Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews

Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews is the fifth installment in the Kate Daniels series and one of my most anticipated reads for this year. I always thought I was more into epic fantasy than anything else but Ilona Andrews changed my mind and this series has become my favorite when it comes to urban fantasy. This review will contain spoilers for the previous books so don’t proceed unless you’ve read the others. Even the book’s summary is spoiler so pick up the other books in the series first before you read this one, I promise, you won’t regret it. Reading order of the books: Magic Bites, Magic Burns, Magic Strikes and Magic Bleeds.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be — now that the Order is disparaging her good name, and many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate.

So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. Turns out this is not an isolated incident, and Kate needs to get to the bottom of it—fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price…

I devoured the first four books in this series last year and proceeded to read everything that Ilona Andrews has written. I read Magic Slays as soon as I can because it feels good to be back in Kate Daniels’ world. Everything that I loved in the other books is present in this one: the detailed worldbuilding with a different set of villains and mythology in each book (in this one, it’s Russian mythology), the characters who change and develop throughout the course of the series and the witty banter that had me laughing out loud. There’s also the magic vs. technology situation that’s always interesting.

What I really liked about Magic Slays is how the authors keep building on the world that they created, slowly revealing information to move the story along. We get to know more about Kate’s past but there’s still enough mystery to make readers speculate. I’m sure there will be more (and probably bigger) revelations in the next book. I also really enjoyed seeing the development in Kate and Curran’s relationship. Yes, it’s been established that they’re mated and we all know that they’re meant to be together but I loved seeing them work through the problems that rise up because they’re both complicated people with a lot of issues. Just when you think you couldn’t love Curran more, he goes off to do and say things that are unexpectedly sweet. Kate’s tendency to be a lone wolf makes it difficult for her to connect with anyone – her mate, her best friend, her ward and friends from the pack – and even though she’s mellowed out in this installment, it’s still not easy for her. Add to all that the usual amount of butt-kicking action than can be expected from someone like Kate Daniels and her circle of friends and you’re in for a book that you wouldn’t be able to put down.

The other day, I was telling friends who are also fans of the series that maybe it would have been a good idea to wait for all of the books to be out before I started reading them. But then I realized that I wouldn’t want to miss out on all the fun and I enjoy discussing these books too much not to read them as they’re released. I just need to learn to be patient and wait for the next installment after reading this. At this point, if you’re an Ilona Andrews fan then there’s nothing more that I can say because you probably have this book in your TBR pile already. If you’ve never heard of the series or you’re thinking of reading it (boo, you’ve seen the spoilers!), I hope you get to do so soon because the Kate Daniels books are awesome. I gobbled up Magic Slays and it still left me hungry for more. I think the stage is nicely set for the next two books in the series and as always, I can’t wait to read them.

Other reviews:
Lurv a la Mode
Angieville

______________________________________________________________________________________
This book is one of my entries in the Once Upon a Time challenge.

23 thoughts on “Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews

  1. Hehehe. Lovelovelove Curran in this one. He is sooooo much cuddlier than Jericho Barrons (finished Shadowfever last night haha) ever will be. Although I do think that I’d prefer living in Barrons’ Books and Baubles over the Keep. ^^;;

    • It’s so funny that you described Curran as cuddly! It’s not the first adjective that comes to mind when you think of the Beast Lord. I have no idea when I’ll be able to read the Fever books but “Books and Baubles” sounds interesting.

    • Ummm, you can blame Ilona Andrews’ blog for that. Those plushy pics of Curran and Mahon that she sometimes posts got stuck in my mind.

      If you ever get around to reading the Fever books (miles of internal monologue and random philosophizing about the nature of the universe and good and evil aside), you’ll understand why that bookstore is one of the coolest fictional places ever. ^_^

      • You’ll know when I finally get to read the first book because a review will pop up here on the blog. I don’t think it’ll be anytime soon though because there are so many other books that I’m excited to read. 😛

    • LOL. While I like the premise of the series, I think it could have done better with a good editing job. I think KMM tried to stretch a single story arc over five books, when the story could have been told more effectively with less. But maybe you’ll have a different opinion if/when you get around to reading them.

      • I’ll keep than in mind when I read the book although if I’m not impressed with the first one, I don’t think I’ll read the rest of the books in the series. Hey, what happened to starting your own book blog? 😛

      • Book blog? What’s that? Hehe. Kidding. Maybe within the year. I have enough material to start one already.

        I liked the Fever series, but I didn’t love it. But I kept reading because the whole series is written as one big mystery that slowly unfolds with each new book. You’ll want to keep reading even when some of the characters start grating on your nerves, because you want to get answers to your questions/solve the mystry. Granted, I still think that it could have done with a better editing job to trim down the number of volumes. ^^;;

  2. Eee. I can’t wait to read this, too. I’m still waiting for a print copy to come out. It’s kind of a good thing that I have a Kindle book to keep me company for now that I don’t feel like I need to read this ASAP. Not yet, anyway. 😀 Can’t wait. 🙂

    • I already have a reservation at Fully Booked but you know how crappy their system is so I have a feeling I won’t be notified until a new batch arrives. Yep, as long as another book is keeping you occupied, you won’t feel like you need to get this one. 😛

  3. It’s always so much fun reading a Kate Daniels book – you can expect a lot of laugh out loud moments.:)

    It will be another loooong wait for the next two books!:(

    • Celina, have you read this? I’m sorry I haven’t replied to your email yet. There’s no internet access in my house since Saturday! 😦 And I can’t check my email on my work laptop.

      Yep, it’s going to be a long wait but at least there will be a novella later this year. And the latest Edge book, I’m excited for that!

      • Yup I read it already.:) Hey, don’t worry about the email, no rush at all.

        That reminds me, I haven’t read any of the Edge books yet! I must remedy that soon.:)

      • It’s so hard that we don’t have internet at home. 😦 I hope the provider fixes it soon.

        Oooh you haven’t read the Edge books yet. I hope you get to do so soon and that you’ll enjoy them. The next one won’t come out until November so you still have a lot of time to read.

  4. Pingback: In My Mailbox: June 12 « Chachic's Book Nook

  5. Pingback: Review of Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews | Fantasy Cafe | Reviews of Fantasy and Science Fiction Books

  6. Pingback: Magic Slays | One More Page

  7. Pingback: Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews | Janicu's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Magic Gifts by Ilona Andrews « Chachic's Book Nook

  9. Pingback: Best of 2011 « Chachic's Book Nook

  10. Pingback: Favorite Literary Couples III | Chachic's Book Nook

  11. Pingback: Review: Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews « Bunbury in the Stacks

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

