

I’m hoping that I’d have more recommended titles next year. I’m actually looking forward to browsing through the rest of this week’s Filipino Friday posts to see what the others recommended. Filipino Friday is the weekly meme tied to the promotion of the first Filipino Reader Conference on September 14. Just a few days away! 🙂

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “Recommended Filipino Books

  1. Wow! Thanks, Chachic! You’re so kind! Can I recommend Soledad’s Sister by Jose Dalisay … funny, oddball, and lyrical novel – a cop transporting the wrong body of an expired OFW through Manila. I’ve shared it with some neighbours here in London and they loved it – I was so desperate to have more people read it that I gave my only copy away and can’t wait to go home to Manila to buy another.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Candy! Can’t wait to read more of your work. 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation too, I’ll keep Soledad’s Sister in mind the next time I feel like reading a Filipino novel. And yay you for spreading the love for Filipino books in the UK. 😀

  2. Thank you, Chachic! And I’ve sampled Tall Story now (instant gratification yay), will look for it on my next bookstore trip.

    • Mina, I hope you get to read it soon! It’s a quick and fun read and the Philippine edition isn’t that expensive, I think it’s P250? They even include that in the bookstore sales even though it’s locally published.

  3. Oh, A middle grade/younger YA local lit! I must say there are hardly any local lit under that category. I’d love to give that a go. And a thumbs up for Mina’s books! I hope I get around getting My Imaginary and Frenemies. 😛

    • Hmm I think there are actually more middle grade or younger YA local novels than older YA. I haven’t encountered a YA book that’s similar to the more common Western YA. Feel free to let me know if you know something. 😛 Hope you get to read these books soon!

  4. I’m currently reading a beautifully written book that fits the YA mold – Banana Heart Summer by Merlinda Bobis – it’s published by Anvil over there. Fab, delicious (literally) prose.

  5. Tall Story sounds really good. I’ll add it to my to-read list. Thanks Chachic!

  6. Hi. I’d like to recommend Salitang Pinoy Tagalog Coursebook and Student’s Book for Levels 1 & 2 with Audio CD to those interested in learning our Tagalog language and culture. It very comprehensive with simple grammar explanations, lots of exercises, useful expressions that are used these days. You can learn the language independently and at your own pace. The CD recording has a natural-sounding speed to give oppurtunities for learners to listen to real communications.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

