Chachic's Book Nook

In My Mailbox: May 16

14 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

These are books that I’ve acquired the past few weeks. I found a couple of bargain books for P29 each:

The Ragwitch by Garth Nix
Wild Magic by Tamora Pierce
Wolf-Speaker by Tamora Pierce
The Sunbird by Elizabeth E. Wein
Summer of my German Soldier by Bette Greene

I’ve read and reviewed both The Sunbird and Summer of my German Soldier but the former is out of print and I liked the cover for the latter so I grabbed both since they were inexpensive copies.

Ordered from the Book Depository and I’ll be posting a review of it within the week:

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty

I got these books from the Filipino Book Bloggers meet up last Saturday, both of which are from my good friend Celina:

A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly
Pink by Lili Wilkinson

The first was (literally) grabbed from the informal book swap while the second is borrowed. Thank you for these, Celina! I’m looking forward to reading both and Pink can be included in the Aussie YA Challenge.

Those are the books that I got recently. Still waiting for three books to arrive from the Book Depository, I’m hoping they’ll get here soon. What about the rest of you, what books did you get in your mailbox?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

14 thoughts on “In My Mailbox: May 16

  1. OMG you need to read A Northern Light ASAP if you haven’t already read it. It is good and made of amazing and will rock your world.

  2. I love that series by Tamora Pierce. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

    • I was hoping that all four books were available but only two were there and I thought I might as well get them since they’re bargain copies.

  3. Pink and A Northern Light look great. I’m curious to read more Jennifer Donnelly after reading Revolution. What Alice Forgot looks intriguing too. Enjoy your books!

    • I’m really interested in both since I’ve heard good things about them. Oooh What Alice Forgot is a great book although it’s not YA, just wanted to mention that since I review a lot of YA books on the blog.

  4. I’ve been wanting to read Pink. Hope you enjoy your books 🙂

  5. Pretty bookmark from Book Depository! I got bookmarks from my packages yesterday too — and I like that The Piper’s Son bookmark is all about guitars. 🙂

    And I totally second April on A Northern Light. Such a great book.

    • One of the perks of receiving a Book Depository delivery is the free bookmark that goes with it. 🙂 I love that they keep changing the designs. I haven’t seen the one with the guitars, hope you’ll take a picture of it too. Can’t wait to see what you’ll think of The Piper’s Son.

  6. i think you’ll really enjoy PINK. it is light and funny and relaxing but also emtionally meaningful

    and so glad you loved WHAT ALICE FORGOT 🙂

    • I’m so glad I have another contemporary Aussie YA title to read. With Pink and Good Oil, I’m all set for the challenge. I’m prioritizing the Once Upon a Time challenge though since that will finish earlier.

  7. Interested to hear what you think of Pink. And especially What Alice Forgot, since I’m such a sucker for time travel/amnesia premises. 🙂

    One of these days I am going to pick up an Elizabeth Wein.

    • Pink has gotten some excellent reviews in the blogosphere so I’m really curious about it. Oooh you’re going to like What Alice Forgot if you’re into amnesia premises. Liane Moriarty said in her website that she wanted to write a time travel story and realized that an amnesia is similar to traveling back in time.

      I hope you do, would love to hear what you think of her books. 🙂

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

