Chachic's Book Nook

Love Story by Jennifer Echols

16 Comments

I was so excited to read Jennifer Echols’ latest romantic drama, Love Story, because I fell in love with Going Too Far last year. I had high hopes as well for Forget You although that didn’t quite work out as I expected. Thanks to the Simon and Schuster Galley Grab, I was able to read Love Story‘s galley before its release date.

Here’s the summary from Jennifer Echols’ website:

For Erin Blackwell, majoring in creative writing at the New York City college of her dreams is more than a chance to fulfill her ambitions – it’s her ticket away from the tragic memories that shadow her family’s racehorse farm in Kentucky. But when she refuses to major in business and take over the farm herself someday, her grandmother gives Erin’s college tuition and promised inheritance to their maddeningly handsome stable boy, Hunter Allen. Now Erin has to win an internship and work late nights at a coffee shop to make her own dreams a reality. She should despise Hunter… so why does he sneak into her thoughts as the hero of her latest writing assignment?

Then, on the day she’s sharing that assignment with her class, Hunter walks in. He’s joining her class. And after he reads about himself in her story, her private fantasies about him must be painfully clear. She only hopes to persuade him not to reveal her secret to everyone else. But Hunter devises his own creative revenge, writing sexy stories that drive the whole class wild with curiosity and fill Erin’s heart with longing. Now she’s not just imagining what might have been. She’s writing a whole new ending for her romance with Hunter… except this story could come true.

I really liked that the characters in Love Story were older than usual when it comes to YA. The setting is a college in New York. It has a different feel from high school: the characters are more independent even though they are still going through the process of understanding themselves and discovering what they want to do in life. At first, I was engaged by the plot – how Erin and Hunter grew up on the opposite ends of a horse farm in Kentucky: she as the wealthy heiress and he as a stable boy. Seems like an old school romance plot, right? Rich girl falls for poor guy and all that. Several years’ worth of pent-up emotion has built up between these two and they both attack each other through the stories they produce for their creative writing class, which are read and critiqued by the rest of their classmates. It’s an intriguing concept: stories written by the protagonists within one big story (the title makes total sense now). In the end though, the whole thing fell flat for me.

There wasn’t enough actual interaction between the two main characters and I feel like the reader gets to know them only through their creative writing compositions. They tend to write about real life experiences and what they write let us give glimpses into what the characters went through in the past. Which is a good thing if that’s backed up by dialogue in the present. I didn’t feel like Erin and Hunter spent enough time together to actually get to know the other person and fall in love. Also, the book ended just when I was starting to get into the story. When I reached the end, I thought to myself, “That’s really it? Where’s the rest of the story?” Erin and Hunter constantly push each other apart and it came to a point when I didn’t understand them anymore. It was like they were just looking for reasons to fight with each other instead of working on having a relationship. I really wanted to fall in love with this book and I’m kind of sad that I didn’t. I can see other people liking this much more than I did so if you’re a fan of Jennifer Echols or romantic contemporary YA reads then go ahead and read this. I’m still hoping that the author would come out with a book that’s just as lovely as Going Too Far. Love Story will be released on July 19, 2011.

Other reviews:
The Allure of Books
The Reading Date
Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

16 thoughts on “Love Story by Jennifer Echols

  1. thanks for linking to my review 🙂

    I completely agree with you, she has yet to match the success of Gone Too Far with me as well. I just totally didn’t connect with this book at all. I never could figure out why Hunter and Erin were even speaking too each other! They had way too many issues and I don’t think any of them were worked through sucessfully. I also agree that the ending was waaaaay too abrupt.

    • I think a lot of us had high expectations for both Forget You and Love Story because of Going Too Far. I’m actually happy that a review copy for this was made available through Galley Grab because now I don’t have to purchase it and be disappointed. I have to agree that Hunter and Erin had way too many issues. I think it would have been better if there were a couple more chapters to the book and they found a way to work through all those issues.

  2. Going Too Far, that is 🙂

  3. It’s a shame that the romance seemed to be somewhat lacking, especially since using stories within a bigger narrative has always been an intriguing execution for me.

    • It really is an intriguing set-up and the author just wasn’t able to pull it off. I feel bad that I wasn’t into it but I’m sure so many other people will like it. I’ve seen some positive feedback on Goodreads.

  4. I lovelovelove older YA!! It’s a shame that the end happened the way it did, but I love the premise, and I think I will give this one a try based on your review.

  5. This is too bad. When you don’t believe that the two characters are actually in love? That is a deal breaker. When they don’t have enough interactions, too? That is frustrating.

    • I know, it really was frustrating because I wanted to like it! Oh well, I hope you still get to read it from Galley Grab because I’d like to know what you think. I remember you left a comment on Goodreads when Michelle and I both said that this didn’t work out for us.

  6. Here’s the thing. I’m a major fangirl of Echols’ GTF and wasn’t a huge fan of Forget You (as you can see my rating on Goodreads). So you not liking Love Story makes me hesitant. I’ve read some other mixed reviews, too. Hmmm.

    • Looks like we had the same reaction to both of Jennifer Echols’ earlier romantic dramas. Are you signed up for the Galley Grab? If you are then you can just read the galley so no need to buy a copy. I keep hoping for an Echols that’s just as good as GTF but it hasn’t happened yet.

      • No, I’m not signed up for GG. I can barely keep up with my own books, I’m so busy trying to read stuff in my own TBR and then I love reading book bloggers’ reviews. If I ever start up a review blog, then perhaps. =)

      • I can barely keep up with my own books too! That’s why I’m trying to limit my book buying and just get the books that I REALLY want. I don’t want my life to be swallowed up by the TBR pile.

  7. Pingback: Love Story by Jennifer Echols | Janicu's Book Blog

  8. I enjoyed this book more than I enjoyed Forget You but like you, I found this book lacking. The issues between Hunter and Erin were a bit much to take from time to time and there were times when I wanted to give the both of them a swift kick in the knees for being so dumb.

    I’m still holding out hope that one day, Echols will write another fabulous book like Going too Far.

    • I think I feel about the same for this book and Forget You, both of them don’t even come close to Going Too Far. LOL yeah, I wanted to knock some sense into both Hunter and Erin, I couldn’t understand why they kept fighting all the time when they could have just talked things through.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

