Want Books: Lips Touch

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

Laini Taylor is an author that comes highly recommended by Kristen of Fantasy Cafe and she said that Lips Touch: Three Times is her favorite out of all the author’s books. I saw the hardcover edition of this in a local bookstore and loved the illustrations accompanying the stories. However, I thought it was a little expensive at more than P900 and since I’m not sure if I could read it right away, I’m trying to decide if I should just wait for the paperback. Will the paperback contain the same illustrations though? Sigh, there are so many books that I want to get right now but I really should work on my TBR pile first.

Here’s the summary from Laini Taylor’s website:

Everyone dreams of getting the kiss of a lifetime – but what if that kiss carried some unexpected consequences? A girl who’s always been in the shadows finds herself pursued by the unbelievably attractive new boy at school, who may or may not be the death of her. Another girl grows up mute because of a curse placed on her by a vindictive spirit, and later must decide whether to utter her first words to the boy she loves and risk killing everyone who hears her if the curse is real. And a third girl discovers that the real reason for her transient life with her mother has to do with belonging β€” literally belonging β€” to another world entirely, full of dreaded creatures who can transform into animals, and whose queen keeps little girls as personal pets until they grow to childbearing age.

What about the rest of you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books roundup:
Tina of One More PageA Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner

10 thoughts on “Want Books: Lips Touch

  1. I hope you get a chance to read this one! The third story especially is amazing, and I’m looking forward to her writing more set in that world.

    It looks like it will be coming out in paperback this fall. I’m not sure if it will still have the illustrations or not, either, though.

    • Is she planning to write more set in that world? I wish there was a way for me to know if the paperback also has the wonderful illustrations in the hardcover or if they’ll be in color as well. Because I really can’t decide if I should get it in hardcover now.

      • Yes, she is planning to write more set in the same world as “Hatchling.” It’s such a complex setting; I was very glad to hear that. That story is what made this book for me (although I liked the second one nearly as much).

      • You’re making me want to buy the hardcover already! I saw the cover of the paperback in Goodreads and I like the hardcover much better. Maybe I should just get it so I’ll stop thinking about it.

  2. Oh, that’s too bad it’s so expensive. I’m not a big short story person but I LOVED this book, especially the last story. The illustrations are great, though. I wonder if you can find out if they’ll be included in the paperback.

    I can’t wait to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone – or at least see some reviews pop up of bloggers who got her next book at BEA. πŸ˜€

    • Same here – I would normally prefer a full length novel to shorter stories, but I loved this book anyway. Especially the third story and I also really liked the second one.

    • Oh yay, you loved it too! I’m not a big fan of short stories either. Whenever I buy anthologies, I only read a couple of the stories and I never end up finishing the whole thing.

      I’m also curious about Daughter of Smoke and Bone and will be waiting for reviews too.

    • I know, the cover design isn’t that nice, which is surprising considering that the hardcover has beautiful illustrations. I’ve heard such good things about her books and I really am curious!

  3. Pingback: Lips Touch: Three Times by Laini Taylor « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

