Chachic's Book Nook

Found my Hugo Cabret!

17 Comments

I’ve had my copy of The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick since 2009 because I remember I bought it from a bookstore in Oakland. I will be reading this along with Capillya of That Cover Girl in August (my first read along!)

Look at those golden pages, makes the book look magical, right? It also has illustrations inside and I’m excited to read it. I feel bad for the books that have been on my TBR pile for years. I have books that I bought back in 2007 that I still haven’t read. Sigh, the never-ending battle with Mount TBR.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

17 thoughts on “Found my Hugo Cabret!

  1. Wow, this is a gorgeous edition.:) Rayray saw the picture and was admiring it too…lol!:)

    • Oh hey, Rayray is learning how to like books now! 🙂 It really is a lovely edition, that’s why I didn’t hesitate in buying it even though it’s heavy and I had to think about my suitcase. I bought it in the same store where I got my UK hardcover of The Graveyard Book.

  2. That is just absolutely beautiful! 🙂

    You and me both, I still have a ton of books to read and I feel a bit sorry that I neglected some books for too long. Oh well, I will read all of these sooner or later, though I have been known to buy more books than I know what to do with. xD

    • How many books are in your TBR pile, Diane? I swear, I won’t feel pressured anymore just as soon as I get my number down to less than a hundred. And maybe read the books that I’ve had for more than two years. I’ve been more careful about buying books this year because I bought WAY too many books last year.

  3. Ooooh, pretty! Gilded pages!

  4. I should participate in your Want Books meme and put in this book! It’s just so expensive here. :S

  5. Yay! Finally. I love this book. Excited to see Martin Scorsese’s adaptation in November, too.

  6. Yeah, I saw the trailer for the movie before HP72. It’s called Hugo. I’ve always wanted to read this so maybe I will make it priority before the movie.

    Hooray for finding something that was lost! I have a few things I’d like to find at the moment. 🙂 I have a weakness for misplacing important things that DH will never let me live down.

    • I’ll try not to watch the trailer before I finish the book. I’ve always wanted to read this too but I guess I kept putting it off because it’s a heavy book and one that I can’t carry around with me all the time.

      LOL I didn’t actually believe that this was lost, just had no idea where it was located because my bookshelf is still a mess. Me too, I keep losing so many things (like bookmarks) and I have no idea where they end up.

  7. I am so excited to read this book with you! I wish my (borrowed) book had the pretty gold pages, too. I actually heard about the novel from my friend Joey (who let me borrow it), who read it and loved it. Then he told me it was being turned into a movie and that I MUST read the book first. And it’s a Scorsese film, WHAT.

    Just a few more weeks! =)

    • I’m so excited to read this with you, Capillya! It’s going to be my first readalong and I’m glad it’s an illustrated novel so it will be easier to read. Oh it’s nice that your friend told you about the book and let you borrow his copy. Me too, I MUST read this book before the movie comes out. I haven’t even watched the trailer yet.

  8. am totally jealous of your edition of hugo cabret ;P

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

