ArmchairBEA Interview: Kaitlyn

For the ArmchairBEA interviews, I was assigned to interview a new-to-me blogger, Kaitlyn of Kaitlyn in Bookland. As always, I had fun coming up with interview questions (although it wasn’t easy!) and I hope Kaitlyn enjoyed answering them too. Check out her answers below to learn more about her blog and the books that she likes to read.

1. Give us an idea of what your reading taste is like – what genres do you like reading and who are some of your favorite authors?
I generally have a pretty eclectic reading taste. It’s true that I usually like YA books more than adult books, but I will give anything a chance. My willingness to try anything has allowed me to find some amazing reads that I wouldn’t have found if I would have stuck in my YA comfort zone. My favorite authors include: JK Rowling (this list would never be complete without her), Suzanne Collins, Charlaine Harris, JA Konrath, and John Ajvide Lindqvist.

2. I love talking about characters in books, I feel that sometimes, we can think of them as real people. Who are some of your favorite characters and why do you love them?
You’re right! So many characters seem like real life friends (or enemies). Some favorites of mine are…

  • Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. She’s smart, loves books, and got Harry and Ron out of trouble so many times. Even when her heart was broken, she continued her journey to save the wizarding world.
  • Katniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. She is so tough. I couldn’t imagine having to support my family when I was 12. She is flawed, but that’s what makes her so real!
  • Pam Ravenscroft from the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. She is so funny. Her one-liners have me laughing so hard. Her sense of humor is so dry and fabulous.
  • Eric Northman from the Sookie Stackhouse series and Shane Collins from the Morganville Vampire series by Rachel Caine. They’re both babes. Enough said.

3. We all get tired of reading and blogging from time to time and we need a good book to get us excited again. What book would you recommend to get someone out of a reading/blogging slump?
My answer for questions like this is always going to be one of the Harry Potter books. I have a slight (okay, maybe not so slight) obsession with them. But, seriously, how could a journey into a world filled with magic not get a reader/blogger excited? If Harry Potter isn’t your thing (I don’t know if we can be friends…I’m kidding. Maybe.), I would suggest revisiting one of your all time favorites. There’s nothing like re-reading a favorite book. It’s like visiting friends you haven’t seen in a while.

4. How did you get started on blogging? And do you think blogging has changed your life or influenced it in any way?
Last summer I was bored waiting for graduate school to start. I had been checking out book blogs and thought, “Why not?”. Blogging has definitely changed my life. I find myself more aware when reading books when I know I’m going to be reviewing them. It makes me focus more so I know I can write a cohesive and informative review. I definitely try to read more as well!

5. One of my favorite things about book blogging is the wonderful community. I mean look at the organizers of ArmchairBEA, they made this happen for those of us who can’t go to the actual BEA. What’s your favorite aspect of book blogging?
ArmchairBEA was a fabulous idea, wasn’t it? The organizers are definitely awesome. One of my favorite aspects of book blogging is definitely the networking. When I am done with school, I would love to get involved with social media marketing. Book blogging seems like such a good stepping stone for that. I really enjoy communicating with other people via social networks that have a passion for books. Not too many people in my real life enjoy reading quite as much as I do, so it is nice to talk with people who do!

6. Aside from reading and blogging, what else do you enjoy doing?
Oh boy, tons of things! I love visiting with my old friends from college. I miss them every day! Other than that, I love movies, softball, photography, traveling, and going to the zoo. πŸ™‚

7. What are some of the best books that you’ve read this year?
Sean Griswold’s Head by Lindsey Leavitt. Loved it!
Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini. This is such a good novel about demigods! So good.
Lockdown: Escape from Furnace by Alexander Gordon Smith. Furnace would be such a scary place to be.
All of the Pretty Little Liars books by Sara Shepard. These are such a guilty pleasure.
Suck It, Wonder Woman!: The Misadventures of a Hollywood Geek by Olivia Munn. Very funny in audiobook form.

