In My Mailbox: June 12

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

June 12 is Independence Day here in the Philippines and too bad it occurs on a Sunday this year so no holiday for us. Still, Happy Independence Day to all Filipinos out there. πŸ˜€ We’re not big on celebrating this day like the Americans are with fourth of July. I was so excited to see Book Depository packages waiting for me when I got home from work last Friday that I decided to make an IMM post this weekend.

I found it funny that except for Magic Slays, all of the covers of these books are white:

From Fully Booked:
Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews – read this on my Kindle as soon as it came out but wanted a paperback copy to complete my Kate Daniels set
How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper

From the Book Depository (own order):
You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning
Bachelor Boys by Kate Saunders

From the Book Depository (sent by Nomes of Inkcrush, I won her blogiversary contest):
To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
Seeing Me Naked by Liza Palmer

Nomes, thank you so much for the two books that you sent! As always, I’m excited to read all of these books. I’m kind of sad that the Book Depository doesn’t include free bookmarks in the packages anymore. I wanted to collect all of the designs that they had but I guess they ran out or something? What about the rest of you, what did you get in your mailbox recently?

19 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: June 12

  1. You’re right, that is a lot of white. I think maybe cover artists are trying to swing away from the darkity-darkness of covers and jump straight to the opposite.

    • I think most dark covers are for paranormal YA and I don’t read books from that genre anymore because I’ve been disappointed too many times. It’s just a happy coincidence that most of the books that I got had white covers. πŸ™‚

  2. they all look awesome!

    i have seen that sara manning book at my book shop but the cover you choose is SO MUCH nicer (!) (our cover is just some pink lips _ on white…)

    hope you enjoy your books. nothing better than getting a package from TBD πŸ˜€ (i love mail and books so it’s the perfect combo)

    • I’ve seen that cover and I didn’t choose that one because it looks too much like Sarra Manning’s other adult novel, Unsticky. So glad I decided to go with the other cover with pink petals, it’s a prettier in person because the writing is embossed.

      Me too! Love getting stuff in the mail, especially when they’re packages that contain books.

  3. I like the white! πŸ™‚ Looks so pretty.

    I’m getting my copy of Magic Slays (and Deadline) next week! I had copies transferred to Eastwood. Now that I’m done with Deadline, I’m so ready to get into Magic Slays. πŸ™‚

    • Oh it’s good that you’re getting copies of both Magic Slays and Deadline next week! I got so excited when I saw the paperback in Fully Booked Rockwell. Maybe I should reread it one of this days?

  4. Great that you got your copy of “You don’t have to say you love me”, hope you will love the book.

    For some time I also didn’t get any new bookmarks from TBD, I sent them a tweet because of it and then was asked to dm them my order number. About a week later I got three new bookmarks and since then got a new bookmark with every third book I ordered from them.

    • Sabrina, I remember you left a comment in my Unsticky review and said that you really enjoyed reading Sarra Manning’s adult books. Guess what? I started YDHTSYLM as soon as I could and I finished it already! Hopefully, I can post a review within the week.

      I sent Book Depository a tweet about the bookmarks but they didn’t reply. 😦 It’s okay, maybe I’ll get them on my next order.

      • I had to send TBD two tweets until they answered me, maybe you should try again.

        I’m excited to read your review of YDHTSYLM, I enjoyed the book just as much as Unsticky.

  5. Awesome IMM! I’m excited to see what you think of all these. I like white backgrounds-I wouldn’t mind if it became a trend. It would be so refreshing over all the black covers out there.

    I think I’ve said this before, but bookmarks?! I’ve never gotten one before in any of my TBD orders. 😦 Maybe I should send them a tweet too.

    • I like white backgrounds too, I’m just afraid that I’d get them dirty. πŸ˜› I’ve finished YDHTSYLM and I’ll review it soon.

      We already talked about bookmarks on Twitter and I’m glad the Book Depository replied. Maybe we’ll get free bookmarks in our next order?

    • I think I got the original recommendation for this book from Sounis so I’m not surprised that you love it. πŸ™‚ I’m so glad I finally have a copy because I don’t think it’s locally available.

    • LOL that’s why I posted a stacked view as well. Summer is already over here in the Philippines and the rainy season is supposed to be here but it hasn’t been raining that much. In any case, it’s always good to have books around.

  6. I haven’t heard of BACHELOR BOYS yet, it sounds intriguing tho. Wonderful haul though.

    I do feel bad, I should have offered you my copy of HOW TO FLIRT – I ended up just passing it on to another friend…

    • So funny, I just started on Bachelor Boys today! Don’t worry, I’ll review it on the blog so you’ll know what I think of it when I’m done.

      Aww Michelle, that’s so nice. Don’t feel guilty though. I just saw a copy of the book when I got Magic Slays and thought that it would be a fun and light read based on your review.

      • It was, a perfect non-taxing read. I’m not a huge paranormal romance fan, due to the whole ‘I am alpha man, hear me roar!’ but this one was very fun.

        Although I did try Haper’s other series, Nice Girls don’t have fangs and just couldn’t get into it. It almost read like a less developed step-child of the Sookie Stackhouse books. Have you read those yet? I think you’d enjoy at least the first couple.

      • Oh I know what you mean, I’m not a big pararnormal romance reader but I pick up some of those that come highly recommended.

        Thanks for letting me know about Harper’s other series, I’m not going to read it because of your feedback. I haven’t read any of the Sookie Stackhouse books (and I don’t watch True Blood either) but they’ve been recommended several times.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

