Chachic's Book Nook

May 1 IMM: Contemporary Reads

23 Comments

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by Kristi of The Story Siren and was inspired by Alea of Pop Culture Junkie. This meme is about books that you received or bought during the week.

I haven’t been putting up IMM posts lately because I’m trying to limit my book buying. But then last Friday, I realized that I still have a couple of bookstore gift cards that I received from friends for my birthday so I thought it would be a good idea to splurge. I bought the first three using gift cards and the last one was 20% off from a different bookstore:

Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder – I think it was Holly of Book Harbinger who recommended this. I got so excited when I saw that it’s now available in paperback! I’ve wanted to read this but wasn’t convinced if I should splurge on the hardcover and viola, problem solved.

Far from You by Lisa Schroeder – Saw this beside Chasing Brooklyn and both the cover and the premise looked interesting and it’s another novel in verse so I got it as well.

Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes by Chris Crutcher – I got the recommendation for this one from Angie of Angieville because I know it’s included in her Beloved Bookshelf.

The Cardturner: A Novel about a King, a Queen, and a Joker by Louis Sachar – This one comes highly recommended by Brandy of Random Musings of a Bibliophile and it’s a book about bridge! It may seem weird but I got hooked on bridge back in college because my classmates and I played it during breaks. I haven’t played bridge in ages and I’m not even sure if I still know the rules.

So excited to read all of these! I wonder when I’ll get around to them though? I noticed that all of them are contemporary reads and that rarely happens when I buy a bunch of books. I usually throw in a fantasy book in there. What about the rest of you, what did you get in your mailbox?

Author: Chachic

Welcome to Chachic's Book Nook! I'm a Filipino book blogger currently based in Singapore. My blog features all sorts of books that I read from various genres (fantasy, contemporary romance, young adult fiction). Click on About Me to learn more and check out my Favorite Books page for a list of books that I love. Thanks for dropping by! Chachic /ˈtʃɑːtʃɪk/ is pronounced with hard “ch” sounds. The first syllable is pronounced like the dance cha-cha while the second syllable is like chick (baby chicken).

23 thoughts on “May 1 IMM: Contemporary Reads

  1. Yay, you got The Cardturner! I have it on my Kindle. Haven’t read it, though. Sachar’s Holes was one of my formative books growing up. 🙂

  2. I’ve been curious about The Cardturner after coming across it in one of those battle of the books, but I haven’t seen any reviews from people I know. I hope it’s good, I’ll be looking forward to your review of that.

    So have you finally used up all your gift cards?:)

    • Oh it was featured in one of those battle of the books? I wonder if it won. Don’t worry, I’ll review the book when I get around to reading it so you’ll have an idea if you’ll like it or not.

      Not yet, I still have two 500 GCs left. 🙂 Maybe I should save that for the next Fully Booked sale. I was pretty happy with my finds last Friday though.

      • Nope it didn’t win, but got pretty far. A Conspiracy of Kings was also included but got eliminated in the first round (although it was voted to “come back from the dead” and was included in the final). The winner was actually The Ring of Solomon, the other finalist was Keeper.

        Wow, you still have GCs left! Yeah, better wait for the next sale. I hope Fully Booked will still have their anniversary sale.:)

      • Oh I know that battle! I think it was the SLJ one? Not sure. But I remember that The Ring of Solomon won that.

        I just counted the number of books that I bought for this year and I’m only at 19! Yay, I’m so proud. I really want to tackle my TBR pile so I should keep my book buying to a minimum. But if there’s going to be a Fully Booked Fort sale, I will definitely get several books.

  3. Can’t wait to see what you think of The Cardturner. I hope you like it…

    I have had my eye on those Lisa Shroeder books for some time so I’ll be interested to see what you have to say about those too. I actually have one of her middle grade novels checked out from the library right now because my daughter wants to read it. As she is not yet 7 I need to read it first. (I love that she is such a reader but there is so much that she wants to read that she is just not mature enough for yet. I have to vet a lot of her books. Sigh.)

    • Brandy, I hope I like it too! I was curious about it because you and Beth Shulman both gave it 5 stars on Goodreads. Plus, I really liked the premise.

      I’ve heard good things about Chasing Brooklyn, the reviews that I’ve seen for it have all been positive. I think it’s great that you screen the books that your daughter reads. My parents never did that with me and I was confused by some of the books that I read when I was younger – mostly related to settings though like I didn’t understand spring, winter and autumn, which we don’t have here in the Philippines.

  4. got The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness and Left Behind by LaHaye & Jenkins last weekend 🙂

    • I have copies of the Chaos Walking trilogy but I haven’t gotten around to reading them yet. Hope you enjoy reading the books that you got! 🙂

  5. I recently bought City of Fallen Angels and Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. Which is the last thing I need right now since I have over 100 books on shelf that I need to read. lol.

    • Hey Ashley, I hope you enjoy reading those Cassie Clare books. I’m not a fan of her work so I didn’t buy them but I know that those two books are pretty popular. 🙂

  6. chasing brooklyn sounds really amazing! i’m looking forward to your review about it. i was at powerbooks the other day and i was really tempted to buy books coz their chick lits are on sale! argh! it took a great effort for me to stop myself from buying books. i still have a lot in my TBR stash. anyway, i hope you had a great weekend and happy reading!

    • I really enjoyed the first novel in verse that I read, Song of the Sparrow, so I’m looking forward to reading these two Lisa Schroeder books.

      I always take advantage of sales in bookstores because it feels good to get discounts on books. 🙂 Most of the books that I’ve gotten this year were either bought on sale or using gift cards.

  7. Oh, I’m thrilled you got STAYING FAT FOR SARAH BYRNES. I never see it reviewed and it’s such a well-done and thoughtful story.

    • I was actually surprised that it was available. I got the feeling that it isn’t that popular because I don’t see it getting featured in the blogosphere. Don’t worry, I’ll review it for Retro Friday once I’m done reading it. 🙂

  8. I’ve never seen the Crutchfield book before — but if Angievliked it that’s kind of a big deal. 😉 I’ve had the Sachar book on my TBR list for a long time but still haven’t had the chance to pick it up and read it yet.

    • It’s really an under-the-radar book but I’ve seen it in some banned books list and that made me more curious. Oh hey, because you post about covers, I just wanted you to know that I love the cover for The Cardturner but I’m scared that I’ll get it dirty.

  9. Pingback: The Cardturner by Louis Sachar « Chachic's Book Nook

Comments are like chocolate. :) Maraming salamat / thank you! I try my best to reply to all the comments on my blog.

