Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: Scholastic Edition

31 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

I think I’ve been successful in trying to curb my book buying urges as proven by my lack of In My Mailbox posts the past couple of weeks. I received a couple of free books this weekend and I wanted to make a post to share the titles as well as thank those who gave the books.

The lovely Kristen of Fantasy Cafe was kind enough to send me an ARC of Eona by Alison Goodman when she found out that I’m interested in reading it as soon as I finish Eon. Thank you, Kristen, for sending it all the way to the Philippines! πŸ™‚ The Returning by Christine Hinwood is a book that I ordered from the Book Depository because it comes highly recommended by two of my favorite authors: Megan Whalen Turner and Melina Marchetta. I’ve seen lukewarm reviews but I’m still curious about it.

Photo taken by Tarie

Joyce and Roselle of Scholastic Philippines organized a dinner for book bloggers last Friday and as always, it’s nice to meet in person with other book bloggers to talk about bookish things. I met Ron, Leia and Meann for the first time. Other familiar faces there were Blooey, Tarie, Tina and Aaron. It was also the first time that I received actual review copies (not counting galleys) from a publisher and I’m so excited to read the books that I got.

The bags were personalized and I think they based their choices on the kind of books that we read so thank you, Joyce and Roselle, for being so thoughtful! Tarie and I got Linger because we’ve already read Shiver while Tina got the two Wolves of Mercy Falls books. Aaron didn’t get any of the paranormal YA books because he isn’t interested in those while Blooey got Beauty Queens because she already has a copy of Linger. It makes me happy that publishers are now paying attention to local book bloggers.

Numbers by Rachel Ward
Numbers 2: The Chaos by Rachel Ward
Linger by Maggie Stiefvater
Clarity by Kim Harrington
The Cry of Icemark by Stuart Hill
Blade of Fire by Stuart Hill
Last Battle of the Icemark by Stuart Hill
Mockingjay leather bookmark

Let me know what you think of these books if you’ve read them already. What books did you get in your mailbox?

Other accounts of the Scholastic dinner:
Tarie of Into the Wardrobe
Tina of One More Page

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

31 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: Scholastic Edition

  1. Woot woot!! Hehehe. :o)

  2. I hope you get to read Eon and Eona already because I’m excited to hear what you think of them.:)

    How exciting to receive all those books, what a wonderful thing for Scholastic to do.:)

    • See, you do get to read books before I do. πŸ˜› They’re hefty books so I don’t think I can carry them around with me but I hope I can start on them soon. The reviews that I’ve seen have mostly been positive.

      Yep, it was fun to get free books! Even just the dinner would have been good enough. I appreciate that Scholastic Philippines is now reaching out to local bloggers.

  3. You have a nice list of books that you received this week in your mailbox.
    Happy Reading,
    Book Sniffers Anonymous

  4. I forgot to take a picture of my bookmarks. Oops. πŸ˜€ But yes, yay to new friends and books and time with publishers. πŸ™‚

    • The leather bookmark is nice! I want to use it but I’m afraid that I’ll lose it like so many of my other bookmarks. See you in the Goodreads meet up in a couple of week’s time. πŸ™‚

  5. Hope you enjoy Eon and Eona! I can’t wait to see what you think of them!

  6. That sounds like a fun little get together and I am very impressed that they took the time to pay so close attention to all of your personal tastes. Enjoy your books!

    • I think we all got the Icemark trilogy but I like that they didn’t give us books that we’ve already read. It means they visited our blogs and searched through our posts to know that kind of information.

  7. Wow, that’s awesome that Scholastic gave you all those review copies! I am a little jealous though I shouldn’t be since they are so hard to come by for international bloggers.

    Interested to hear what you think of Eona and The Returning.

    • You really shouldn’t be jealous because this is the first time I’ve gotten review copies from a publisher (although I hope it won’t be the last) and I believe you get more review copies over there? πŸ™‚ Besides, you have a lot of great books in your TBR pile now, like I’m jealous that you’re reading Saving June.

  8. so cool you finally get some real review copies πŸ™‚ hope you enjoy your books

    i am interested in what you think of the christine hinwood book O.o

    • I know, was so excited to get review copies! Joyce and Roselle of Scholastic were really nice and friendly.

      As always, I’m not sure when I’ll get around to reading the Hinwood book but I will definitely review it here.

  9. Oh so awesome that you went to a publisher event! And yay! For new books! I have THE CRY OF THE ICEMARK sitting on my shelf but have never read it – you’ll have to post your review. And I have EONA too, can’t wait to finish this awesome series. So good.

    • Yes, yay for new books! I just started that one today, Michelle. I don’t think I will be able to finish it anytime soon though because it’s a long book but don’t worry, I’ll post a review when I’m done. πŸ™‚

  10. Ooooooh, nice! I remember being interviewed for Scholastic Philippines back when I was a fresh grad, but I think it was for a sales position and I was hunting for marketing jobs at the time.

    Nice loot bag! Hehehe. Oh, and should I mention that the original US hardcover release of Cry of the Icemark had a lovely, lovely, lovely Kinuko Craft cover? πŸ˜›

    • Wow, you could have worked for Scholastic back then! Both Joyce and Roselle are trade managers but I’m not sure if they’re department falls under marketing?

      So would it be safe to assume that you have the US hardcover of The Cry of the Icemark because of the cover? πŸ˜› Just looked it up on Goodreads and it’s beautiful!

    • I think I passed on Scholastic because I had a batchmate who was hired there and she resigned after a month because the sales positions where quota based (school market sales).

      Trade Managers could either be for trade marketing, trade sales, or a combination of both. It really depends on the structure of the company. Hmmm, maybe I should apply there again. Except Scholastic (in the Philippines) must be a relatively small operation, so I doubt that they’d have any marketing openings.

      • Oh jobs with quota requirements are really hard. You’re interested in working in publishing? Maybe you can ask around if Scholastic has an opening. πŸ™‚

      • You would? If it’s not too much trouble then hehe. I’m really game for a change of industry now. 😦

      • Oops, accidentally erased parts of my message. The sentence before that was supposed to say if you would be ok with giving me any contact number for Scholastic.

    • And no, I don’t own a copy of the hardcover of Icemark (yet). I just remember seeing one on the shelves of Fully Booked Cubao at the time that I bought my copy of Dean’s Tam Lin.

  11. Oooh, you guys must be really happy! Congrats on the haul; I’m glad that Scholastic’s getting in touch with local book reviewers. So which one among the Scholastic stash will you read first? Was there a book that you wish had ended up in your bag? πŸ˜€

    • It really is great that Scholastic had this dinner thing for book bloggers. I already started on the first Icemark book because it seemed like my kind of thing – epic fantasy. πŸ™‚ I actually didn’t expect anything specific so I was just happy with what I got.

  12. I’ll be really interested to hear what you think of The Returning. I liked it a lot, but I could see a couple of different ways people might have problems with it, depending on their background and expectations.

    • I’m worried that I might be disappointed because MWT and Marchetta are two of my favorite authors but since I’ve seen lukewarm reviews, I’ve lowered my expectations.

  13. Pingback: Shoot That Book: Book Godmother « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

