Want Books: Contemporary Romance with Depth

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

My Want Books post for this week is somewhat unusual: instead of featuring one book that’s on my wishlist, I thought I’d ask for recommendations. You see, I’ve discovered a fondness for women’s fiction or contemporary romance or even chick lit with more depth that the usual fare. They seem like light and fun reads until I crack open my copy and discover that the characters and the stories are more complex that what I was expecting. I enjoy fluffy reads but I like how these books focus more on building relationships than just the attraction between the two main characters. Some examples of what I’ve enjoyed reading so far (click on the book covers to check out my reviews):

I already have copies of Liane Moriarty’s other books on the way so no need to suggest those and I’m currently in the middle of Bachelor Boys by Kate Saunders. So what do you guys think, do you have similar titles in mind? Please leave a comment and let me know why you think I’d like that particular book.

14 thoughts on “Want Books: Contemporary Romance with Depth

  1. Alright. I must admit that I have this page open and I’ve been refreshing it throughout the weekend, because I want a rec for this too!!! Come on, people!

    I have been trying to think of one like this but I think I’m coming up with mm, contemporary romance by British authors, but not necessarily with that depth.

    • I’ve been waiting for comments and recommendations too! I can’t believe no one’s replaying. I want more books like these.

      What are the contemporary romance by British authors that you’re thinking of? I’m still curious even if they don’t have as much depth as the titles that I mentioned.

      • I liked Melissa Nathan’s other books (other than PRIDE, PREJUDICE, AND JASMINE FIELD), particularly THE NANNY. I checked my bookshelves and also came up with Sue Haasler’s TIME AFTER TIME.

        You know who seems to read a lot of British contemp romance? “About Happy Books”. I’ve been eying her recommendations. She reviewed this one…something like WHO’S AFRAID OF MR. WOLF? that I was interested in. Hold on.. Oh it was MR. WOLFE. http://www.abouthappybooks.com/2011/05/whos-afraid-of-mr-wolfe-hazel-osmond.html

      • I’ve already added The Nanny to my wishlist but I haven’t seen it around local bookstores. It should be available since I bought Jasmin Field here.

        Maybe I should look into more British contemp romance even if they’re not necessarily as edgy as Sarra Manning’s books? Hazel Osmond looks promising. I might order her book the next time I get something from the Book Depository.

  2. I was also hoping to hear about some new authors and books I haven’t read yet. Because lately I had some trouble to find good contemp romances.

    I can recommend the book by Hazel Osmond but it might not work for everyone. And “Good Luck Girl” (Leaving Unknown) by Kerry Reichs (plays in the US). In this book the romance is not the main part however it’s one of my fav books.

    You could also check out the books by Jill Mansell or the two contemporary romances by Dee Davis (they play in New York) although the books by these two authors are quiet different from Sarra Manning’s.

    I think it’s hard to find edgy chick-lits/romances as good as the ones written by Sarra Manning. Can’t wait to read her new one next year.

    • Thank you for the recommendations, Sabrina! I’ve already added Hazel Osmond’s book to my wishlist. Looks like I can only order it from the Book Depository, the Kindle format isn’t available in Amazon US. I’ve also added Kerry Reichs’ book in my wishlist.

      I’ll look up the other authors that you mentioned. It really is hard to find something similar to Sarra Manning’s adult books. I’m actually tempted to ask her on Twitter if she has any recommendations.

  3. These look like some great picks!! I am so excited for summer reading this year. I just finished Click: An Online Love Story by Lisa Becker, which is a debut and a really great one at that. Now I’m listening to Jen Lancaster’s newest (and first) fiction release; later I will be chefcking out Lindsey Kelk, Kate Harrison and a few other new self-published authors. Hope you come check out some of my reviews. Love your site!

    • Hi Cathy, hope you’re enjoying summer over there! It’s the rainy season over here in the Philippines. I haven’t heard of the authors that you mentioned but I’ll check them out on Goodreads.

  4. The only thing I can think of right now is Lani Diane Rich’s Time Off For Good Behavior. I think it’s one of her books that doesn’t have magic realism in it.

    I also recommend Laura Jensen Walker’s Reconstructing Natalie. It’s Christian women’s fiction, and it deals with cancer, but it’s a pretty good read and not too preachy.

    • I’m curious about Lani Diane Rich because you keep recommending her books. Hey, I hope you get to read the titles that I mentioned on this post because I know you enjoy reading contemporary romance. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh! I’m so happy you tweeted me about this, because I haven’t been online much and I might have missed your post. This is a great topic! Actually, Leah that I work with at Chick Lit Reviews talked a little about this in a recent post on her personal blog:
    http://books-football-life.blogspot.com/2011/06/uk-vs-us-chick-lit.html

    She mostly talks about the differences between US & UK, but there are some great recs in her post you might enjoy!

    As for me…I’ve recently read quite a few books like this and they’ve been great. From the previous comments I’d absolutely agree with the recommendation of Kerry Reichs, I loved Leaving Unknown. Other than her here are a few I’ve recently read and loved:
    The Bird Sisters by Rebecca Rasmussen
    The Violets of March by Sarah Jio
    The Art of Forgetting by Camille Noe Pagan
    Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman
    Second Hand Heart by Catherine Ryan Hyde
    The Summer of Skinny Dipping by Amanda Howells
    Sheryl Woods’ Chesapeake Shores series (more on the romantic side)
    Alice Bliss by Laura Harrington
    Skipping A Beat by Sarah Pekkanen
    The Kitchen Daughter by Jael McHenry
    The Love Market by Carol Mason

    The ones I haven’t read but really really want to:
    Pictures of You by Caroline Leavitt
    Here, Home Hope by Kaira Rouda
    The Summer We Came To Life by Deborah Cloyed

    All of these books I’ve really loved and are a little more on the “deep” side of things (with the exception of perhaps Sheryl Woods’ books, though they still have some great themes). Hope this helps! feel free to ask me more questions! πŸ™‚

    • I’m actually a follower of Chick Lit Reviews and I’ve seen your reviews and Leah’s over there. I just read the post that you linked and I think I haven’t read enough chick lit to make observations like that although the differences between UK and US books are interesting to note.

      Yay, so many recommendations! I’m going to look these up on Goodreads and add them on my wishlist. I’m hoping that they’re available in local bookstores (or have Kindle editions on Amazon).

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

