Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: Anticipated Releases

8 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Okay, so I normally don’t feature books that haven’t been released in my Want Books posts but I can’t help it with these two: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor and Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. It’s probably because I’ve seen other bloggers get review copies of these and I’m really, really jealous. If someone decides to send me ARCs of these books, I will be eternally grateful. Anna and the French Kiss was one of my favorite reads last year and I’ve heard that Lola is just as good. I recently bought a copy of Lips Touch, read the first two short stories in it and promptly fell in lovely with Laini Taylor’s lyrical prose. It doesn’t hurt that the hardcover comes with beautiful illustrations. I’ll post a review when I’m done reading the whole thing. I hear the last story is the best in that book.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, release date: September 27, 2011. Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins, release date: September 29, 2011. Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion… she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit – more sparkly, more fun, more wild – the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket – a gifted inventor – steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

What about the rest of you, what books are in your wishlists?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

8 thoughts on “Want Books: Anticipated Releases

  1. This is my same exact Want Books list. =)

  2. I am so excited for Lola! It’s definitely on my “need-to-devour” list. Apparently September 20-30 will be a huge week for books, as Mara Dyer and The Name of the Star are coming out on the 27 and the 29, respectively.

    • Me too, can’t wait to read Lola! Are you on NetGalley? The Name of the Star is available over there but they only grant access to Australian reviewers due to territorial rights.

  3. I’m definitely looking forward to Lola! Just a few more months….are you reserving a copy at Fully Booked or will you just pre-order at Book Depository?

    • I think I mentioned in my last email that I’ll pre-order it from the Book Depository? I have a feeling Fully Booked won’t have enough copies. I don’t even see Anna on their shelves.

  4. I CANNOT WAIT for LOLA. I’m supremely jealous of all the BEAers that have already read it. Seriously, what I would do to get my hands on a copy! 😀

    I’m so lucky I already got a copy of DoSaB. I want to read it soon but there are so many other books waiting in the TBR, I think I must wait.

    Nice Want Books? post. Awhile ago I almost wrote one for an upcoming book, too, then I checked the rules. 😉

    • It looks like they also gave away ARCs of Lola in ALA. And I’m not sure but I think Penguin has sent other bloggers review copies? LOL I guess we just have to wait patiently for September.

      I know what you mean. If I get my hands on copies of these two, I’ll definitely bump them up the TBR pile though.

      LOL sorry about that! I didn’t want the meme to be too similar to Waiting on Wednesday so that’s probably why I didn’t include upcoming books in the rules. I couldn’t help but post about these two though. 😛

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

