Chachic's Book Nook

Classics Get a YA Makeover

25 Comments

I was surprised when I saw these two books in a local bookstore yesterday:

I immediately thought to myself that Penguin gave classics a makeover to attract more young adult readers. Can’t say it’s a bad thing because those covers look pretty. I never realized that Hamlet was such a handsome young man? 😛 And if it encourages more people to read the books then that’s always a plus. I did a search for this new line of books called Spinebreakers and here are some others:

Sorry for the pixellated images, those are the best that I could find. I like the covers for Hamlet, Dracula, Frankenstein and Romeo and Juliet. What about the rest of you, are you tempted to buy copies of these revamped classics?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

25 thoughts on “Classics Get a YA Makeover

  1. I have to say, these are much nicer than the Twilight-versions HarperTeen put out a while back.

    • I agree! I hated those covers. Classics were here way before Twilight – I didn’t like that they were banking on the popularity of Stephenie’s Meyer’s work to get teens to read older titles.

  2. Pretty!
    Not pretty enough for me to splurge on though. :p

  3. I am not sure whether I like them 😦 They look too childish! But it will be a good thing if the covers attract more young adult readers.

  4. I hate half of them and love half of them. I’d have to see the other ones larger before I could make up my mind…

    • I know, I want to see the other titles in person too. I grabbed the images from the Penguin site and I don’t know why they don’t have anything with better quality.

  5. Very colorful and pretty. I hope readers will flock to them. Since I already have most of these, they don’t tempt me enough to abandon my well-worn copies!

  6. No, but then again I already have most of them. If it encourages teens to read the classics, I’m all for it.

  7. Lol handsome young man Hamlet – you sound so proper! Just like my grandma. 😀

    I like the ones you mentioned, especially Romeo and Juliet but overall I think the same layout for each cover in the collection gets a little boring.

  8. i just saw these last night at a bookstore. They look great and it’s great that they’re gearing towards a younger audience with the covers but I will forever love the older covers of the Penguin classics whcih feature both classic and contemporary paintings.

  9. it’s actually an interesting cover!

  10. I’ve always pictured Hamlet as being a pretty cute guy, so that doesn’t surprise me. He did, after all, win Ophelia’s heart.

    I like those covers more than I would have expected; they manage to be simple, but good.

    • I don’t know why but I never thought of him as cute. I like these pretty covers though although I’m not in the mood to read classics lately.

  11. Hmm, I’m not sure about these – pretty and colorful, but they make the books seem more *younger* than they are or something. I must be stuck in the classics must look like classics mindset. That said, I kind of covet the Jane Eyre one.

    • I know what you mean, these covers make the classics look like modern YA novels, right? I bet teens will be surprised to discover how old-fashioned the stories are if they had no idea of the content going in.

  12. Ooh they’re pretty. Far too many of the classics on my shelves have boring bland covers.

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

