Do you ever get tired of blogging?

I am not ashamed to admit that yes, I do get tired of both reading and blogging from time to time. Don’t get me wrong, I love my blog but sometimes real life gets in the way of things. Like when I’m sick and I’d rather get some rest than read, I won’t have anything to post about then. Or when I go out with friends and family on weekends instead of staying in to read or blog. Although reading and blogging has become a huge aspect of my life, I still have a life outside of this book nook.

I’ve seen other people take breaks from blogging and there are times when I wonder if I should do that or if I’d miss my blog too much. I just try not to pressure myself to come up with posts when I don’t feel like doing so. Last year, I tried to have at least one post per day but now, I don’t worry about that kind of thing anymore. I’ll put up a post when I have something to say. I try to review all of the books that I read but that doesn’t really happen all the time. Sometimes, I just don’t have enough to say about a certain book to come up with a review for it.

I admit that there are also times when I feel sad because I don’t get as many review copies as other bloggers. I’ve been blogging for more than a year and I think I’ve only received two review copies? I know that shipping to the Philippines is expensive and I know that’s one of the main reasons why I don’t receive review copies. I do get offers to review some books but so far, nothing from my wishlist. I probably wouldn’t be affected if we had good public libraries here because then I can just borrow some of the books that I want to read and just decide if I’ll get a copy after I finish reading. As it is, I feel like I spend so much money on books that I end up not loving. You know what I mean? Whenever I feel bad for not receiving review copies, I just remind myself that I didn’t start my blog to get free books anyway. I blog because I want to share my love of books and I want to connect with other book lovers out there. Also, I’m thankful that I have a decent job and that I can afford to buy the books that I want. I’m sorry, does this sound like a whiny post? I didn’t mean it to be that way! Just wanted to share my thoughts. πŸ™‚

Blogging about books involves a lot of work. Imagine how many hours of reading time we’d have if we didn’t have to worry about writing reviews and discussion posts. The positive aspects of book blogging still outweigh the negative for me so it has never come to a point where I needed to consider if I should stop doing this. What about the rest of you book bloggers out there, do you ever get tired of either reading or blogging and why? Have you taken a break from blogging and how long did that last?

51 thoughts on “Do you ever get tired of blogging?

  1. ahh, yes.

    i get weary of it.

    i don’t like the feeling of having to review a book turning into some kind of school homework assignment.

    i often feel like i have to read my google reader every day and even when i am too tired to comment i find myself commenting anyway sometimes b/c i feel guilty if i don’t which is ridiculous.

    i was sick for the first three months of this year and pretty much took two months off blogging and the blogging world. it was a good break and nothing bad happened to my blog while i was gone, LOL

    i often have been tempted to give up altogether (even this week the thought passed my mind). but i dont think i will… although i like how uncomplicated reading use to seem.

    as for review copies. i was pretty stoked when penguin asked me to review for them. but since then i have been knocking publishers offers back. as tempting as free books sound, i prefer to read what i want when i want and feature books on my blog that i love (or have something to say about) than feature whatever the publisher is promoting. although i do have a library which doesn’t get a lot of imported YA but has a lot of books i am happy to read (while they may not be the ones on my top wishlist). it’s a shame you don’t have a better library…

    • Yes, exactly! I don’t want it to feel too much like homework. That’s why I don’t join book clubs either, I don’t want to feel like there’s something that I’m required to read. And I try to limit the challenges that I sign up for as well.

      Same here. I read my Google Reader everyday and sometimes I just want to press the “Mark all as read” button but then I’d think of the effort other bloggers put into their posts and I want to leave comments to show my appreciation.

      I remember that break, you were sick for quite some time, right? I’m glad you’re doing better now and I really hope you don’t get tempted to give up blogging altogether because I love your blog. πŸ™‚

      Oh I know what you mean. That’s why I don’t mind not getting review copies most of the time – I get offered books that I’m not interested in reading anyway. But there are times when I see other bloggers get the books that I want and that’s when I feel bad. I know, it’s not nice but I can’t help it. 😦 I get over it though. Like I always say, our country has much bigger problems to worry about that not having libraries.

