Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Deep Secret

11 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Diana Wynne Jones is well-known for her YA fantasy novels. She wrote about magic and wizards way before Harry Potter became popular and I plan to read all of the books in her backlist. I can’t remember where I got the recommendation for Deep Secret but I have a feeling it’s from Sounis (many MWT fans are also DWJ fans). It’s an out of print fantasy novel written for adults. I ordered a copy of it from Better World Books last year but sadly, it got lost in the mail. I heard from somewhere that they’re planning to reprint DWJ’s old titles but I don’t know when that’s going to happen.

Here’s the summary from DWJ’s official website:

All over the universe, Magids are at work to maintain the balance of magic, using their own talents to push the right people into doing the right things at the right time. And on Earth, the Magids are working hard to coax the world into its rightful place Ayewards, towards magic.

Rupert Venables has been the junior Magid here for only two years when his sponsor dies; it’s up to him to find a replacement. Trouble is, the most promising on his list of five names, Maree Mallory, doesn’t want anything to do with Rupert Venables. And while the junior Magid is trying to track down the other four, the fatelines are becoming dangerously entangled on more than one world and magic starts getting out of hand…

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Meann of The Girl Who ReadThe Way of the Wizard

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

11 thoughts on “Want Books: Deep Secret

  1. This is an awesome goal. I keep buying her backlog when I find it in used bookstores. I’ve been feeling the same way about older sci-fi authors like Robert Heinlein, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Connie Willis, and Ray Bradbury. I keep reading more of their stuff and I’m not gonna stop till I READ ALL TEH BOOKS!!! *shakes fist to the sky* 🙂

    Anyway, how could you not want to read a book that has a centaur looking at a hole in the wall that looks like a portal to a magic place? Who could say no to that? Psht.

    • All of my Chrestoanci books are from used bookstores. 🙂 I have the three volumes, each contains two novels. My books about Howl were purchased brand new though. Hey, I’ve never read anything by Marion Zimmer Bradley or Connie Willis but I have copies of The Firebrand and To Say Nothing of the Dog.

      I know, awesome cover, right? Very old school fantasy but it makes me curious about the story. I hope a used copy of this turns up somewhere.

  2. Wow, I’m glad to meet a Filipino book lover here in wordpress! I also love books, and like you I love fantasy genre!! ♥♥♥

  3. OH MAH WORD CHACHIC THAT COVER FREAKS ME OUT.

  4. Hey, this book was one of the few DWJ books that Natio stocked back in the day. Must unearth my copy for a re-read. I can’t even remember the story anymore…

    • Oh you have a copy of this! *jealous* I only discovered DWJ recently so it’s sad that I missed those copies in National. I hope they do reprint DWJ’s old books though so I can get copies.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

