Chachic's Book Nook

ReaderCon Filipino Friday: Introduction

14 Comments

I’m participating in the Filipino Friday memes in preparation for the Filipino Reader Conference. If you’re a Filipino reader, feel free to join the weekly meme! It’s a way for all of us to interact and to involve even those who won’t be able to make it to the actual ReaderCon event. To my blog followers not based in the Philippines, I think I’ll mostly talk about things that you already know about me but I still hope you wouldn’t mind seeing my posts. This week’s topic is a getting-to-know-you kind of thing and we basically need to introduce the reader we are. I’ve always been a fan of epic fantasy and when I started the blog, I mostly read books under that genre. But then I quickly realized through blog and Goodreads friends that there are so many awesome books from other genres and I’ve expanded my reading tastes since then. Now I read all sorts of contemporary fiction (both adult and young adult), fantasy (fairy tale retellings, historical fantasy, epic fantasy and urban fantasy although not YA paranormal romance), magic realism, a bit of sci-fi and some historical fiction. I have a list of favorites that you can view here.

My comfort reads are books by my favorite authors: Megan Whalen Turner, Robin McKinley, Sherwood Smith, Kristin Cashore, Eva Ibbotson, Elizabeth E. Wein, Juliet Marillier, Ilona Andrews and Melina Marchetta. Or if I feel like a reading slump is about to happen, I’ll pick up something fun and light by Julie James or Jennifer Crusie. Let me know if you’ve read any of their books, I love chatting about my favorite authors. 🙂

In no particular order, here are some of the best books that I’ve read in 2011:
Lips Touch: Three Times by Laini Taylor
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Unsticky by Sarra Manning
What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty
Saving June by Hannah Harrington
The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta
Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell

And before I end this post, I think the ReaderCon’s co-presenters and sponsors deserve a shout out. Thank you, Vibal Publishing House, Inc., Primetrade Asia (organizers of the Manila International Book Fair), Flipside Digital Content and Scholastic Philippines.

Other places where I can be found: Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr and Goodreads. What about the rest of you, what kind of reader are you? 🙂

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

14 thoughts on “ReaderCon Filipino Friday: Introduction

  1. I think I’ll put A Monster Calls on my list. I need more men in there. 🙂

    • I need to read more male authors too! A Monster Calls is a good introduction to Ness’ work because it’s something that I feel like I could recommend regardless of genre preferences. 🙂

  2. Ooh, Eva Ibbotson. I always see one of her books or the other in the stores, but I’ve never really gotten around to checking out any of them. Which book would you recommend to a first timer? 🙂

    • You can start with any of her young adult books since they’re all stand alones but my favorites are A Countess Below Stairs, The Reluctant Heiress and A Company of Swans. Let me know if you get around to reading her books, I’d love to know what you think. 🙂

  3. It’s really interesting to look back on the reading journey and realize that we probably won’t be reading some books now if it weren’t for someone else’s influence. I wouldn’t have picked up Juliet Marillier’s Sevenwaters if it weren’t for you!

    • I will always be thankful for recommendations from fellow bloggers. I’ve discovered so many excellent authors because of them. 🙂 Hey, really? I didn’t know that I was the one who influenced you to read the Sevenwaters series. *grins* I love Juliet Marillier, I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the books in her backlist.

  4. I have the whole “Chaos Walking” trilogy, but I still haven’t gotten around to reading it yet! I really need to free up some time.

    • Ron, hope you get to read one of Patrick Ness’ books soon! I should finish the rest of the Chaos Walking trilogy too since I loved A Monster Calls. I’m not a big fan of dystopian books though.

      • I am really looking forward to reading Ness as well, because I’ve heard nothing but praise when it comes to his work!

      • Yep, same here! I have copies of the entire trilogy but I put off reading the other two books because I didn’t fall in love with the first one. I’ve heard from other people that they’re better though. And like I said, I loved A Monster Calls and that book made Ness an auto-buy/auto-read author for me.

  5. If you want men, I’d recommend Barry Lyga’s Astonishing Adventures of Fan Boy and Goth Girl. Really great book. There’s also Jerry Spinelli.:)

    • If you want men -> Hahaha this phrase makes me laugh. Makes it seem like you’re pimping guys.

      Adding Barry Lyga’s book to my wishlist. I already have a copy of Stargirl, I just need to find the time to read it.

  6. Nice to meet again in here, Ate Chachic! It’s such a good thing to realize that regardless of the difference with what kind of readers we were when we started blogging or reading, there will come a point when we share the same thoughts about a certain book even if it doesn’t belong to our comfort zone. And then our exposure to different genres expadns and then a re-evaluation of our reading self and then a complete reading makeover! Ah! The magic that is book blogging! ^_^

    • Yes, and even if you don’t ever read the same books, there’s still so much to talk about in person! That’s why I enjoy attending the Filipino Book Bloggers meet ups even though only a handful of people there share my tastes in books. We never run out of things to talk about and some of the discussions aren’t even book-related.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