  2. Hi Miss Chachic! I agree with you. Sometimes, it gets tiring, like I’m obliged to read books just for the sake of posting reviews for my blog. Well, I stopped blogging for three weeks before because I can’t get myself to write reviews for books that are not really worth reading and reviewing. And when I finally read a good book, I started blogging again. I guess it depends on the mood and the books you read. Sometimes reading and blogging are time consuming. But I won’t ever stop reading! πŸ™‚

    • I know what you mean. I have a feeling that I’d be tempted to take a blogging break soon. Maybe I feel this way because I’ve never done anything like that and I need to rest. But there are amazing books out there that I really want to blog about and those make me excited to put up posts. πŸ™‚

  3. Sometimes my brain does get a little fried from thinking too much.
    I wish I was brave enough to do a book review. Whenever do a literature post, it’s usually a ‘who wrote it’ quiz.
    Maybe one day I will venture out and post something that actually contains an opinion.

    • You should do a book review one of these days. πŸ™‚ I was too scared to try it but then when so many book blogs started popping up, I decided that this is something that I’d really enjoy doing. It’s been really fun, there are just some aspects of it that get me down.

  4. Chachic have you considered signing up for the philidelphia free library? I think we talked about it before. You can get a ton of books that way. And Netgalley also has some of those titles. Unless it’s physical books you prefer. Any idea how much shipping costs? I always hear that it’s expensive, I just never know how much expensive is, haha.

    • Peep, why does your name appear as admin? I remember you brought it up before and maybe I should look into it again. Is that where I can borrow ebooks? Not exactly sure about the mechanics.

      Yes, I’m signed up for Netgalley but whenever I browse through the available titles, there isn’t anything that calls out to me. Nothing from my wishlist either so I haven’t requested any titles.

      Shipping usually costs around $10 per book, I think? In the past, the shipping in most of my orders cost the same as the book orders themselves.

  5. I agree. Sometimes I get tired of blogging about every book I read, and it ends up becoming one of those nagging “to-do list items” that I ignore and ignore. After posting one or two lackluster reviews, I’ve just decided to not blog about a book if I don’t feel like it. I’d rather not post than post something boring.

  6. All the time, dear, all the time. However, if there’s an event going on during the weekend and my friends are going, I skip blogging or reading to go. I think my interpersonal relationships are more important than book blogging. That said, blogging does bring a strong sense of balance and happiness to my life.

    • Glad to know I’m not the only one who feels this way! Yes, I do that all the time too. I usually go out on weekends and I always prioritize going out with friends over reading/blogging. But I do love blogging because I don’t get to talk about books with my real life friends.

  7. I have not been blogging as long as you, but I do sometimes need to take a short break from reading or blogging. I’m not going to fret about leaving my blog for a few days when I’m busy. I want to keep it a fun and satisfying experience.
    I second the recommendation for NetGalley, if you are not opposed to using an e-reader.
    Hope you will take a break if you need it to re-charge. All your readers will be here when you get back!

    • If I ever take a break, I’m not going to worry about my blog either. It will still be there when I get back and followers can always browse through my old posts if I don’t have any new ones. πŸ™‚

      I do have a Kindle and I replied about Netgalley above.

  8. I haven’t even been doing this a year yet but I have experienced a bit of burnout. At first I just wanted a place to pour out all of my thoughts (if I had any) about what I was reading so I didn’t bore my husband to death. Then in January I started putting all this pressure on myself to do so many posts a week and reading became too stressful. It was no longer about enjoying myself. I have since backed off from that and gone back to my original plan. If I have something to say, I’ll say it. I just want to enjoy reading. Keeping up with other blogs isn’t so much of a chore because I can do it quickly during the kids’ nap/rest time.

    • Same here, I didn’t want to bore my friends to death. I always felt like they didn’t understand my excitement about books. I think we should all learn not to pressure ourselves into posting if we don’t feel like doing it. The quality of the posts get affected too when we keep doing that. So I want to keep being laidback and just read and blog whenever I want to.

