Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Kitchen Daughter

4 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Kitchen Daughter comes highly recommended by Danielle of Chick Lit Reviews and you can see her review here. It’s a magical realism novel that she recommends for fans of Sarah Addison Allen. That alone is enough reason for me to read this book. I haven’t bought a copy because I’m still trying to manage the TBR pile. Maybe I should wait for the paperback to come out before I get it. I’m really curious about the book though so I’m featuring it here today.

Here’s the summary from Jael McHenry’s website:

After the unexpected death of her parents, shy and sheltered Ginny Selvaggio, a young woman with Asperger’s Syndrome, seeks comfort in family recipes. But the rich, peppery scent of her Nonna’s soup draws an unexpected visitor into the kitchen: the ghost of Nonna herself, dead for twenty years, who appears with a cryptic warning — before vanishing like steam from a cooling dish.

A haunted kitchen isn’t Ginny’s only challenge. Her domineering sister Amanda insists on selling their parents’ house in Philadelphia, the only home Ginny has ever known. As she packs up her parents’ belongings, Ginny finds evidence of family secrets she isn’t sure how to unravel. She knows how to turn milk into cheese and cream into butter, but she doesn’t know why her mother hid a letter in the bedroom chimney, or the identity of the woman in her father’s photographs. The more she learns, the more she realizes the keys to these riddles lie with the dead, and there’s only one way to get answers: cook from her parents’ recipes, raise their ghosts, and ask them.

So I said that I usually don’t like ghost stories, right? This one doesn’t look scary though! I also loved all the foodie tidbits in Sarah Addison Allen’s books and looks like this book has something similar. I should probably have snacks on hand when I do get to read this book.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Meann of The Girl Who ReadThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

4 thoughts on “Want Books: Kitchen Daughter

  1. I remember marking this as to read after that Twitter conversation but I forgot the premise until reading your post. Very interesting! Aspergers and ghosts and food. Hopefully I’ll get to it sometime.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

