Chachic's Book Nook

ArmchairBEA: Best of 2011

21 Comments

Tuesday’s ArmchairBEA topic involves best reads in 2011. This post was supposed to go up last night but I had problems logging it to WordPress. I just realized that almost half of the year is over so it really is a good time to look back and see what were the books that made an impact when I read them. Here are a couple of books that made it to my list of favorites, click on the images to check out my reviews:

I feel like the three above make a pretty good mix since there’s contemporary women’s fiction, contemporary young/new adult and an Arthurian retelling in verse form. Some other books that I thoroughly enjoyed reading even if they’re not considered favorites are:

The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen
Raw Blue by Kirsty Eagar
A Lot Like Love by Julie James
Love Your Frenemies by Mina V. Esguerra
Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood
Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

There’s magic realism, contemporary romance and Aussie YA in this second list. I kind of feel sad that I haven’t added any fantasy books in these lists. Would love to discover more fantasy books to love so maybe I should focus on that genre in the next few months. What about the rest of you, what are some of your best reads this year? If you’re participating in ArmchairBEA and have a post about this topic, please leave a link in the comments section so I can drop by and visit your blog. πŸ™‚

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtΚƒΙͺk/ is pronounced with hard β€œch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

21 thoughts on “ArmchairBEA: Best of 2011

  1. Wow, I haven’t read any of these—I’ll have to check them out! Thanks for bringing new books to my attention πŸ™‚

    Here are my favorites in 2011!

    • Hi Kaitlyn, hope you get to read some of these books soon! Funny because I checked your list and I haven’t read any of the books that you mentioned either. πŸ˜›

  2. I definitely want to read The Piper’s Son soon. That one has been recommended a few times. What Alice Forgot sounds intriguing too. Raw Blue is another one I’ve seen around this year.
    Hope you find more books to add to your favorite list in the back half of the year!

    • The Piper’s Son was amazing. Couldn’t stop thinking about it days after I finished reading. Have you read Melina Marchetta’s other books? She’s been on my auto-buy list ever since I finished Jellicoe Road.

      • No, I haven’t read any of Marchetta’s books. But I am going to try to read both Piper & Jellicoe over the summer. My curiosity can’t take it anymore. Thanks for the rec!

  3. hey! i like your choice of books =] i’m a new GFC follower!

    mine are mostly dystopians! check out my list!

    follow me back?! =]

    http://lindsaycummingsblog.blogspot.com/2011/05/armchair-bea-best-of-2011.html

    • Hi Lindsay, I actually don’t have Google Friend Connect but maybe you mean you added the blog’s URL to your Google Reader? πŸ™‚ Heading over to your blog to check out your favorites.

  4. That’s a couple really positive reviews I’ve read of What Alice Forgot now (I read Nomes’s as well! :D) I think I’m going to have to check it out πŸ™‚

    • Nomes was the one who convinced me to read What Alice Forgot and now I can’t wait to get my hands on Liane Moriarty’s other books. Will probably get them end of next month.

  5. Your list is awesome! I have ordered What Alice Forgot.

    All the other Aussie titles are on my favourites list.

    This year my favourite books have been Where She Went, Stay and This Gorgeous Game πŸ™‚

    • Yay, hope you enjoy reading What Alice Forgot too! I realize that I’ve read some pretty good Aussie books this year because of the Aussie YA Reading Challenge. πŸ™‚

      Haven’t read any of the titles that you mentioned but I’ve heard good things about them.

  6. I read Song of the Sparrow quite a few years ago and loved it too. Awesome retelling of this story.

  7. whoo hoo! your three fave picks are three of my faves too πŸ™‚

    it’s been a good year for me so far too (i have to remind myself about that when i have some dud books in a row πŸ™‚

    • That’s why I like checking out your recommendations, Nomes! I think we have similar taste in books. πŸ™‚

      Oh I know what you mean. I’ve read so many “just okay” books too this year. Last year was better in terms of finding favorites.

  8. I will read The Piper’s Son soon. I would drop what I’m reading now but it’s an MWT book, and I don’t think you’d want me to do that. πŸ˜›

    • LOL you know me too well. You can start on The Piper’s Son after you finish The King of Attolia. Can’t wait to see your reviews of MWT’s books. πŸ˜€

  9. Oh man, I still haven’t been able to read PIPERS SON and I am really, really looking forward to it. Although I did pick up the PEACH KEEPER and it was just lovely. So happy to see all these great books on your list!

    • Michelle, you should read it soon! I know you also liked Jellicoe Road and The Piper’s Son is just amazing. Sarah Addison Allen’s books are always good reads. πŸ™‚

  10. Your post convinces me to try What Alice Forgot. I fell in love with its cover the first time I’ve seen it. But because I still have a lot of books in line for Summer, I had doubts of buying it!

    • Hi Faith, I hope you get to read it soon! You can order it from the Book Depository, that’s where I got my copy but it looks like they don’t have the edition with this cover anymore.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