  9. Oh yes. In fact, if you haven’t noticed, I have backed way off from my blogging the last few months. Mostly due to this pregnancy and the exhaustion involved πŸ˜‰ but to be honest, I really don’t let it bother me. I think it used to when I first started out, but I now look at my blogging as something primarily for me – an outlet to show how much I love reading and discussing books – because in the end I don’t want it to turn into work and then end up hating it. So I do it when I feel like it and try not to let it stress me out.

    I’ve found when I get tired of blogging, I become a lot more selective in the books I decide to read. That way I’m not wading through something I really don’t even enjoy on top of everything else.

    And I hear you on the review copies – I honestly don’t know how you buy so many books! My budget would be seriously shot without libraries to filter my book purchases. Such a shame that they don’t have public libraries over there.

    Are you on netgalley since you have a kindle? I’m not sure if they work with international bloggers, but that might be something to look into as a way to read newer books you don’t know if you want to buy yet.

    • Michelle, I have noticed! And I thought it was mostly because of the pregnancy. Will it get worse once you have to take care of two little kids? I bet you can swap baby stories with Holly. πŸ™‚

      Yes, I don’t want to feel like my blog has turned into work. That wouldn’t be fun anymore. I know what you mean, I get picky when I get tired of reading/blogging and I usually feel like there’s nothing interesting to read even though I still have a mountain of a TBR pile.

      You should see my planner, it has notes all over it saying “Stop buying books and start saving more money!” I keep telling myself that but I just can’t help but buy the books that I’m interested in. I’ve been a lot better in book buying this year compared to last year. I only buy books using gift cards or when they’re on sale. And whenever I’m about to buy a book, I ask myself if I’ll be able to read it anytime soon.

  10. I haven’t got tired of blogging exactly but it does sometimes feel a little thankless to be pouring so many hours into something so few people are taking notice of. I remind myself that my original reasons for blogging were more for myself than others and I have no rules about how often I blog.

    • pouring so many hours into something so few people are taking notice of. -> THIS! Can totally relate to what you said there. Yes, I started my blog more for myself. It helps that I can look back on my reviews and remind myself how I originally felt about the books that I read. Also, I’ve gotten to know incredible people through my blog and I’ll always be thankful for that.

  11. Sometimes it does feel a bit like homework, especially when writing a review of a book gotten from the publishers that is just fine, a solid book, one that will doubtless please many people, that doesn’t excite me much. And sometimes I wish I hadn’t slotted myself into reviewing a time travel book every Tuesday–it’s been hard at times to come up with one.

    But probably by the time I’ve been blogging four more years, I’ll be more comfortable taking time off, and just saying to heck with it when other parts of life need attention!

    • I know what you mean! I feel like most of the books that I’m reading lately are good, solid novels but I don’t really love them. I keep waiting to be bowled over but it isn’t happening and that saddens me. Which is probably what prompted me to write this post.

      I’m amazed at how you can keep up with Timeslip Tuesday. I only have one weekly thing – my Want Book posts, those are just about books on my wishlist and sometimes I have a hard time coming up with one!

      If ever real life gets really busy, I wouldn’t feel guilty about taking time off from the blog.

  12. me? i stopped for two years. then went back. there’s just something about blogging that is unforgettable. don’t worry, that feeling will pass by. πŸ™‚

    • Oh wow, you stopped blogging for two years? Were you blogging about books back then too? Because I used to have a personal blog back in college and then I stopped. I blogged again for a bit and then decided that I’d rather have a book blog.

      • personal blog with book and movie reviews on the side πŸ™‚ let’s just say that it really gets tiring sometimes but its worth it. πŸ˜›

  13. I don’t blog, but I do get tired of reviewing each and every book I read. Especially when I have other obligations to attend to. I try my best…but I don’t want to pressure myself; I want it to be fun, not a chore.

    I know what you mean about not wanting to splurge on books you might not end up loving. That’s why I try to find used copies first, so that I’ll spend less.

    • Hey Diane, where do you post your reviews, Goodreads? Yep, reviewing books should be fun. Don’t do it if it feels too much like homework. Maybe you can stick with a star rating instead.

