Chachic's Book Nook

ArmchairBEA: Nurturing Relationships

38 Comments

Today’s ArmchairBEA topic is all about “relationships you’ve formed with a particular publisher, author, blogger, or bookstore.” Since I already mentioned in the post featuring international bloggers that I don’t really receive review copies from publishers, I thought I’d write about relationships with fellow bloggers and authors instead. I mostly interact with authors through Twitter. It’s the main reason I signed up for it. If I loved a book and gave it a glowing review, I’d mention the author in my tweet and sometimes, they’d reply or even retweet what I said. That kind of thing always makes my day. So if you’re a book blogger who still doesn’t have a Twitter account, go and sign up!

When it comes to relationships with fellow bloggers, I’d like to bring up the Filipino Book Bloggers group. I’ve mentioned this group in my other ArmchairBEA posts but I just wanted to say that our meet ups every other month are really a lot of fun. Our meet ups usually start in the afternoons but then we’d move on to explore the nearest bookstores in the area and we’d end up having dinner eventually. Even though only a handful of these bloggers share my reading tastes, like Tina, Celina and Aaron, I still think it’s a great idea to actually meet book lovers in person and talk about anything and everything book-related.

When it comes to international book bloggers, I feel like I always mention the same people but I can’t help it! They’re really the ones who influence my reading and blogging habits and I feel like they’ve become friends even if we only communicate through the interwebs: Holly of Book Harbinger, Janice of Janicu’s Book Blog, Michelle of See Michelle Read, Angie of Angieville and Nomes of Inkcrush. If you haven’t heard of these ladies, you better check out their blogs. Whenever they recommend a book, I’m always tempted to grab a copy as soon as I can. I also appreciate that both Holly and Michelle comment on most of my posts; Janice and Angie have sent me copies of out of print books that I really wanted to read but were not available in the Philippines (Clockwork Heart from Janice and The Road Home from Angie); and Nomes has introduced me to so many excellent Aussie authors. I would really love to meet all of these girls and so many other blogging buddies in person. Maybe sometime in the future when I have a US visa and enough money to go to NYC for BEA. πŸ™‚

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

38 thoughts on “ArmchairBEA: Nurturing Relationships

  1. Hmmm. Is that why you always meet-up in Cubao? Because of the high concentration of bookstores both used and new there?

    I really should drop by for one of your meet-ups one of these days. So I can meet-up with you and Celina hehe.

    • LOL we meet in Cubao because it’s convenient to have the meet ups in Libreria. It feels great to meet inside a bookstore and we don’t have to worry about looking for each other (when we’re not familiar with how everyone looks like in person) because the space isn’t that big. Yes! Please drop by. We’ll probably have another one in July?

  2. Great choices of blogs! I read the blogs by Holly, Angie and Janice regularly and will look up the other two you mentioned.

  3. Agreed, twitter is such a great way to connect with other bloggers, but especially authors and publishers. Essential!

  4. Aww, thanks! πŸ˜€ This isn’t the first you’ve made my day.

    Just so you know I ordered What Alice Forgot last night. πŸ™‚

    • LOL just being honest here. Wanted to let you guys know thank I’m thankful for the friendship. πŸ™‚

      Yay, I hope it arrives soon and that you’ll enjoy reading it as much as I did. πŸ˜€

  5. Ugh, *time* sorry. Hopefully I can catch up on some sleep this weekend.

  6. Thank you Chachic!! Like Holly said, you just made my day. I find it interesting that the blogs you named are basically the same ones I check every single day too. We all have pretty similar reading tastes, don’t we? It never ceases to amaze me how the internet allows us to connect with people from all over the world that we’d never meet otherwise.

    • Yes, I really think that we have pretty similar reading tastes. I mean we can’t all feel the same way about everything that we read but in general, we tend to like each other’s recommendations. πŸ™‚ I’m so thankful that I decided to start a blog and that I get to talk about books with you guys. The internet is indeed amazing.

