ArmchairBEA Introduction

This introduction is for the new visitors dropping by care of ArmchairBEA. I signed up for this event because I couldn’t go to the actual BEA (Book Expo America). I’m a book blogger from the Philippines and since I live so far away and airplane tickets to the US are really expensive, it wasn’t possible for me to go to BEA this year. As you can see from the categories in my sidebar, I read all sorts of genres: epic fantasy, young adult fiction, urban fantasy (although I’m not a fan of YA paranormal romance), contemporary romance, magic realism, fairy tale retellings, historical fiction and science fiction. I have a list of favorites that you can check out to get an idea of what I like reading. I’ve been blogging for almost a year and a half and I think it’s a lot of fun even though sometimes I feel like Mount TBR has taken over my life.

I have a feature called We Love YA, where I ask a YA book blogger some questions about the genre, and a weekly meme called Want Books, where I highlight the books in my wishlist that I can’t have at the moment. I’m also a member of Filipino Book Bloggers and I think the name of the group is self-explanatory. πŸ˜› We’ve had a couple of meet ups the past few months and those have always been fun.

Random fact about me: I’m really talkative and outgoing. I always wonder if that shows through my posts? I kind of feel that people who meet me virtually have a different impression than when they meet me in person. If you want to get to know me better, I also have posts in other social networking sites: Facebook, Tumblr, Goodreads, Twitter

That’s it for now and for all BEA attendees, I hope you guys are having fun out there although I have a feeling you wouldn’t have time to check your Google Readers. To all ArmchairBEA participants, I’m looking forward to interacting with you guys. πŸ™‚

Photos taken by Ian Villar

26 thoughts on “ArmchairBEA Introduction

  1. We’ve been visiting each other’s blog for ages but I still find it fun to rad your post. No, I didn’t know you were very talkative but you do look like a very approachable person and someone who likes to chat with others.

  2. Nice to meet you! I love the pics – and you color code your books, that’s really fun!! I look forward to visiting your blog again.

  3. I love your pictures! Would you please come color code my books? I’m always searching through pile after pile looking for a specific title. Note to self: must get organized like you. Enjoy this week.

    Tiffany James

  4. *drops in* Yes on you being talkative in person! πŸ™‚ I missed the interview sign-ups for Armchair BEA but still, I’m happy to join. Maybe one day we can find a way to have Filipino Book Bloggers present in BEA? There’s no harm in dreaming. πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to your posts, Chachic! πŸ™‚

  5. This is not my first visit to your awesome blog but I wanted to stop by and say hi from one armchair BEA to another. I think it is very cook that you have a group of book bloggers that get to gather in person periodically. I wish I could do that. Enjoy your week!

  6. Is that your bookshelf? The colour coordinated one? It’s so pretty! It would annoy me though, because the series would all be split up, and so would the authors… :L Anyway, it’s gorgeous πŸ˜€ I always wonder if people get a different impressions of me online than the people I talk to in real life do… :L Anyway, I’m looking forward to the rest of Armchair BEA, and I can’t wait to read more of your posts!

    Here is my introductory post, if you could stop by that’s be awesome: http://cheezyfeetbooks.blogspot.com/2011/05/armchair-bea-introduction-to-cheezyfeet.html

  7. Okay, I think I just died twice when I saw your bookshelf; first of shock (color coding is awesome), and then of jealousy. Love, love it! πŸ™‚ It was very nice to meet you, and I look forward to reading more!

  8. Talkative and outgoing-yes! Definitely. Mount TBR is threatening to take over my life too.

    Also I do not tire of seeing those lovely photos. πŸ™‚ BEA next year? πŸ™‚ Hopefully Angie and Michelle can make it too.

  9. It’s nice to meet you. I love reading blogs from all over the world. Travel from California is expensive too.

    Unless I’m ill or traveling (and don’t have access to the internet), I post a review each and every day. Come learn more about me and my blog.

  10. i’m really jealous of your bookshelf! my goal for 2011, by the end of this year, I’d get my own bookshelf and fill it with books! Or maybe through the years of reading, maybe I already have mountains of books, I’m just too lazy to pile them up! so! that’s my goal!!!

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