      I try to find used copies as well but there are a ton of new releases that I want to read so I know that I won’t be able to find cheap copies of those. I stick with bookstore sales then.

      • Yep, goodreads. πŸ™‚
        Yeah, sometimes I give it a star rating instead of an actual written review but for some reason I feel the need to explain my rating. xD

        Ahhh, I see. I can relate. New releases are oh so tempting.

  14. I wouldn’t feel bad about not reviewing every book or not posting every day. I’d rather read posts that are inspired than posts that are just for the sake of post count (not to say you’re doing this πŸ˜‰ )

    Taking a break is good.

    Getting books for cheap is also good. Do you participate in PaperbackSwap? I usually buy a ton of books on the cheap (like $.50 from thift stores or garage sales) and then swap them for books I actually want). Saves a lot of money and you get the books you want (eventually) if they’re ones your library doesn’t carry.

    Out of curiosity, have you tried contacting the publisher and asking them for an advance copy of something you really want? If you’ve received and reviewed something from them before, they might say yes!

    • I always try to come up with quality posts that would interest my readers. πŸ™‚

      I believe PaperbackSwap is only available in the US so no, I don’t participate in that. There’s an international version of it called BookMooch but feedback hasn’t been good and I don’t live near a post office so I feel like it’s too much trouble. I’ve also heard that outgoing shipping prices have increased.

      That’s the thing, I don’t have publisher contacts. I’ve never actually gotten review copies from a publisher before.

  15. Oh I do. And I maintain what, 3 blogs? The good thing about book blogging is it’s kind of easier to maintain because for me, as long as I read, I can come up with content. That’s the writer in me speaking. I’m having a hard time writing in my personal blog more because there are some things that are unbloggable or sometimes I just don’t feel like being too personal. That’s why my book blog is more active than the main one. Sometimes writing a review can be a huge pain, too, especially when life’s so busy and I don’t have much time to read. Whenever I feel pressured about book blogging, I tend to ease it a bit and remind myself that this isn’t my entire life, even if sometimes it feels like it.

    Oh and tell me about review copies. I especially feel bad when other people get review copies of books I REALLY want. But like you, I’m thankful I can afford the books I want, and it makes me more careful with buying (when I’m not on an impulse buy mode, though). πŸ™‚

    In the end, blogging is just a part of life. Like what April said, it’s all about balance. Feel free to just disappear every now and then — it makes people miss you. πŸ˜›

    • Really, your book blog is easier to maintain than your personal blog? Hmm I feel like it would be easier for me to maintain a personal blog because I’m a talkative person in general so I can go on and on about random things. I don’t want to start another blog though, I’m fine with just this book blog. πŸ™‚

      *high five* I knew you’d feel the same way about review copies. Actually, I only feel bad when other bloggers get copies of the books that I REALLY REALLY WANT to read. I don’t mind it so much when they get new books that I’m not really familiar with.

      Yes, really thankful that I have a job and that I can afford to buy books. I’m more careful with buying books now than last year. I think I went a little crazy last year because that’s when I started my blog and I wanted to try out so many books. So right now, I’m still working on the resulting TBR pile.

  16. I haven’t gotten tired of blogging, but I’m in a different blog boat than you, and I’ve only been blogging since August of last year. I write when I have the time. I plan ahead when I have the time. And if I only post once in a week? Well, then. πŸ˜‰

    What makes me particularly sad about your post is that you don’t get as many ARCs as you’d like, and that you don’t have a great library system. And yeah, I’m sure it’s due to living overseas and the expensive shipping. But the fact that you write some pretty swell reviews makes me wish that more pubs would want to send you books because you’re a good reviewer. I hate seeing ARCs go to waste on reviewers who aren’t good at it, you know? And since you have a Kindle, do you get eGalleys?

    If you need a break, definitely take one. And spend time on writing reviews when you have the time! I see bloggers talking about “quickly writing a review” and being under deadline and all that jazz, and it frustrates me because I want to read a well-thought out review. One you had time to write, and one that you’re proud of. You can definitely tell the rushed ones apart from the ones that have taken their time to write a balanced review.

