Chachic's Book Nook

Rain, Rain, Go Away!

12 Comments

I’m heading out-of-town this weekend and although we’re in the middle of the rainy season here in the Philippines, I’m hoping for some nice weather. I’ve had the worst luck with some of my beach trips in the past. Here are some pictures to illustrate my point:

This was in Laiya, Batangas when a sudden freak storm descended upon us in the middle of the night while we were hanging out and drinking. Electricity and water was cut off and we had to move up to the rooms in the upper floors because our rooms were flooded. Yes, that’s me, smiling while wading through floodwaters.

This was in Anawangin, Zambales where we got stranded on the cove with no supplies because the water became too choppy for boat rides. I’m trying to perform a rain dance in the picture above and as you can see, it’s not working.

On that happy note, I’m keeping my fingers crossed for this weekend. We’re not even sure if our flight will get cancelled because of the typhoon but we’ll see.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

12 thoughts on “Rain, Rain, Go Away!

  1. Woa! It’s pretty much the same here during rainy season. Actually I am hoping that it rains soon because it’s so horribly hot right now.

    • It’s still summer over there? The rainy season started early here, around late May. It still gets hot when it’s not raining but cold when it does. Crazy weather.

  2. OH THESE PICTURES AWESOME AWESOME o.O

    YOU LOOK SO CUTE, HAHA

    IT RAINS A LOT HERE TOO ~ we had floods two weeks ago and the water is only now residing and the high way is open again (YAY my sister can come and visit this weekend ~ haven;t seen her for ten months)

    hope the rain leaves soon (although it does make for good reading weather ~ not much good for anything else weather though, LOL

    • Nomes, I love how enthusiastic your comment is. 😛 I’m glad you enjoy the pictures. Oh no, I think your floods are really bad too! Hope you had fun with your sister this weekend. 🙂

      Yep, rainy weather is perfect for curling up in bed with a good book!

  3. I can’t imagine living anywhere where it rains so much it floods! Crossing my fingers for you. I hope you have a good time either way. You should post a rainy or sunny picture when you get back. 😀

    • LOL just like I can’t imagine living anywhere where it gets so cold that people can freeze to death. Thanks for the crossed fingers! The weather was nice and warm when we got there. I’ll post a picture as soon as I transfer them from my camera to the computer. 🙂

  4. Rain dance! I’m sorry to hear that Manila was flooded last Friday! I hope your trip wasn’t canceled, Chachic, and that you’re enjoying every minute of your weekend. 🙂

    • Didn’t even experience the flood in Manila because my flight was on Friday morning. But it was really raining hard and we were afraid that our flight would get canceled. I did enjoy the whole trip, I’ll post an update about it soon. 🙂

  5. I got stranded last Thursday as well. In Rizal. Had to extend our stay by another night. ^^;;

    Nice rain dance pic, BTW. though you might want to include an annotation (for the non-Pinoys) explaining what a rain dance is. LOL.

    • But Rizal isn’t that far away, right? I’m not sure but I think it’s considered as part of NCR? Or maybe you guys stayed in a resort there or something. Hope you still enjoyed your stay in spite of the weather.

      LOL I think it’s pretty obvious that I’m doing the rain dance to stop the rain since you can actually see how hard it’s raining in the picture.

      • Just 30 minutes away from Ortigas extension. Went there for a strat meeting. I could have managed to leave that same night, but the way home (for me and a few others) was already blocked by the flooding, so we just opted to stay behind while the ones who lived in areas not affected by the flood left.

        Hmmm. A linked Youtube video of Sara Geronimo would have been nice though. 😛

  6. Pingback: Back from Bohol! « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