  7. How awesome that you meet up with other bloggers. I have had one meet-up of online friends, which I’ve mentioned in my MY ARMCHAIR POST

    • We communicated online for a bit and then decided that it would be a good idea to actually meet in person. I’m glad the first meet up pushed through and that other meet ups followed.

  8. The Saturday Review of Books each Saturday at Semicolon http://www.semicolonblog.com/ is another good way to nurture relationships and connect with other bloggers and with books, which is what we’re all about, right?

  9. Hey Chachic…I loved your blog and your interview yesterday…do drop by my blog when you get the chance… http://debolinasbooks.blogspot.com/2011/05/nurturing-book-blogging-relationships.html
    wishes from India…Debolina

    • Hi Debolina, thanks for dropping by and going through the interview that I posted yesterday. I’ll head on over to your blog to check out your own post.

  10. I am tempted to start a “Bay Area Book Bloggers” group. I like the idea of it. It’s a great way to meet new people who also have the same passion for reading and books as I do.

  11. It’s so great that you can meet bloggers in person!

  12. It seems that most people’s main source of communication is Twitter. I love it because I’m obsessed with Twitter! I’m completely jealous of your book blogger meet ups too..super fun!

    Here is my post on book blogging relationships!

    • Yep, I love Twitter! It took some time for me to sign up but now that I’m active on it, I can’t imagine not having an account. Don’t be jealous, you have more advantages as a US blogger. πŸ™‚

  13. I’m like you. I’m not taking many review copies but I have many active friendships with other bloggers via Twitter.

  14. I’d love to meet you too. One day, we’ll all make it to BEA together and it will be awesome. πŸ™‚

    • *virtual hugs all around* Yes, it’s going to be awesome if/when we do get to meet in person! Oh and I’m looking forward to your update about the actual BEA.

      P.S. Finished Unsticky the other day and loved it! Will review next week.

  15. Your book club sounds so fun! It’s great that you have made so many connections and trusted blogs. Twitter is a fabulous resource!

    • It’s not actually a book club because we don’t pick one book and have discussions about it. πŸ˜› We just meet up and talk about books. But yes, it is a lot of fun. I also love the international blogs that I follow.

  16. It was fantastic meeting you on Twitter tonight! I think we have a lot in common and can’t wait to see what you blog about next!

  17. we share some fave bloggers πŸ™‚

    thanks for making my day, btw πŸ˜€

    i guess i also connect well with some other aussie bloggers that read aussie books like me and have a home grown nostalgic flavour πŸ™‚

    it would be awesome to meet one day! my husband and i are planning to def go to east timor one day (which is a lot closer to you than Australia!)

    • Why am I not surprised that we share some favorite bloggers? πŸ™‚ Just goes to show that Michelle is right and we do have similar tastes.

      I’m really jealous at how awesome the Aussie YA scene is right now. I wish it’s the same here in the Philippines because we have a lot of authors who write in English too.

      Let me know if ever you’re near here! πŸ˜€

  18. Hi Chachic,
    Dropped by again today…love what you’re doing here on your blog…And your bookshelf is really tempting πŸ˜€
    I personally am not a fan of YA or fantasy fiction, but your blog is really quite tempting..
    I have subscribed to your blog (couldnt see a GFC button). Do follow mine if you like it. http://debolinasbooks.blogspot.com/ Wishes from India…Debolina

    • Hi Debolina, thanks for stopping by again. Free WordPress blogs can’t put up GFC widgets but I have an RSS button on my sidebar together with the buttons for Facebook, Goodreads and Twitter. πŸ™‚

  19. I think meeting book lovers in person is refreshing. πŸ™‚ I’ve been online for a long time, so I’m used to having online friends, but it’s always exciting to meet people who share the same interests as you, even if they don’t necessarily share the same genre love. Again, if I may borrow Anne of Green Gables’ words, it’s like meeting with kindred spirits. πŸ™‚ Meeting with Goodreads and FBB make me read more and blog more. =D

    • I think I started my personal blog in LJ back in 2002 so I’ve been blogging for almost ten years although that’s different because my contacts there were real life friends anyway. It’s only with this book blog that I got to know online friends. And like what you said online friends can become real life friends too. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

