The Harry Potter Experience

Image from We Heart It

Watching the last Harry Potter movie the other day made me realize that the whole series has been a part of my life for so many years. I remember reading the books back in high school. My mom was the one who discovered the series and she bought the first two books here in Manila. Books three and four weren’t available here at that time so she grabbed Bloomsbury editions when she went to Bangkok. I can’t remember all of my experiences tied to the series but there are some that stand out. I remember being distracted during school hours because I just wanted to finish reading the books – this went on from my high school years up to college. I remember discussing the books with my friends right after we read them. I remember waking up early to grab a copy of the last book, going straight to the bookstore without even taking a shower. LOL I just grabbed a cup of coffee and holed up in my room until I finished reading the whole thing. There was the time when my friend gave us puppies named Harry (for his black fur) and Albus (for his white fur) and I could’ve changed their names but I never did:

I’m sure most readers out there have similar experiences. This is one of those times when I realize how we build relationships with the books that we read. Such a wonderful feeling to have memories tied to the books and the movies. What’s even better is you get to share the experience with friends. We may now live in a post-Potter world but like J.K. Rowling said, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome us home.

16 thoughts on “The Harry Potter Experience

  1. Hi Chachic! There is really nothing like the HP Experience. I remember being terribly anxious about finally turning in for the night because that is the time I could finally resume reading HP. Not to mention the countless HP quizzes especially the sorting ones that I used to take online. I do miss the feeling of excitement that I used to get in anticipation for every book in the series but you’re right the memories tied to HP will always be here. Especially with the creation of the Pottermore site. πŸ™‚

    • I remember having my nose stuck in one of the HP books while walking along my high school’s corridors. I think I read the books whenever I could. LOL I didn’t get addicted to taking those quizzes because I’d like to think I would have been sorted to Gryffindor. πŸ˜› Yep, Hogwarts will always be there whenever we want to visit it again and there are so many other books that I’m eagerly anticipating so that hasn’t changed.

  2. More doggie pics please!

    It’s sad to live in a post-Potter world. BUT at the same time, I think it opens the door to more literary phenomenons. I hope the magic is recaptured again with another series of books. I’m at least optimistic that it will be.

    • I need to take more pictures of the dogs!

      Yes, I definitely agree. While I was sad that the Potter phenomenon has ended, I still have so many books on my TBR pile that I’m excited about. I would love to have another series become as popular as Harry Potter. πŸ™‚

  3. I can imagine that this generation will eventually forget about Hogwarts. Then we’ll be in a truly post-Potter world. But eventually, the next generation will discover the beauty within these books, and shout “Potter lives!” as if they were in a movement. Same way the LOTR books were rediscovered. When that day comes, I’ll be waiting. Waiting to tell my grandfather stories about the boy who lived. πŸ™‚

    • Oh you mean the next generation, right? Because I don’t think OUR generation will ever forget about Harry Potter. πŸ™‚ LOL I see what you mean about the movement, I can imagine people saying, “Potter’s not dead!”

  4. I went to see the movie this afternoon and it was so bittersweet. I think I would be even sadder but I have already started reliving them by introducing them to Bit and watching her fall in love with them. And then I get to do the same thing with her brother. It is never really going to be over.

    • Aww I love that Bit loves the books but I think it will be a while before she can read or watch the latter ones, right? They’re more mature than the earlier books. It really is never going to be over and that’s a good thing for all of us who love the series. πŸ™‚

      • Yes, it will be a little while. I am spreading them out for her. We will read book three sometime this year before she turns 8. Then we will see from there…

      • It’s a good idea to spread out the books for her. Maybe she can read the rest when she reaches middle school? I hope she loves the third one, that’s still my favorite Harry Potter.

  5. Cute doggies!

    2001 was definitely a banner year for fantasy movies. I mean, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Fellowship of the Ring on the big screen within the same year? I died and went to geek heaven! LOL.

    I haven’t watched Deathly Hallows part 2 yet (wasn’t hard core enough to brave the opening weekend crowds), but strangely enough I chanced upon a copy of Tales of Beedle the Bard last night at the Natio tartan books table. So maybe it’s a sign that I should watch it as early as possible? Then again, I never was as addicted to the Harry Potter phenomenon as some of my peers, perhaps because I was a voracious YA fantasy reader so I had a lot of points of comparison? I guess you can say that I liked the Harry Potter series but I didn’t love it? Honestly, if it weren’t for Mary GrandPre’s illustrations (since I’m a very visual-inclined person), I might not have started the series at all.

    Then again, considering that the next “big” YA series after Harry Potter was Twilight, maybe I shouldn’t complain. Xp

    BTW, they used to burn Harry Potter and Twilights books in my old high school. Very very conservative evangelical Christian school.

    • I know what you mean! Harry Potter and LOTR in one year. You weren’t the only geeky person who just about died and went to heaven when those two films were shown. πŸ™‚ I remember I was crazy excited for the LOTR movie and my friends didn’t understand why.

      LOL didn’t even wait for the weekend to watch it, my friend invited me to watch it on the release day. Was so sleepy on Friday while I was at work. Hey, I still don’t have a copy of Beedle the Bard. I loved the series but I’m not a hardcore fan like so many other people. I like the earlier books (up until book four) better than the latter ones but I was committed when I reached that point and was determined to finish reading the books and watching the films.

      Oh wow, they burned books in your old high school?! I didn’t know that they still do that. I guess banning the books isn’t enough for them.

      • I’m not sure if they did it for all confiscated books, or just as a one-off demonstration. They used to burn confiscated Magic:The Gathering cards before as well. But still, the idea of *burning* an otherwise good book makes me shudder.

        I know what your mean about the commitment to the series though. I also kept reading because I wanted to know what happens next, and not because I was a huge fan of the series itself

      • Crazy school! I don’t think I can watch them burn books, might rush to the rescue if that happened in my case. Good thing I didn’t go to that school.

        Exactly, kept reading and watching because I wanted to know what happens next. I’m still a fan but I think I was more of a fan when I first discovered it. After that, I became aware of other YA fantasy books.

      • The funny thing was, we had Lord of the Rings and Wizard of Earthsea in the library. So I guess the admin’s issue with fantasy books is with those that take a more modern and practiceable view of witchcraft/wizardry? Oh, and they didn’t like Twilight’s sparkly vampire either, from what I’ve heard from later batches.

      • Maybe they weren’t aware that those older fantasy books are basically in the same genre because they’re not as popular as the modern ones? Still, boo them! LOL

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

