Want Books: The Silver Metal Lover

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

To new followers, just wanted to give a brief background on why I started my Want Books meme. I have so many books in my wishlist and most of them have already been released so I wanted a meme to feature them, similar to what Waiting on Wednesday does for upcoming books. I thought it would be a good idea to do this instead of always whining about the books that I want not being available locally. πŸ˜› I want to read The Silver Metal Lover because I’m craving for fantasy books lately and this one comes highly recommended by Janice of Janicu’s Book Blog.

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

For sixteen-year-old Jane, life is a mystery she despairs of ever mastering. She and her friends are the idle, pampered children of the privileged class, living in luxury on an Earth remade by natural disaster. Until Jane’s life is changed forever by a chance encounter with a robot minstrel with auburn hair and silver skin, whose songs ignite in her a desperate and inexplicable passion.

Jane is certain that Silver is more than just a machine built to please. And she will give up everything to prove it. So she escapes into the city’s violent, decaying slums to embrace a love bordering on madness. Or is it something more? Has Jane glimpsed in Silver something no one else has dared to see β€” not even the robot or his creators? A love so perfect it must be destroyed, for no human could ever compete?

Doesn’t that look interesting? What about the rest of you, what book is in your wishlist?

Want Books Roundup:
Tina of One More PageThe Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan
Lena – Divergent and Enclave

15 thoughts on “Want Books: The Silver Metal Lover

  1. Great meme. I want the book Divergent and Enclave. I won’t get them though until I finish some of the books I already have. But they are at the top of my list.

    • Hi Lena, I added your picks to the roundup. Yes, I understand what you mean. Sometimes I want to finish some of the books in my TBR before I go and buy new ones.

  2. Yesss, I just had a nice conversation with Stacey about this when we were walking back to Grand Central together yesterday night. There was a bit of squeeing going on about how we love this book. Makes me cry, but love it, love it.

    • I haven’t seen it in local bookstores but it’s available in the Book Depository. πŸ™‚ I’ll include it in my next order. I’m planning to order books as soon as the packages from my last order arrive.

  3. Used to be available at Goodwill Bookstore. Cannot for the life of me remember whether I bought a copy (since I’d read it at the local library near my aunt’s house in OC before) when I saw it. To lazy to dig through the piles of books at home to check. But that’s a Kinuko Craft cover, so I probably did buy one… ^^;;

    • Called Fully Booked Fort to ask and the one remaining copy that they have is damaged. 😦 There’s a possible copy in Rockwell but haven’t had the chance to call and inquire about it there. LOL funny how you can recognize the artist with just one look.

      • Tanith Lee’s books do turn up in Booksale as well. Hehe. And Kinuko Craft is easy to identify. It’s in the way she paints hair, and how she layers her colors.

      • It’s been a while (almost a decade?), so I’m kind of fuzzy on the details. But I was having a hard time classifying this book because it had elements of both sci-fi and fantasy. This was around the time the movie A.I. was released(Robin Williams’ Bicentennial Man also came out during this period I think), so I was also making comparisons between how the filmmakers handled the role of robots in society in A.I. and how Lee handled it in the book.

        Tanith Lee has a YA series, the Claidi Journals I think? Other than that, the rest of her books are mostly SF&F.

      • I’m okay with fuzzy classifications, Sharon Shinn’s Samaria series has both sci-fi and fantasy elements. Oh so this one has robots? Interesting. Futuristic Romeo and Juliet sounds good. I called Rockwell today and they said the copy that they have is also damaged. If they decided to sell those copies at 50% off, I’d get them LOL. Why do they keep selling damaged books for full price?

      • I think this book also has a sequel, but I can’t recall the title.

        Ditto on the damaged books! It annoys me when I see that a book that I’d been looking for for ages is available at Fully Booked, but only as a damaged/dirty copy. Natio and Powerbooks usually seal their books with shrinkwrap, but even these two haven’t been doing this for many of their new releases of late.

        I wonder what bookstores in the US do to their stocks that get damaged/dirty on the shelves? Sell them to remainder bookstores/distributors I suppose. I wish we had those over here. 😦

      • It really is annoying! I want to tweet them about it. LOL. I think you’re right, US bookstores probably sell damaged copies to used bookstores or donate them somewhere. Here in the Philippines, I think more people take advantage of non-sealed copies because they get to read the books in the store kind of like what people do in libraries. Maybe that’s why so many books in Fully Booked are damaged.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