8. So many books are being made into movies and TV shows lately. Do you have any favorites?
I feel so redundant, but Harry Potter! Deathly Hallows Part 1 was amazing and I cannot wait until July for Part 2. It’s going to be so bittersweet. A movie that I actually enjoyed slightly more than the book was Beastly. I thought the changes the movie makers chose to do worked very well.

9. I think books and coffee go well together. You mentioned in your blog that you love coffee so what’s your favorite drink?
Ah, glorious coffee. If I’m studying, I brew my coffee and home. Usually I use some flavored coffee beans. A favorite of mine is Sea Salted Caramel. It’s delicious. If I’m going out, I can’t resist an Extra Coffee Caramel Light Frappuccino with whipped cream from Starbucks. That order sounds so pretentious, but it is heaven in a cup. Any coffee that is flavored with toffee or vanilla is amazing as well.

10. Finally, since I’m book blogger from the Philippines, I’d like to get an idea of what you think of international book bloggers.
I think international book bloggers are amazing. It is so fun to get opinions from people from other backgrounds/cultures. It would definitely be interesting to compare book reviews to see if culture has an impact. I’m thinking of a case study!

______________________________________________________
Thank you so much for your answers, Kaitlyn! I’m a fellow Harry Potter fan, I also enjoy hanging out with both high school and college friends and I love to travel when I could so I have a feeling we can be blogging buddies. πŸ˜› Maybe the next time I’m at the Starbucks near my office, I can give that caramel light frap a try.

Drop by It’s All About Books to see my answers to Suey’s interview questions.

10 thoughts on “ArmchairBEA Interview: Kaitlyn

  1. This really is such a great interview! I missed out on going to actual BEA this year & signing up for Armchair BEA but I just love reading all the posts! I will definitely be checking out yours & Kaitlyn’s blogs in the future πŸ™‚
    -Katelyn

    • That’s so sweet of you to check out the ArmchairBEA posts even if you weren’t able to sign up. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed reading this interview.

  2. I know what you mean about Harry Potter, I’m that way about those books and the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. I alternate between the two series on audiobook while I clean the house. πŸ™‚

  3. Fantastic interview. It was great getting to know a new-to-me blogger. I am going to head on over to Kaitlyn’s blog; get to know her better. By the way, I read Starcrossed and LOVED that book. A wonderful debut for the author.

    On a side note Chachic; I came over here via Suey’s blog and your interview. I read your favorite books page. There is no where to comment there so I wanted to tell you…

    I too love The Queen’s Thief series. Not only that, I absolutly love Robin McKinley’s work especially The Blue Sword and Pegasus. Goodness, you have many more books that I too love including Graceling. Oh my gosh, you have listed Enchantment. I loved that book and I hardly ever see it mentioned. However, you also have several books listed that I have not read. I need to do so and will. I am going to refer back to your list. Fantastic.

    • Hi ibeeeg, thanks for dropping by care of Suey’s interview! I’m sorry I don’t have commenting enabled in my favorites page but it keeps things simple.

      Yay, another MWT and McKinley fan! πŸ™‚ I love their books. I’ve read all of them except for MWT’s Instead of Three Wishes and McKinley’s Deerskin and Dragonhaven. I’m a huge fan of fairy tale retellings and I don’t know why Enchantment isn’t more popular. Hope you got some good recommendations from my list and that you’ll end up loving them just as much as I did.

  4. Great interview! I must try her decadent “heaven in a cup” Frappaccino the next time I’m in Starbucks. It sounds divine!

    Thanks for participating in our round-robin interviews! They are randomly assigned, so one of my favorite things is seeing who gets matched up with whom. Sometimes the bloggers are complete opposites, and others find a ton of similarities. I hope you had fun and were able to make some new blogging friends!

    • Hi Michelle, thanks for dropping by to comment! I like what you guys did with the round robin interviews instead of just a simple interview swap. This way, I got to interact with two new-to-me bloggers and I’ve added their URLs to my Google Reader. πŸ™‚

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

