Shoot That Book: More Paintings

Shoot That Book combines my passion for books and my tendency to become trigger happy with a camera. My lack of photography skills is compensated by my enthusiasm. Basically, I like taking pictures of books.

Remember last week’s Shoot That Book post? Well, the past weekend was a long weekend here in the Philippines and I didn’t have plans to go out-of-town so I decided to buy art materials and try my hand at painting again. Here are the results:

This one was inspired by this picture but the colors are different as well as the book cover (that one was somewhat inspired by Shannon Hale’s The Goose Girl). I know, I know, the hands look weird and I’m not even sure if it looks like the girl is sitting down but I like the bright colors.

This one was inspired by my bookshelf. It has darker colors than I originally intended but I guess I was tired from the first painting. I tried to make some of the books look like they’re part of the series and I think I managed to pull it off? Like I said, I’m not really artistic but I had a lot of fun doing this and I think it’s therapeutic to do something creative (aside from reading and blogging) from time to time.

22 thoughts on “Shoot That Book: More Paintings

    • Aww thanks, April! I’m thrilled that you think they’re pretty. I’m not really artistic either but I just do this painting stuff for fun. πŸ™‚ You should try it sometime, it’s better when you do it with a group of friends though.

    • Yay, I’m glad you like them! Because knowing you, you wouldn’t say that unless you really thought they’re pretty. πŸ˜› I’ve always wanted to do graphic design but sadly, I don’t have the skills for it. Even with painting, I’m just playing around.

    • LOL not sure if I’ll be willing to take a picture of my room because it’s always messy. I used oil paints because that’s what we used at my friend’s house but I should have gotten acrylics instead because that uses only water for the brushes or to lighten the color while oils need thinner/turpentine.

  1. Ooh, I like! Especially the last one. I used to do watercolor and I still have a bunch of supplies but I don’t feel like I have time right now. Reading and blogging take all of my free time right now. Keep painting and sharing your work with us.

    • I’m really touched by all the positive comments! I didn’t expect anyone else except for my mom to like what I’ve done. πŸ˜› Holly, I would love to see some of your watercolors! Yep, reading and blogging really take a lot of time. I’m glad I was able to this because of the long weekend though.

  2. Haha, like Aaron, I have zero talent in visual arts. But unlike him, I didn’t end up in graphic design. I leave it up to the real designers. But those paintings are cute! I am very bad with painting humans, but making book paintings shouldn’t be so hard? πŸ™‚

    • Err it depends on the kind of book painting that you want to do? πŸ˜› Did you see my first painting? I had a hard time with that just because it was the first time I tried painting. Also had a harder time with the bookshelf painting because that has more detail and I actually wanted the colors to be brighter. I don’t think I’ll be painting humans anytime soon. Maybe the next set can be landscapes or abstract paintings. πŸ™‚

  3. I’m glad you’re picking up painting! I LOOOOVE painting. Not as much as reading and writing, of course. πŸ˜›

    Oils are hard to work with, but I like working with it more than acrylic πŸ™‚ I just need to make sure I don’t use up my trusty bottles of linseed oil! πŸ˜›

    • Chris, I want to see your paintings! I’m pretty sure you’re a lot better than me. πŸ˜€ My mom actually told me that I should take up painting lessons if I want to continue with this but I told her I’m just doing it for fun.

      Oooh maybe I should get linseed oil because I hate using thinner for the oils. That’s why I’m considering getting acrylic when I run out of paints.

      • I have to be careful with thinner because I work indoors and I’m always afraid that the thinner will spill into something and leave marks on the furniture! I’m careful with linseed oil too but I don’t think it has the intensity of thinner haha. I get the ones in National.

        When people ask to see my work I always say that I’m a better writer hahaha! I feel bad for leaving my canvases with the other pieces of art in the house — halata tuloy how bad I am. XP But I love painting and sketching. Even if we’re not as skillful as we’d like to be, it’s still such a great way to express ourselves. πŸ™‚

      • I worked indoors too but I placed newspapers on the living room floor and then I used that as my painting area. The living room started to smell like thinner while I was working though so we had to open all the windows. I’ll try to search for linseed oil in National and use that if it’s not that expensive.

        I’m planning to put up my paintings in my room so they’re not displayed prominently in the house but then again, I post pictures of them here on my blog so they still get a lot of exposure. πŸ˜›

      • Nope, linseed oil’s not expensive at all. πŸ˜€ I still have a small can of thinner that I haven’t used in months — I bought it when I was working with acrylic and glass and now I have no use for it. :\

        I have paintings in my rooms too! I prop them up on those cheap easels at Daiso/Japan Home Store. But my other paintings don’t go with my room’s colors and look so I ended up placing them outside haha. Buti na lang maliit; I use the small canvases. πŸ˜›

      • Acrylic and glass? What did you paint? I don’t know why but I thought of windows when you mentioned that.

        I don’t even have easels! Maybe I should buy those too? But I was thinking I can just have the paintings framed and then hang them on my room’s walls. I used small canvases also, the ones pictured here are just 10×14.

  4. Very colorful! I’ve never tried working with oils or acrylic (unless painting designs on glass bottles using acrylic paint counts?). Maybe I should try it one of these days. Anyway, lots of art material related discussion already in the previous comments so I won’t add anything there anymore. Anyway, keep painting and keep sharing?

    • I like bright colors πŸ˜› The first time I tried working with oils was during my friend’s paint party. I just gave it another try when the long weekend came. You should try it as well, you can just buy art materials from National.

      I’m delighted with all the positive feedback. I’ll make sure to post pictures when I paint again. πŸ˜€

  5. You should paint more Chachic! The paintings are so you. Vibrant colors for your personality and books (Yey! no need for futher explanation on that one). I’m looking forward for more paintings being posted here. hehehe (Pressure) πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Ariel! LOL it’s funny that you think my paintings reflect my personality. I’ll try to do more and post pictures on the blog. I just need to have the finished ones framed so they won’t get dusty. πŸ˜›

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

