Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Northlander

8 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I’ve noticed that I’ve been reading more contemporary books this year, both adult and young adult, and I’m missing the world of fantasy because of that. This week, I choose to highlight a fantasy book that comes recommended by both Angie of Angieville and Charlotte of Charlotte’s Library. I was planning to include it in my previous Book Depository order but it got bumped out of the cart by Juliet Marillier’s Wolfskin. Maybe I can include it in my next order.

Here’s the summary from Meg Burden’s website:

When sixteen-year-old Ellin Fisher and her father travel to the Northlands on a secret, illegal mission to heal the ailing king, Ellin wishes they’d never come. She longs to go home to the Southland, where her red hair is like everyone else’s, and where the practice of healing isn’t called witchcraft, punishable by death. When Ellin heals the king herself, however, breaking the law is the least of her worries. She also accidentally awakens the mental powers of her Southling heritage – forbidden abilities that brand her an outsider even among her own people.

Soon, Ellin finds herself a wanted fugitive in the Northlands and hunted at home by a mysterious group called the Guardians. And though she is welcomed by a band of Southling outlaws with abilities like hers, she sorely misses the Northlander princes she befriended and fears for them when the outlaws reveal their plan to invade the Northlands. Torn between two worlds, Ellin must make the most difficult decisions of her life: what she’s willing to do, and who she’s willing to betray, to belong somewhere again.

Look at that premise, seems like something that I’d thoroughly enjoy reading. What about the rest of you, what book is in your wishlist?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Want Books: Northlander

  1. Good edition of want books – I’ve had my eye on this for a while too (also because of Angie and Charlotte)!

    • Good to know I’m not the only one who wants this! I believe the sequel is already out as well? I remember Charlotte and Angie mentioned that they had a hard time looking for it.

      • I hope you get a hold of both this one and the sequel! There was apparently no demand for the sequel when Angie and I were first looking for it, but it seems to be easy to find at the moment…

      • Thanks Charlotte! This Want Books post for Northlander will serve as a reminder the next time I order from the Book Depository. 🙂 Is the sequel just as good as the first book?

  2. Just dropping in to say that WOLFSKIN was the first Marillier I ever read and it is still one of my favorites. Love that book and can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it 😉

    • Oh wow, really? That makes me more excited to read it! But I don’t have a copy of the sequel, should I have included it in my order? I already have copies of the Bridei books but I haven’t gotten around to reading them yet.

      • Ha! We are so much alike! I have the Bridei books sitting on my shelf too, just waiting for me. And I just recently acquired FOXMASK – but have yet to read it also… It takes place a generation later than WOLFSKIN so I think you’d be ok waiting.

      • *high five* I also ordered the two Bridei books from the Book Depository because they’re not locally available. I really should read the rest of Marillier’s books this year. Yay, good to know that I don’t have to read the sequel right away. It seems similar to the first three Sevenwaters books, which occur one generation apart.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

