Chachic's Book Nook

Want Books: The Last Anniversary

7 Comments

Want Books? is a weekly meme hosted here at Chachic’s Book Nook and features released books that you want but you can’t have for some reason. It can be because it’s not available in your country, in your library or you don’t have the money for it right now. Everyone is free to join, just grab the image above. Leave a comment with a link to your post so I can do a roundup with each post.

I know I already did a Want Books for Liane Moriarty’s other novel, Three Wishes but I wanted to feature The Last Anniversary as well because I’m really curious about it. If I had a copy of it right now, I’d read it right away. I finished reading What Alice Forgot last night and loved it so now I want to catch up on the author’s backlist. Unfortunately, The Last Anniversary is out of stock in local bookstores and not available in the Book Depository. Maybe I should hunt down a used copy somewhere?

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Sophie Honeywell always wondered if Thomas Gordon was the one she let get away. He was the perfect boyfriend, but on the day he was to propose, she broke his heart. A year later he married his travel agent, while Sophie has been mortifyingly single ever since. Now Thomas is back in her life because Sophie has unexpectedly inherited his aunt Connie’s house on Scribbly Gum Island – home of the famously unsolved Munro Baby mystery.

Sophie moves onto the island and begins a new life as part of an unconventional family where it seems everyone has a secret. Grace, a beautiful young mother, is feverishly planning a shocking escape from her perfect life. Margie, a frumpy housewife, has made a pact with a stranger, while dreamy Aunt Rose wonders if maybe it’s about time she started making her own decisions.

As Sophie’s life becomes increasingly complicated, she discovers that sometimes you have to stop waiting around – and come up with your own fairy-tale ending.

What about you, what book is in your wishlist?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

7 thoughts on “Want Books: The Last Anniversary

  1. hope you can find this one somewhere. it was very different but still had a lovely moriarty-esque vibe 🙂

    • Just called the local bookstore and they have it in one of their branches. I had it transferred to the branch nearest my house so I could buy it. 🙂

  2. This one sounds really good. I’ll have to look for a copy. I’m glad you are able to find a copy. I don’t really have any books on my wanted list right now, at least none that are available for purchase already.lol. I have 6 written on my marker board w/ the dates they are to be released. 4 of them are coming out in August!! It’ll be a busy month.lol

    • oh wait, make that only 3 in August.lol. Was mistaken. 3 in August, 1 in Sept, and 2 in Nov. None until Aug though. That gives me *sad face*.

    • Wow, you don’t have any books that you want right now? I’d love to feel like that. I keep telling myself that I should go easy on the book buying and it has improved since last year but I think I still buy a lot of books. I’ve bought around 20 books this year and there are also some books that were given as gifts.

  3. Once again, I continue to love her covers. She’s been lucky.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

