Chachic's Book Nook

Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier

19 Comments

I don’t know why I waited so long to read Heart’s Blood because I’ve been a fan of Juliet Marillier ever since I read her Sevenwaters series. Also, this one is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, which is my favorite fairy tale and I always enjoy reading retellings of it.

Here’s the summary from Juliet Marillier’s website:

Whistling Tor is a place of secrets, a mysterious wooded hill housing the crumbling fortress of a chieftain whose name is spoken throughout the district in tones of revulsion and bitterness. A curse lies over Anluan’s family and his people; the woods hold a perilous force whose every whisper threatens doom.

And yet the derelict fortress is a safe haven for Caitrin, the troubled young scribe who is fleeing her own demons. Despite Anluan’s tempers and the mysterious secrets housed in the dark corridors, this long-feared place provides the refuge she so desperately needs.

As time passes, Caitrin learns there is more to the broken young man and his unusual household than she realised. It may be only through her love and determination that the curse can be lifted and Anluan and his people set free…

Let me just say that I love the cover above showing a girl standing in front of a mirror in a library. The library and mirrors play major roles in the story so it’s an appropriate cover design. Heart’s Blood is a haunting retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I was surprised by how different the whole atmosphere in this one was compared to the Sevenwaters series. This one is much darker with a mysterious curse surrounding the chieftain of Whistling Tor, Anluan. Caitrin discovers the place while she’s running away from her own problems. Desperate to be employed as a scribe, she willingly works for Anluan transcribing family documents. This is a perfect professional set-up for both – Caitrin knows not a lot of people will employ a female scribe and most people are afraid to visit Whistling Tor, let alone live and work there. As she learns the secrets of the area, Caitrin becomes determined to find a way to break the curse. I liked that Caitrin is a scribe, she was trained by her father who had the same profession, which is unusual in a world where women focus on domestic duties. I also liked that Caitrin has a complicated past and in the course of getting to know Anluan, she learns how to deal with her own troubles. This is retelling where Beauty does not just help the Beast but has to overcome other difficulties in her own life. The secondary characters were also well-developed and I liked how they had their own stories but they’re united by their loyalty to Anluan.

I was able to predict part of the outcome of the story and as a result, I wasn’t wowed by this story like I was expecting. I’m a fan of unexpected events that blow me away. I also would have loved the interactions between Caitrin and Anluan to have more depth – I felt like the two of them didn’t have enough scenes together and I wasn’t as invested in their love story as I would’ve liked. Though darker than her other books, Juliet Marillier’s writing in Heart’s Blood retains its standard beautiful and lyrical flow. While this book didn’t displace my favorite Beauty and the Beast retelling from its position (the title belongs to Beauty by Robin McKinley), I still enjoyed reading this and I hope that Juliet Marillier will continue to write retellings for other fairy tales. She already has retellings for The Six Swans (Daughter of the Forest) and Twelve Dancing Princesses (Wildwood Dancing) but I’d love to read more. I guess I’m just glad that I still have a couple of books from her backlist to go through. I fell in love with her writing in the Sevenwaters series and I can’t get enough of it, even if I don’t end up loving her other books. Recommended for fans of fairy tale retellings or readers of dark, haunting fantasy.

PS: I loved that The Book Smugglers has a quote on the back cover. Yay Ana and Thea! Here’s a picture:

Other reviews:
The Eager Readers
See Michelle Read
Book Harbinger
The Book Smugglers

______________________________________________________________________________________
This book is one of my entries in the Once Upon a Time challenge.

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

19 thoughts on “Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier

  1. You’re right – it’s hard to be completely invested in their relationship. I didn’t regret reading Heart’s Blood but it’s probably my second least favorite Marillier (just above Wildwood Dancing). I can’t wait to hear what you think of the Bridei Chronicles. 🙂 Sadly, I’ve already read Marillier’s entire backlist except for Cybele’s Secret.

    • Me too, I don’t think I’ll ever regret reading a Marillier novel but I feel the same way. I didn’t like Wildwood Dancing either although I think the cover for that is lovely. I have all three Bridei books already and I’m excited to read them. 😀 After that, I can hunt down copies of the Light Isles books.

  2. i really love retellings… thanks for this post! another book suggestion from you!

  3. Seeing this review of a Juliet Marillier book was a treat. I love her books. I’m glad you liked Heart’s Blood, even if you found it predictable. Her books are an automatic buy for me. I’m glad she has a new series coming out in 2012.

    • I love her books too! I hope to own all of them in the future. Right now, I’m missing the Light Isles books and Cybele’s Secret. Yes, I’m glad she has a new YA series coming out in 2012 and there’s also a new Sevenwaters book that will be released then, right?

  4. I’m in the minority here because I prefer this one and Wildwood Dancing to her other books. Although you are right about there not being a great deal of depth to their relationship in this one. And to be honest the only other books of hers I’ve read are Daughter of the Forest and Cybele’s Secret. I didn’t like Daughter of the Forest enough to keep going with the series.

    • Really? That’s interesting! Well, like I always say, we can’t always like the same books. I loved Daughter of the Forest and I’m curious why you didn’t like it? Son of the Shadows was even better for me.

      • It just really dragged for me in the middle. It’s been a while so I can’t pinpoint exactly why this was the case.

      • Aww too bad it didn’t work out for you but it’s good that you liked Juliet Marillier’s other books, including this one. She has a new YA book coming out next year.

  5. I’m partial to both of McKinley’s Beauty retellings as well, though I favor Rose Daughter because it’s a lot more nuanced/layered compared to Beauty.

    This one was a good read, but it simply wasn’t great when compared against both of McKinley’s efforts, or even Marillier’s original Sevenwaters trilogy. It read more like a gothic mystery rather than a fantasy romance to me though, so maybe the comparisons are a bit unfair.

    • Really? That’s weird because I like Beauty more than Rose Daughter, maybe because I read that first? I have a feeling I’d like Rose Daughter more if I read it again.

      Yep, this one just isn’t as good as the Sevenwaters books. I’m hoping that the Bridei books are a lot better and more similar to the Sevenwaters books.

      • They’re both great retellings, but I suppose Beauty is more of a straightforward retelling, while Rose Daughter has a lot more philosophical/metaphysical stuff going on in the background?

      • Yep, I suppose Beauty is simpler than its counterpart. I guess because I loved Beauty, I was hoping for something similar when I read Rose Daughter and was disappointed when I didn’t get that.

      • Hehe. I read Beauty in high school,around the same time that I discovered the Ralph Manheim translation of the Grimm’s tales. Rose Daughter in college. Right at the time that I was taking up the 12 units of philosophy required by my school. So that might explain why Rose Daughter has always struck me as the “deeper” of the two, while Beauty has always felt like a more direct adaptation.

      • Oh you’re from Ateneo too? Maybe I would have felt the same if I read it while I was taking my Philo classes. I remember loving those as well as some of the Theo subjects. I think I read Rose Daughter while reviewing for the board exam.

  6. Pingback: Best of 2011 « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