    • I used to think that I can plan ahead and schedule posts but that hasn’t happened in a long time. LOL yes, I shouldn’t be bothered too much if I only have one post a week. Right now, I think have an average of around three posts a week.

      Aww I love your comment, Capillya! I keep hoping that publishers will notice my blog because I work hard on my reviews but it hasn’t happened yet. Maybe they’re not willing to spend so much on shipping? Another factor is that it takes some time for packages to arrive here so maybe they want books to be reviewed right away instead of a couple of weeks after they send copies. I wouldn’t mind reading eGalleys, I’ve replied to the comments about Netgalley above.

      I can never picture “quickly writing a review”, I mean how do you that? I would need at least an hour to write a decent review and that’s when I’m already excited to talk about the book. Otherwise, it would take several revisions before I’m willing to publish the post.

  17. Sometimes I don’t want to blog so my blog posts will be short and not well written because there is something else I need to do and/or want to do. There are times where I don’t feel like reading, so my reading rate slows down.

    • I think all of us go through phases like that. I’m glad I decided to put up this post because it feels good to know that others have felt the same way I did when it comes to both reading and blogging.

  18. I feel the pain of no libraries a lot-I do a lot of reading of older works that are in the public domain and can be found online-the last three free books I got from publishers were so bad I could not get past ten pages!!!-though I admit I love free books-bloggers who live where there are libraries are so lucky!

    • I think all Filipino book lovers feel the pain of not having nice libraries here. We all need to buy the books that we want to read. Yep, readers who have public libraries are so lucky.

  19. yeah, it’s really amazing that you have posts almost everyday, and sometimes you’d post twice a day… i am also a blogger, and knowing that you have moments of getting tired kinda makes me feel that my laziness in blogging is quite normal… haha! still, i like reading your blog… I’m hoping my bookshelf could be updated at least every month because of your suggestions! πŸ™‚

    • I think all bloggers get tired of their blogs from time to time. It’s normal to take a break and unwind. πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading my posts and being interested in the books that I feature. I hope you pick up some of them and that you’ll enjoy reading them as much as I did.

  20. There are a lot of replies, so I haven’t really looked, but if you’re interested in e-book versions of galleys, you can use netgalley. That’s how I get my review copies.

    Yes, I do get tired of blogging sometimes. What I try to do is take advantage of the times when I *do* feel like blogging to create some posts which I can publish to prevent major lulls. Sometimes I schedule out a few (for example, right now I’m writing one which won’t publish till tomorrow sometime, and then one which won’t publish for 2 more days) so I don’t feel like I *have* to post or my blog will die.

    If you do choose to take a break, I hope you find it relaxing, and find blogging to be a new and exciting task again when you come back.

    • I replied to the Netgalley comments above. πŸ™‚

      I should probably save posts and publish them when I don’t have anything to put up. I should also cut back to maybe just one or two posts a week instead of three or more. That way, blogging doesn’t become too tiring. I think I was just feeling down when I wrote this post and I was actually hesitant about publishing it. But I wanted to share my thoughts so here it is.

      • I just looked. I notice you don’t see titles that call out to you. I had that issue a bit, too, but I decided to be a bit… “braver” with my choices, because I wasn’t paying for them. So I requested things outside of my normal comfort zone, or which sounded at least a *little* interesting, and have mostly ended up liking them.

      • I know what you mean. I requested around 5 books in NetGalley the other day and only got one approved. 😦 I don’t know if I should just wait or if I should send a request again.

  21. For me yes it is, i get tired making blogs! but if you are enjoying what you are doing you won’t. For me blogging is not just for making money it is also a way of expressing thoughts and sharing ideas. Nice article you got their.thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Jhorge, blogging is definitely not about making money for me because I don’t get any from my blog. WordPress.com doesn’t allow ads and even if they did, I don’t think I’d want to put them on my blog.

  22. reading and blogging for me is a way of escape, and I want it to remain like that. I don’t want it to be another responsibility that I need to do everyday. I’m just glad that there are other people read my post.

  23. Pingback: ArmchairBEA: Blogging « Chachic's Book Nook

  24. Pingback: 2012 Plans and Anticipated Reads « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

